We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the awesome view of the Matterhorn from the balcony. Watching it turn golden slowly from tip to base during sunrise in an enchanting experience! The rooms are very cozy and the staff is friendly.The breakfast buffet has a good variety and you can enjoy it in the balcony of the restaurant too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

First of all, thank you for taking the time and writing some words about us. We are always very happy to hear that you appreciated your stay with us! And the Matterhorn, well, it remains the most wonderful mountain!

We hope to see you again some time in our little hotel!

Warm regards from the whole family
Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
173
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Family owned hotel with perfect service.Roms are a bit small however furnished with all the required amenities. The hotel serve an high quality breakfast and has a beautiful view . Zermaat is not a ski in ski out and require a bit of walking to the trains, it was too much for us so we took a taxi at 12 sF per direction. Upon arrival and departure the hotel provide transportation.
The ski is first class and has the the most beautiful and longest runs.
.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Zvi,

Thank you for your positive comment on tripadvisor, we are happy that you and your friend enjoyed your ski holiday, especially the breakfast and the view... We hope to welcome you again some time. Warm regards to Tel Aviv

Your family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights and really enjoyed the warm, cosy feel of this hotel. Rooms are decently sized, clean and nicely styled. Wi-fi worked reasonably well and staff were very friendly. (Family owned establishment). Hotel is a little walk from the main st (about 10 mins) but is an easy enough walk as long as you don't mind some small hills. Only negative for us was the sound of people walking above our room. Could get quite noisy at times but didn't bother us too much. Also, no bar fridge in the rooms, which didn't bother us but may be an issue for some. Overall a wonderful place to stay and we would definitely come back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spellsy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello from the Bella Vista!

We like to thank you for your comment on trip advisor! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. As for the fridge, in some rooms they are provided and for those who like to have one, we always have a spare one :-)
We hope to see you again some time!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Friendly and professional, family run hotel. Fantastic home made breakfast. New large spa and relax. Great location on Riedweg. Ski in from slope. Ski out all the way to bus stop, which was perfect for our children. Only 6-7 minute walk to main street (shops & restaurants). Most rooms like ours, have south west faced balcony with afternoon sun and magnificent Matterhorn view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Jonas, dear family,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us at the Bella Vista!

We will see you next winter again, we look very much forward to!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

When we checked into the Hotel we were rewarded with a fabulous view of the Matterhorn from our balcony. The receptionist at the hotel had a taxi pick us up at no charge and our hosts left us wonderful little heart-shaped cookies as a welcome gesture. I was very excited to have a bathtub as well. Once we were settled we quickly uncorked a really good bottle of French Chardonnay and sat out side watching the clouds float by this magnificent mountain. Upon checking out of our wonderful hotel they gave us a delicious butter cookie filled with some kind of nutty, jam as a parting gift. Then, we think it was the woman who owns the hotel, took us to the train station in the cute little electric hotel taxi. This place had it all...a wonderful view, warm hospitality, comfy bed and bathrobes as well as freshly squeezed OJ with an incredible breakfast. Anyone coming to Zermatt is crazy to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgorham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

We like to thank you very much for your great words about us and our hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you!
We hope to welcome you another time with us!

Warm regards from all of us.
Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I cannot say enough good things about our five night stay at Bella Vista. From start to finish it was an impeccable experience. Some highlights and things to consider:

- The pick up from the train station was seamless (helped that they were already on site helping another family arrive, but we all squeezed in an got to the hotel quickly). The drop off equally so.

- Incredibly friendly and polite staff.

- We stayed in room 4, which had a great view of the Matterhorn from our cute little balcony. Highly recommended.The rooms are, as mentioned before, fairly small, but we had no problems- the closet space was more than ample to keep everything out of the way. And I was kinda surprised by how large the bed was. I've definitely had smaller in trips to Italy and France.

- You can't beat coming up to your room and finding a welcome note accompanied by two beautiful cookies. I wanted to take a picture, but my boyfriend ate his before I could do it!

- The breakfast, as everyone has mentioned, is truly a highlight. They do an incredible job. The spread had everything I wanted in a Euro-style breakfast- cured meats, local cheeses, beautiful breads, home made jams, local honey, various yogurt, and all the pastries a girl could hope for. We are currently trying to recreate the lemon cake/bread that was there every morning. We loved it that much.

- Look for your names on the table for breakfast/dinner- we didn't realize that our first day and sat in someone else's seat. Oops!

- Location- I thought it was the perfect distance from the main drag, but I like things a little more on the quiet side. Never took more than 5-12 minutes (depending on if I was wearing ski boots) to get where I wanted to go.

- We opted to stay in one night and enjoy the cheese dinner. All the fondue and raclette!! It was so, so good. And we had the opportunity to imbibe some of their homemade liqueur after a family sent a couple of glasses over (for allegedly being loud, which they weren't, they were lovely, so if they see this: your boy was amazingly adult for someone his age- congrats on being excellent parents and humans).

- I will never get used to being naked in European spas. I just won't. That part of my Americanism will probably never go away. So while the spa was beautiful, I didn't spend more than one afternoon down there.

- Oh, and ladies (or gentlemen) with the need for hair conditioner: bring some. The bathroom is equipped with hand soap and an all purpose shower/hair/body wash, but no conditioner. Glad I had thought to bring the bottle I snagged from our hotel in Zurich.


Overall, one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. If I ever make it back to Zermatt, I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was quiet and had a great view of the Matterhorn from the balcony (so long as it was a clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time and writing down everything so precisely, we are sure this will be appreciated by people who have never been here, thank you! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us!

See you again-hopefully!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This small hotel sits up on a hill overlooking the town of Zermatt. We loved the location we could walk 200 meters up the hill to catch the lifts up the mountain. After skiing you can ski right down to the hotel on a small road. We walked into town each night.
This charming hotel has thought of everything to make their guest comfortable. The beds and linens are of high quality, a ski boot storage room with heaters, and a nice organized ski locker in the garage.
The breakfast is delicious with home made pastries and local food from Zermatt. This hotel is perfect for couples and families with older children. It's so quiet and peaceful. My suggestion to the hotel would be to help your guest book restaurants and ski guides prior to your arrival. It's a busy town and you won't be able to get into places that are popular. We also travel with a son with life-threatening nut allergies and the peanut bowl in the entry was a bit unnerving so we just stayed out of the fireplace room. The hotel is so charming that I think they could replace the peanuts with a local snack. The shells seemed messy. We loved the Bella Vista and want to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy that you had a good time at the Bella Vista!

We are more than happy to help you booking ski guides, mountain guides and restaurants for lunch or for dinner, just let us know exactly what you need and we will organize everything for you!

We hope to see you again at the Bella Vista!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere. A library, children's play area, piano, wireless service, Internet, computer and televisions are available for guests to use free of charge. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy our SPA after a great day of skiing or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing