We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and comfort”
Review of Hotel Chesa Valese

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chesa Valese
Ranked #52 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The owners of this hotel really get it right with hospitality. We were very comfortable in our room, the garden area is delightful, it is everything one wants in a hotel in Zermatt. The breakfast buffet was very nice, lots of good choices. The location was quiet, we were glad to be away from the main street, but still close to everything we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2010

Beautiful small hotel with a some swiss character. Lovely rooms and decoration makes the stay much more enjoyable, although the hotel is some distance from the train station (20 minutes walk)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ri_Sun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Service was excellent from check-in to check-out. Room was especially clean and attractive, with a terrace from which we could see the Matterhorn, weather permitting. Bed was comfortable and desk provided a place to write. Bathroom was new and sparkling, with an excellent shower and tub. Decor throughout was alpine and tasteful. A pleasant front garden included flowers and a sitting area. Breakfast provided almost anything you'd want to eat: soft-cooked eggs in their shells, pastries of all kinds, cheeses and cold meats, yogurt, cereals, coffee, tea and juices.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

This was our first time in Zermatt, and the Hotel Chesa Valese turned out to be an excellent choise. Perfectly located on an alley just a block from the river that crosses the village, between the ski lifts, it allowed us to make the most of the three days of skiing on breath-taking Alps.
For a leisure travel I prefer smaller hotels with a feeling that you are a welcomed friend rather than paying customer; this was exactly the athmosphere at Chesa Valese.
Breakfast buffet, our room (standard double) and lobby were cosy, yet very well set up and full of small touches of pleasing details.

Breakfast included the ordinary cerials, yoghurts, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, tee, with the good selection of cheeses, cold cuts, fresh fruit, bread, rolls and croissants and salmon.

The transportation to and from Railway Station was included and worked fine and flexibly.
No restaurant in the hotel was no problem; there is variety of nice restaurants just few steps from the the hotel entrance.
Service was excellent. As an example, we missed the return time of some ski equipment because the sport shop was closed during luch time, just when we were leaving. The hotel staff took care of the return.

Also the wellbeing room was like a private spa to relax after long days on the slopes. Saunas were heated daily from 4-8 pm, but jacuzzi was available at all times. Peaceful and compact, yet spacious enough for this size of hotel and number of guests.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We spent three nights here during the 'low' season. Everything was perfect. Beautiful rooms/common areas....Wellness center was terrific. Bathrooms large and new. Great internet service; breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Great location. The service was personal and the staff anticipated our needs and made helpful suggestions. I toured the town and viewed a number of the 4 star hotels. I would not choose any of them over Chesa Valese.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntxtraveler091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

I reserved a room in this hotel for my son and his two friends via the internet and specifically requested a quote in U.S. Dollars because I was unaware of the exchange rate. I was quoted $190.00 USD, which they said was 290 CHF. When my son and his friends arrived late in the evening, they discovered that 290 CHF was actually approximately $290.00 USD. The front desk was extremely rude and refused to honor the amount quoted in the reservation. I contacted the hotel after their stay and they refused to adjust the bill, even though they clearly made misrepresentations to me at the time of booking. My husband and I have traveled around the world, literally, and have NEVER had this situation occur. There are many beautiful, quaint hotels in Zermatt, including the Grand Hotel Schonegg where we have previously stayed. I recommend that people stay any place but here. It is important for travelers to be able to rely upon the honesty of hoteliers when booking on the internet, especially for international travel. Hotel Chesa Valese failed the honesty test miserably, and were extremely rude to young, college age travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramli0n333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We just returned from a week's stay at the Chesa Valese and can't wait to go back. The rooms are large, bright and spotless. Each afternoon there was fresh fruit as well as bottled water in the room and in the evening, a piece of swiss chocolate was on our pillows. The buffet breakfast included croissants, rolls, breads, hard boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurts, cereal, fruit, juices and prosecco. Definitely hearty enough for a day of skiing.
The hotel is central to all lifts (about a 5 minute walk) and an easy walk into the middle of town. After skiing, we all enjoyed the complimentary hot tea and sweet breads in the lobby which is more like a large comfortable livingroom!
I can't say enough about the innkeeper, Daniela Julen and her staff. Everyone was incredibly helpful, thoughtful and attentive. Their service was outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank upstater09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#31 of 111 in Zermatt
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#24 of 111 in Zermatt
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Ginabelle
Hotel La Ginabelle
#23 of 111 in Zermatt
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#18 of 111 in Zermatt
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Ski Lodge Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesa Valese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesa Valese

Address: Steinmattstrasse 30, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#38 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £198 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chesa Valese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chesa Valese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesa Valese Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing