We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Charming hotel, the bed was so very comfortable and the balconey looked straight up at the Matterhorn. They picked us up and took us back to the train station.The room was nice sized and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was very good as well with a wide variety of foods. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. they also had a spa if you wanted this service as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmyers1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for all these compliments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again some time at the Bella Vista!

Warm regards from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
105
174
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in end Jun.
We didn't request free shuttle service upon our arrival at railway station and walked approx. 10 mins to the hotel. It was easy to locate as long as you followed the direction photos posted on the hotel's website. The only problem we encountered was that we had to walk on a long slope along with our huge, heavy luggage. My friend and I were totally out of breathe!
Upon arrival, Ruth was the one to greet us and helped us to do the smooth check-in. She even brought us to our room. She was very nice and helpful.
Room was spacious, clean, lovely, yet made you feel warm. This is the home-sweet-home hotel I have ever stayed by far after years of travel.
Breakfast table was nicely set up. Food was fresh and well made. Their home made bakery was a must to try! Every staff as well as member of the Gotzenberger family was very friendly and made you feel welcome. If I re-visit Zermatt, I would definitely stay with Bella Vista again without a doubt.
Thanks for the advice from other reviewers, yes, it's worth to pay more to have a room with Matterhorn view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

We like to thank you for your great feedback, we are more than happy that you had a good time with us at the Bella Vista.

Regarding the arrival, we always recommend the pick up service provided until 7pm if you are traveling with heavy luggage. There is a phone at the train station from where you can call us for free... Next time ;-)

Ruth is a great support, she has been working for more than 20 years now with us and is also part of the family as she is the cousin of our mother... so you see, a real family business.

We hope to welcome you another time with us, warm regards from rainy Zermatt.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved the Bella Vista; our only regret was having to leave. This is a true family-run operation, with the young women working there now the granddaughters of the original owner, and they go way above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay special.

There were lots of little touches we enjoyed - a welcome drink on Monday night, special meal on Tuesday - along with the spectacular views and beautiful breakfasts. Our room, though on a lower floor so without perhaps the view higher floors would have had, was still outstanding; a great space, comfy bed and tub, great linens and pillows, plenty of storage, great wifi - everything you could want.

Again, I can't say enough what a warm and beautiful place this was. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeJim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for these positive words about us and our hotel, it was a great pleasure for us to have you here!

We hope to welcome you another time with us.

Warm regards from Zermatt.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely hotel, charming Swiss style, comfortable rooms - impeccably clean and bright. Warm welcome, quiet location, beautiful views. Delicious breakfast and lunches to go available upon request. Perched upon a hill with was access to sights and restaurants. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello from Zermatt!

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also like to thank you for the nice pictures you added!

We hope to see you again some time at the Bella Vista!

Best regards

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

From start to finish, our stay at Bella Vista was faultless. There is nothing I could criticise about this beautiful family run hotel. On arrival at the station, within minutes, Fabienne met us with the hotel's electric 'buggy' to transport us and our luggage to the hotel and gave us a guided tour through the town. We had upgraded to a larger room (11) with a view of the Matterhorn and were delighted with it. The view was spectacular, the decor lovely, the welcome gift of homemade cookies, the facilities and the cleanliness made it a fantastic room to relax in after a busy day sightseeing. Fabienne offered us lots of advice and tips to get the most from our stay and this made our trip even better. Breakfast is excellent with a wide range of homemade and local produce with eggs on request and little touches such as a handwritten name plate for your table make a difference. We also bought jars of their homemade jam as gifts rather than taking home touristy tat. On the first night, I found the pillow to be too soft for my liking and used a cushion underneath, Without a word from me, this was replaced with an extra pillow for the next night. My husband used the sauna and reported that the spa area was a great place to unwind. On checking out, Fabienne presented us with a homemade cookie for the train journey back to Geneva.The exceptionally high standard of customer care, cleanliness and outstanding location made Bella Vista one of the most pleasant hotels I've ever stayed in and I'd highly recommend this as a perfect base to explore an amazing spot.

Room Tip: Room 11 has lovely decor and an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreaker1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr M

Thank you very much for this great feedback, it was more than a pleasure for us to have you here! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and hope you had a good start back at work ;-)

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel at the end of this January, and was deeply impressed by the warmth and good service of the host. The room is very clean and spacious with snow covered terrace, a joyful stay as we never saw such heavy snow before. The host recommended a very good ski coach for my daughter. From our room we can view the scenic Matthorn Peak clearly. And we all liked the homemade breakfast. My daughter even didn't want to leave. Hope we can be back again.

Room Tip: Our room has a big terrace, it's a good position to view the Matthorn Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gao1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello from the Bella Vista!

Thank you very much for these great words about our hotel and us! It was a pleasure for us to have you and your family here! We hope to see you again some time!

Warm regards from Zermatt!

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

a hotel with decent view on the Matterhorn mountain. breakfast is nice and with effort on detail. rooms might be too small if you stay there with some wintersport equipment. remember zermatt is car-free

Room Tip: take mountain view. is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne G, Geschäftsführer at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jochen,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing some words about us!

Indeed, the room you had is small (17m2) but there is always a chance to book a larger room as we have junior suite (46m2), sleeping-living room (44m2), large double rooms (30m2), standard double rooms (24m2) as well as small double rooms (17m2), depending on the budget you have.

We would be happy to see you again some time at the Bella Vista!

Best regards from Zermatt.

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere. A library, children's play area, piano, wireless service, Internet, computer and televisions are available for guests to use free of charge. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy our SPA after a great day of skiing or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing