We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of The Omnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Omnia
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Omnia quite simply is one of the most, if not the most outstanding hotels we have ever stayed at. Everything was superb, from the outstanding service, the view from our suite overlooking the town (Village Ste), fabulous spa, the beautifully appointed room and restaurant. The Omnia is a small, intimate hotel with only 30 rooms located just off the main street in Zermatt but once you enter the cave/cavern and take the elevator up to the hotel perched on the side of a mountain, it is if you are a world away. The decor and inspiration, a modern interpretation of a Swiss Mountain lodge, was warm, inviting, elegant yet extremely comfortable. It's like a home away from home, yet so much nicer than home! But the staff and service really made our vacation unforgettable - from the champagne and hot chocolate that we sipped on while checking in, the assistance we received in making lunch and dinner recommendations, the cookies, chocolate bark and dried fruit that awaited us in our room, handmade chocolate every night with the turn-down service and luxury amenities including a bathrobe in the perfect size for our daughter. The spa was one of the most well-quipped and beautiful hotel spas we have seen, with multiple steam rooms, an indoor/outdoor pool and a hot tub with a view of the Matterhorn. And of course, Zermatt itself is spectacular, as is the skiing. Loved it, loved it, loved it and we can hardly wait until we return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Zermatt or the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catherine2011928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Catherine

I still remember how we met for the first time and I am extremely grateful for your kind review. I know how well travelled you are and appreciate even more when you say "the most outstanding"... This is a compliment, which I gladly share with the rest of the Team you so kindly highlight.

I keep mentioning that I never get tired of compliments for our staff. It is them who make the difference, so I also pay tribute to them. their attitude, The small gestures, the sincere pleasure of welcoming you among us only rounds the overall impression of the beauty of the Mountain Lodge.

I also can't wait till I see you again.
Best wishes
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    27
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
87
316
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

i spent a week there in December and the service was great and the suite was wonderful i enjoyed my whole week the staff great they were helpful in getting information that i needed also the suit i stayed in had a beautiful view of the town the snow as great skiing was great

Room Tip: keep the good work
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gapkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear gapkidd

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a good overall impression of the Mountain Lodge.

I will gladly share your compliments and the Kind 5/5 you gave us.

Best regards
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I proposed my wife this summer at the Omnia in an absolutely amazing surrounding.
GM and staff kindly and actively participated in the preparation of the complete surprise to her.
It has been an unforgettable moment for us and look forward to return to this fantastic hotel and restaurant for further great moments!
To note that the place looks fabulous with contemporary spacious interior design, yet traditional, a beautiful piece of architecture not to be missed. Frequent visitor in Zermatt, The Omnia is my favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Bernhard

Thank you for your review and your Kind compliments. I remember how you proposed, you were much more original than I was... therefore I am happy that we could assist to make that Milestone such a memorable one.

I wish you both a very happy married life and would love to welcome you back.

In the interim, stay well, happy and healthy
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Incredible setting, and we enjoyed the Bond lair entrance after the trip from the station. Beautiful rooms with wonderful views over town, church and mountains. Incredible breakfast with several different kinds of chocolate spread alone. Fantastic pool and hot tubs with fab views of the mountains. Truly fantastic

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_the_Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Patrick

Thank you for your kind review about the Setting, the James Bond reference and the breakfast. The chocolate spreads are indeed fantastic. I have found crema di nocciole a few months ago while touring Piemont and immediately fell in love with them. Shall I send you some?

Best regards
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My Husband and I enjoyed our visit to Omnia last week. Everything about the hotel is just faultless... The Service, the food, the warmth, the rooms.... Excellent...
We are looking forward to going back there again next year for a snowy visit...
Hopefully next year will get a room on a higher floor...

Room Tip: Try getting a room on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear MCN9

I also often feel like in a fairytale... every morning when I wake up and see the beauty of the nature and know how lucky I am to live and work here...

Thank you for reminding me again and for your kind compliments.

Please let me know whe you come back so that we can organize a room on a higher floor. Things can get busy here.

Best regards
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Omnia truly spoilt us for the week we spent there during our honeymoon.
The room (we had room P) was amazing, with balcony overlooking Zermatt and separate bath area. The room was spotless and thoroughly cleaned at least daily - on most days the bed was made twice, the room service would visit between post skiing nap and bedtime.
The staff - particularly the reception staff deserve a special mention. Always friendly and chatty, ready with ideas for dinner and more than happy to help with any requests.
Breakfast was consistently amazing. Don't be afraid to ask for variations with eggs etc that is off the menu, however, you might keep coming back to the chocolate crepes....they are to die for!
The "wellness" facilities are amazing. Sitting in the outdoor jacuzzi in the snow was definitely a new experience! We also had massages which I can strongly recommend.
Lastly, thanks to the staff at The Omnia for making our stay in Zermatt the best leg of our honeymoon and for giving us such an amazing room.....we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Jamie

How wonderful! I am very happy that The Omnia was the best part of the Honeymoon. I have also very fond memories of the best hotel my wife and I went to during our honeymoon. Therefore I am even more pleased.

Come back anytime, no need to wait for an anniversary.

Best wishes
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux/Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from a lovely weekend at the Omnia in Zermatt. This must be the best five star, quality hotel in this famous Swiss mountain resort. From our pick up at the train station to our departure everything went perfectly. The staff is really good with particular attention to details. The General Manager, Philippe, took personal care to assure that we were happy with our room and all hotel services.
Facilities are modern and perfectly maintained with the latest electronic support systems including free wifi throughout the property ... a real plus ! And the dining experience was excellent, both for breakfast and dinner. The glass enclosed kitchen and large tables make a real difference, not to mention the excellent quality of the food. The modern spa has an indoor/outdoor pool and the best jacuzzi in town with a direct view to the Matterhorn!
We have visited this hotel many times before and will continue to keep it at the top of our list in Zermatt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LakeView10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omnia

Property: The Omnia
Address: Auf dem Fels, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Omnia 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Omnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omnia Hotel Zermatt
Omnia Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing