We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location in perfect skiing area”
other travellers have booked this property
Completely surrounded by unspoiled nature, make your own footsteps in the pristine snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Completely surrounded by unspoiled nature, make your own footsteps in the pristine snow
Beautiful old chalet built in 1933 in traditional walliser style and renovated in 2014
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Completely surrounded by unspoiled nature, make your own footsteps in the pristine snow
Beautiful old chalet built in 1933 in traditional walliser style and renovated in 2014
In summer, completely surrounded by green. Tonnes of space to relax and enjoy!
With an abundance of charm and fabulous views of the matterhorn
Beautifully renovated interior with luxury but natural and cosy feel
Enjoy a fondue with friends with continuous views of the matterhorn
Plenty of space to eat with a large group of friends
Or on a nice day sit outside on the terrace and soak up the view with some bubbles!
Master bedroom upstairs with own private balcony overlooking the matterhorn
Enjoy a cup of coffee and a croissant on your own private balcony off the master bedroom
Second bedroom on the ground floor with beautiful old wooden cladding
All rooms have brand new luxury Sealy hotel beds for the ultimate nights sleep
Bedroom number 3 upstairs with views over the fields and down the valley, perfect for a family room
With just a touch of Kitsch!
Brand new bathroom with beautiful slate and old wood design,
A large walk in rain shower,
and a whirlpool bath for a long soak after a hard days skiing or hiking!
Despite the renovation, the chalet maintains its old charm
You have your own private path to the chalet, and no neighbors in sight!
In summer the chalet is surrounded by wildflower meadows, with amazing hiking right on the doorstep
Completely surround by green and a large private garden in front of the chalet
Just below the chalet there are fabulous views over the rooftops of Zermatt
After a long day curl up by the open log fire
Try to spot some of our neighbors behind the chalet!
Large private garden in front of the chalet with our own little frog pond
The beautiful slate roof of the lovely Chalet Bergheim
Situated directly on the ski piste from Sunegga, a 20min walk from Zermatt
Near enough to town to benefit from all the restaurants but far enough away for peace and space
Perfect layout for a family or two
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Oliver L
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location in perfect skiing area”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We went in a group of some friends and really enjoyed it! The location with a spectacular overview of the village to the matterhorn, located next to the piste so you can start and end your skiing day at home, the very lovely Nicki who did her very best to welcome us and make us feel comfortable - nothing to complain about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Hi Oliver, many thanks for your great review! So glad you had a great time, will pass on the comments to Nikki. Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay at Chalet Bergheim”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Chalet Bergheim is nestled in a beautiful spot in the hills above Zermatt. From the balcony there is an amazing panoramic view of the surrounding mountains - there is nothing quite like having the Matterhorn waiting to welcome you as you drink your coffee every morning!

Inside, the Chalet is tastefully appointed from the lovely cosy sitting room complete with wood burning stove, to the comfortable bedrooms and stylish main bathroom, which features a hot tub from which you get another fantastic view of the Matterhorn!

Very few places in Zermatt will offer this much peace and privacy – you really are in your own little world tucked away on the mountain-side. But it is only a short walk down the road into town. In winter this road would be a ski piste, making the journey even quicker!

We brought our daughter with us (20 months old) and we had no problems managing with her. There was plenty of space for her to play inside and the balcony is enclosed so that she could also play outside.

We had a glorious week at Bergheim enjoying the stunning scenery and often walking directly into the mountains from the chalet. Zermatt is a truly special place and Chalet Bergheim offers a wonderfully unique way to make your stay extra special.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your amazing review! We're so glad you had a fantastic time and look forward to having you stay again in the future. Will and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdalena...
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful chalet with a fantastic view”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at the chalet for 4 nights (which is definitively too short for such a charming place) and loved it from the first moment on! The location is perfect- with a breathtaking view to Matterhorn and Zermatt and some hiking paths very close to the house.
The rooms are accurate clean and nicely furnished - especially the bathroom with a jacuzzi and a rain shower is great!
Not forgetting the uncomplicated contact with Will - no question remained unanswered!
Alltogether, Chalet Bergheim earns absolutely 5 *****. And if we travel once again to Zermatt, we will come back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Hi Magdalena, thanks so much for the fantastic review! We're delighted you had a great time, the whirlpool bath is my favourite place too :). Please come again. Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloechri...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I climbed The Matterhorn from the chalet today. With the temperature set at 35c and a glass of wine at hand I felt confident that I could scale its peak. As I started the ascent of the north face, I selected the O2 setting and turned the water jets on. Coloured lights and Eurorock accompanied me as I reached the summit. Slipping into my dressing gown, I traversed the heated floor and negotiated the descent to enjoy a Nespresso on the balcony. That evening, I celebrated with my family with a BBQ in garden and an evening under the stars around the fire pit. Turning on the Smart TV to share the photos, the only picture was of me in the jacuzzi staring wistfully out of the window which I was asked to delete. This is a first class chalet in a superb location. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Hi Chris, thanks for your great review. So glad you had a great time! Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timetrave...
cary, nc
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“first class house, ski slope road to get there”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If i were rating just the house itself, it would clearly be a 5. This is a wonderful home with more amenities than can be counted. The furnishings are highly modern, yet comfortable. The beds are awesome with down comforters and pillows that make it so easy to get a great night's sleep, plus opening the windows to the cold night air is wonderful. The jacuzzi bath, modern shower upstairs, and bathrobes are wonderful additions that add to the relaxation. There's a nice living area to eat together and play games or watch TV. outside there is a BBQ grill and a fire pit for roasting mashmellows. And the back drop for this fantastic home is the awesome views of the countryside and Matterhorn. It's also so nice that there's an ample supply of free coffee, wine for 30 chf per bottle and beer for 5 chf per bottle to enjoy as you like.

The only downfall of this house, which also afflicts the many other homes up on this mountain side, is the 30 minute walk from town to the chalet on 45 degree, narrow roads. My family is pretty fit, you know how hard the walk up will be, so my kids became reluctant to leave the chalet and go down to the town. You can take taxis up in the summer, but it will be 35 swiss francs each way. You can shorten the walk by taking the elevator up from within the Shonnegg tunnel across from the Cheminee Hotel, but you'll still have a 10 min hike from there. The pathway from the street to the house's front door is also a challenge, being very narrow and rocky and difficult to lug luggage down. If this house had a golf cart for use by renters, it would be a dream house in all ways.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trish b
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, great chalet, incredible view”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Chalet Bergheim for a week in March with another couple who also had a young baby and we found everything to be spot on from start to finish.

The location is awesome, just off the piste, completely isolated yet only a 20 minute walk into town. The view, oh my goodness - amazing. It's picture postcard from all angles topped off with the Matterhorn right in front of our verandah, incredible.

The chalet itself is immaculate. Newly refurbished with lots of lovely touches that make it a warm, cosy home away from home. The owners clearly have an eye for the finer details and know what's required. The chalet is well stocked and well fitted out.

We were really looked after, the owners even helped arrange babysitting for us so that we could all enjoy the skiing.

Overall a great place to stay, somewhere we highly recommend and we can't wait to return there with our mountain bikes in the summer!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin_Les...
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay as long as you can, It won't dissapoint”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I along with one other couple stayed at Chalet Bergheim for one week during February. The walk from where the taxi drops you off is something that you will see mentioned in other reviews and possibly be nervous about, but if you pass this up because of it you will be making a mistake. When we first arrived the view from outside the Chalet is something that words can not describe.

I did not want to stay in a hotel or one of the small chalet's in town and I'm glad we didn't. Having your own privacy and the whole place to ourself made the trip that much better. The kitchen is stocked with the basic necessities. When we went into town we purchased additional food so we could make a couple dinners at home. Bring backpacks to pack the groceries into and the trip is an ease. We liked that they had a selection beer, wine, and champagne (at an additional cost of course) as we took advantage of this often.

The chalet itself is nicely decorated and the views from inside looking out where amazing. It is big enough so that everyone has there own space if needed but at the same time is very cozy. The upstairs bathroom is something that I would love to have in my own home.

The only disappointing part of the trip was having to leave. If you come here stay as long as you can, you will not be disappointed. We now have many great memories that I will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing