We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel in Zermatt”
Review of Hotel Adonis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Adonis
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, well located in Zermatt.

Single rooms are small - but it was fine for what we needed on this trip.

Breakfast is continental buffet style, enough to get you going for the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Mr. Cunning
Thank you very much for having taken time to write us a review. We are very happy to know that you appreciated our service and our property. The single room you had we are selling as economy rooms being aware that these rooms are not very spacious. Our other standard single rooms are double bedrooms for single use and they have balconies. But they have a higher price.
We would be thrilled to see you some time back in the Adonis. Take good care of you
Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Coming to Hotel Adonis is a bit of a homecoming for our family - we were regulars in the 1980s and 1990s for children's skiing holidays. The greatest feature of the hotel as such is that it is tucked away in a quiet corner of Zermatt, but only a five minute walk from where the action is. Once inside, it has a cosy atmosphere with a service-oriented staff - rooms have changed little over the years, but are well-maintained. As a hotel-garni, it only serves breakfast, no other meals. But the buffet breakfast continues to be a constant positive feature of the hotel as well. If there is anything to comment then it is that the small street leading up to the hotel goes up and down and is not well cleaned in wintertime, so there are icy patches that may need some negotiating. Yet it is a ten minute walk to the cable cars that take you up to to 3880 meters of Klein Matterhorn from where you can make it all the way back down on skis to the 1620 m elevation of Zermatt.

Room Tip: The higher, the better the view of the Matterhorn, and corner rooms are very nice (23, 33 etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Mr. Bos
Thank you very much for your kind review and for having taken the time to evaluate us. We are very happy to learn that felt well looked after and that you enjoyed your stay in Zermatt.
The leading small street to our house is in fact not well maintained but we assume that this winter was quite a challenge for our community to keep up with these loads of snow, the big temperature changes from day and night. I am sure they will improve.
We wish you and your family all the best and it would be great to see you back some time in Zermatt.
Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A compact hotel, not very new but well maintained. Friendly staff with good breakfast. Standing not very convenient location and need taxi pickup from station when you carry large bags. We stayed on 3rd floor but still without view on Matterhorn, which is very disappointing.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank ShonWata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Watanabes
Thanks a lot for having taken some time to write a review. All over you seemed to have appreciated our services. The standing of our house is slightly hidden but very quiet. Regarding the Matterhorn view we are sorry to let you know that we have no rooms at all with Matterhorn view because a small hill with a forest is dressing up on the south side and we therefore don't offer our rooms with Matterhorn view. In compensation for the missing Matterhorn view we have a thrilling view to Riffelberg on the east side and Edelweiss on the west side.
Take care and it would be great to see you some time back.
Regards
Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a very nice little family hotel with very service minded employees! They try to fulfil all your wishes. The rooms are airy and with newly upgraded bathrooms. Very good breakfast and a nice little bar.
The hotel placed both near the village center and close to the most popular lift; the Matterhorn Express! We will be back, either for summertime with trekking in the mountains or at winter for more of the fantastic slopes of the Matterhorn.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anthon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Anthon

Thank you very much for having take some time to write us a review. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your holidays and The Adonis. In the past 12 months, since the new management has taken over this house, we have made a lot of efforts to improve our service and treatment of our appreciated customers. Your review encourages us to stick to this line and go ahead.
It would be a great pleasure to see you back in the Adonis. Take care and best regards

Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Beds to soft and very noisy. Hotel staff friendly and service minded . Breakfast good mix . Simple but clean hotel with reasonable good location. Good ski and ski boats facilities. Room could have been vacuum cleaned daily

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl-Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Karl - Joha
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review. Regarding the mattresses we have been talking already while you were staying in our house. In fact these mattresses are only 4 years old. But if the quality does not suit a Hotel, as it appears now and therefore we will have to change them. We anyhow have in made to refurnish the rooms step by step and hopefully this will resolve this query.
We wish you all the best and we would love to see you some time back in the Adonis.

Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Zermatt was our second stop on our Winter holiday and the Hotel Adonis is a nice, quiet, and an affordable (considering other hotels are frightfully expensive) boutique hotel in Zermatt.

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel manager was very helpful with a map of the place to get us oriented, good restaurant suggestions and the staff were very helpful too.

The room was on the 4th floor in a corner with a balcony overlooking the hotel garden and although we had 3 beds, there was still enough space to keep our 2 massive suitcases and the bathroom was comfortable and spacious too. The lighting and heating in the room was excellent and the breakfast facilties were great too. Although slightly cramped during the peak hour, the staff were very accomodative to move us to the lunch room for our breakfast so that we didn't waste any time.

The hotel has a station drop off facility too which is for CHF 10 as compared to CHF 18 charged by the normal taxi.

It is a 5 minute walk to Klein Matterhorn express and a 10 minute comfortable walk to the main Bahnofstrasse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulArti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Family Rahularti

Thank you so much for your good review. We are very happy to learn that you stay was nice and that we have fulfilled your expectations. It is our aim to satisfy all of our customers and a good review gives us proof that we are on the right way and it encourages us in al what we are doing for making our guest happy.

We thank you for having chosen our house and we would be very much pleased to see you some time back in Zermatt should you future travel schedule allow this.

Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I booked this hotel on hotels.com and had an issue with the cancellation. Phoned up the hotel and they were very accommodating and understanding and helped rearrange our stay. The room we stayed in was a little dark. Great service thanks very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle R, Manager at Hotel Adonis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Mr. Ong F.

Thanks a lot for your kind and good review. We are happy to learn that you appreciated our assistance and help. Regarding the darkness of the room we would like to inform you that we are reforming all of our rooms step by step,; we are aware of this fact and of course we are endeavoured to refurnish the rooms as soon as possible. We pity that we could not offer you already this time one of our redone rooms. .

Should one day you way lead you back to Zermatt, we would love to accommodate you again in the Adonis
Thanks and take good care

Isabelle Ritzmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#44 of 110 in Zermatt
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#86 of 110 in Zermatt
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisshorn
Hotel Weisshorn
#80 of 110 in Zermatt
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#65 of 110 in Zermatt
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adonis

Address: Luchernstrasse 31, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £93 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adonis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is exceptionally well situated: very quiet and very central. The lobby and bar are in a rustic style and the bar has a nice open fireplace. All major key points can be reached in walking distance: • 7 minutes to the town centre• 3 minutes to the next bars, restaurants and shops• 3 minutes to next ski bus stop• 5 minutes to the bottom station of the Matterhorn paradiseThe Adonis disposes of a Sauna, solarium and Infra-red cabin. The use of these facilities is subject to an extra - fee. We offer a shuttle Service for CHF 5.00 per Person per ride from 8 am until 6pm on the Basis of availability. If you stay more than 3 nights, the shuttle is free of Charge.Your four legged friends are welcome in our house. No fee. No Access to the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Adonis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing