We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family owned hotel, great location Zermatt”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect family owned hotel, great location Zermatt”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Friendly and professional, family run hotel. Fantastic home made breakfast. New large spa and relax. Great location on Riedweg. Ski in from slope. Ski out all the way to bus stop, which was perfect for our children. Only 6-7 minute walk to main street (shops & restaurants). Most rooms like ours, have south west faced balcony with afternoon sun and magnificent Matterhorn view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Jonas, dear family,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us at the Bella Vista!

We will see you next winter again, we look very much forward to!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
104
175
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When we checked into the Hotel we were rewarded with a fabulous view of the Matterhorn from our balcony. The receptionist at the hotel had a taxi pick us up at no charge and our hosts left us wonderful little heart-shaped cookies as a welcome gesture. I was very excited to have a bathtub as well. Once we were settled we quickly uncorked a really good bottle of French Chardonnay and sat out side watching the clouds float by this magnificent mountain. Upon checking out of our wonderful hotel they gave us a delicious butter cookie filled with some kind of nutty, jam as a parting gift. Then, we think it was the woman who owns the hotel, took us to the train station in the cute little electric hotel taxi. This place had it all...a wonderful view, warm hospitality, comfy bed and bathrobes as well as freshly squeezed OJ with an incredible breakfast. Anyone coming to Zermatt is crazy to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgorham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

We like to thank you very much for your great words about us and our hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you!
We hope to welcome you another time with us!

Warm regards from all of us.
Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I cannot say enough good things about our five night stay at Bella Vista. From start to finish it was an impeccable experience. Some highlights and things to consider:

- The pick up from the train station was seamless (helped that they were already on site helping another family arrive, but we all squeezed in an got to the hotel quickly). The drop off equally so.

- Incredibly friendly and polite staff.

- We stayed in room 4, which had a great view of the Matterhorn from our cute little balcony. Highly recommended.The rooms are, as mentioned before, fairly small, but we had no problems- the closet space was more than ample to keep everything out of the way. And I was kinda surprised by how large the bed was. I've definitely had smaller in trips to Italy and France.

- You can't beat coming up to your room and finding a welcome note accompanied by two beautiful cookies. I wanted to take a picture, but my boyfriend ate his before I could do it!

- The breakfast, as everyone has mentioned, is truly a highlight. They do an incredible job. The spread had everything I wanted in a Euro-style breakfast- cured meats, local cheeses, beautiful breads, home made jams, local honey, various yogurt, and all the pastries a girl could hope for. We are currently trying to recreate the lemon cake/bread that was there every morning. We loved it that much.

- Look for your names on the table for breakfast/dinner- we didn't realize that our first day and sat in someone else's seat. Oops!

- Location- I thought it was the perfect distance from the main drag, but I like things a little more on the quiet side. Never took more than 5-12 minutes (depending on if I was wearing ski boots) to get where I wanted to go.

- We opted to stay in one night and enjoy the cheese dinner. All the fondue and raclette!! It was so, so good. And we had the opportunity to imbibe some of their homemade liqueur after a family sent a couple of glasses over (for allegedly being loud, which they weren't, they were lovely, so if they see this: your boy was amazingly adult for someone his age- congrats on being excellent parents and humans).

- I will never get used to being naked in European spas. I just won't. That part of my Americanism will probably never go away. So while the spa was beautiful, I didn't spend more than one afternoon down there.

- Oh, and ladies (or gentlemen) with the need for hair conditioner: bring some. The bathroom is equipped with hand soap and an all purpose shower/hair/body wash, but no conditioner. Glad I had thought to bring the bottle I snagged from our hotel in Zurich.


Overall, one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. If I ever make it back to Zermatt, I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was quiet and had a great view of the Matterhorn from the balcony (so long as it was a clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time and writing down everything so precisely, we are sure this will be appreciated by people who have never been here, thank you! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us!

See you again-hopefully!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This small hotel sits up on a hill overlooking the town of Zermatt. We loved the location we could walk 200 meters up the hill to catch the lifts up the mountain. After skiing you can ski right down to the hotel on a small road. We walked into town each night.
This charming hotel has thought of everything to make their guest comfortable. The beds and linens are of high quality, a ski boot storage room with heaters, and a nice organized ski locker in the garage.
The breakfast is delicious with home made pastries and local food from Zermatt. This hotel is perfect for couples and families with older children. It's so quiet and peaceful. My suggestion to the hotel would be to help your guest book restaurants and ski guides prior to your arrival. It's a busy town and you won't be able to get into places that are popular. We also travel with a son with life-threatening nut allergies and the peanut bowl in the entry was a bit unnerving so we just stayed out of the fireplace room. The hotel is so charming that I think they could replace the peanuts with a local snack. The shells seemed messy. We loved the Bella Vista and want to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy that you had a good time at the Bella Vista!

We are more than happy to help you booking ski guides, mountain guides and restaurants for lunch or for dinner, just let us know exactly what you need and we will organize everything for you!

We hope to see you again at the Bella Vista!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sweden, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Service, helpfullness, and friendliness. The family that runs this nice place are absolutely wonderful.
Breakfast is great. The rooms are very nice and Clean even if some are a bit small. The spa was also very nice
It´s a pleasure to recommend this hotel.
one of my best hotel-experiences ever

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antehuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for this great feedback! Our family is supported by a great time which makes the "outstanding service" possible. Thank you and hope to see you again some time with us!

Have a great summer!

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here one night - its a very pretty hotel. Its a little walk from the centre but very quiet. The wellness area where I had a massage and jacuzzi were a BIG plus. Unfortunately only b & b, but breakfast was delicious. The room was small but very comfortable and a lovely view of the Matterhorn from our terrace. Everyone was very friendly and I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel where the customer is not just a number but made to feel at home. Thanks Bella Vista.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readytogoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I visited Zermatt with no plan. I called hotels from the train station based on Trip Advisor ratings, and it was between this and another similarly rated. Bella Vista won out because they were over the top friendly on the phone, and the other hotel didn't offer to pick me up from the train station.

I typically avoid boutique hotels...because I prefer the reliability and amenities of chain resorts. But Bella Vista had everything I could hope for and more! It's small and quaint, and looks like a picture-perfect Swiss chalet. The view from my room was amazing, and the staff was marvelous! Fast wifi, welcome cookies in the room, and peanuts and fruit in the lobby rounded out a great stay.

Only 2 cons: one con was the location for me. While it provided an incredible view, I have some feet issues. So if mobility is at all an issue for you, you will want to take advantage of the electric taxis in town, because it is situated in the middle of a steep hill, so you have to climb up or climb down to get anywhere...and of course with the winter ice, at times it was difficult for me (for most people, I don't think this will be an issue at all). The 2nd con was that room #7 is directly below the kitchen...so at dinner and again in the morning, there was a lot of just walking / noise above me. This wasn't a problem for me because I was awake both times, but if you hope to sleep in, ask to avoid room 7.

The breakfast was hearty with lots of variety. I live in Orlando, FL and was surprised to find freshly squeezed orange juice and better fruit than I have at home. The family staff was patient with my questions about Zermatt, and never steered me wrong with suggestions about where to dine and what to see. There are several common areas that are cozy and inviting, and I was amazed to walk down to the wellness center in this tiny hotel and find a gorgeous, sprawling spa! Five stars! I absolutely loved my time at Bella Vista and hope to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridafunsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#23 of 110 in Zermatt
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#36 of 110 in Zermatt
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere. A library, children's play area, piano, wireless service, Internet, computer and televisions are available for guests to use free of charge. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy our SPA after a great day of skiing or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing