We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Omnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Omnia
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
“The Best Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

My wife and I have experienced luxury boutique hotels through the states, Europe, and Asia. The Omnia redefines the entire experience through the most helpful/ attentive staff, quality product, and the most blissful setting.

I happened upon The Omnia during a solo tour of Europe a few years ago. Aside from my Architectural fascination with the property, it was the highlight of my entire trip; so much so that I had to bring my family back to experience it.

During our visit in early December 2009, we were treated to the most attentive, luxurious experience possible. My father's girlfriend happened to lose her luggage on the train prior to our arrival. Having very little luck with the local Swiss train authorities, I asked the staff at the hotel if there was anything they could do to help... We were greeted with a selection of clothing for her to wear, and information that the hotel staff had already been in contact with the train authorities and that the luggage was secured. Despite the train authorities insistence that the luggage could not be retrieved for several weeks, we received the bag in the hotel room 24 hours later. This is a perfect example of the hotel staffs' tireless efforts to ensure that every guest be treated like royalty.

It is clearly conveyed in most of the postings on this site that The Omnia is an incredibly special place. Having personally been involved with constructing landmark properties designed by famous architects through my work, I can say that no expense was spared in this building. The rooms, the pool, the details, the details, the details...they are perfect and in many cases awe inspiring. Ad to it the breakfast, the beds, the arrival greeting, the view and you have perfection.

Looking forward to a return very soon!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgemautner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    26
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
82
309
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
183 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed myself from the time of pick up at Zermatt train station till drop off. Parking at Tasch was easy at the train station. A phone call to the hotel to let them know that we were about to board the train to Zermatt from Tasch, and 15 minutes later, we were greeted by the hotel's electric car, which was decorated with wood and pattern similar to that of the hotel's interior. The electric car then drove through the streets of Zermatt until we drove into a cave behind a double glass door at the bottom of a hill, and took a glass enclosed elevator to the lobby. After a welcome drink and a short tour of the hotel, we were taken to our room, with two balconies and spectacular view of Zermatt. The bathtub made of wood is in a separate room. The room is simply decorated, but lush at the same time. Abundant Kiehl's products. We spent most of the day going from wet sauna to dry sauna to hamman to outdoor jacuzzi (with a view of Matterhorn). We didn't eat at the restaurant but instead went to town (using glass enclosed elevator and coming out of the cave) and turned the corner to find ourselve in front of a very cozy restaurant where we had fondue. We also wandered around town prior to dinner. Since it was low season, many of the stores were closed. Breakfast the following morning was abundant and the buffet selection was top notch. The cooked portion of breakfast was outstanding as well. This is a hotel that offers the complete package of total relaxation and indulgence. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

The Staff are extremely helpfull! Arrived with 10 Family Members, and they showed us to a lunch room, where we filled in our forms over Lunch. They helped greatly with all our lugage and ski's.

The Location is amazing, with a beautiful view of Zermat and the Matterhorn. Lovely Swimming pool with and Inside and Outside section.

Fantatic Hotel Overall, definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickdyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Excellent! Stay here, you will not regret it. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast wonderful. View out of the balcony breathtaking. Room clean and cozy although we found the bathroom rather compact, we were staying in Room T. You can borrow DVDs, laptop free of charge from the reception.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiewatermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Our stay at the fabulous Omnia started with prompt and courteous reservation response, and continued flawlessly to our too soon departure after a 3 night stay. This is a wonderful hotel with fabulous accomodations and amenities, a terrific, friendly and outstanding staff, and incredible rooms/views. You will not go wrong choosing to stay here. It is expensive, but, at this hotel, unlike some, you truly DO get what you pay for.
The stay started with pick-up at the Zermatt train station in their electric car. Shortly thereafter you are turning down a small road and glass doors in the side of a mountain magically open. Yes! You are whisked Bond-like into a tunnel in the rock and then into the elevator up through the rock to reception. We were offered a welcome drink of Prosecco, which we had on the lovely outdoor terrace overlooking the majestic Matterhorn, on check in. Our bags were taken separately and were waiting for us when we got to the room.
And oh what a room! The tower suite we had booked was just amazing. We were in room lV. Breathtaking. Huge living area with panoramic picture windows looking down on the village of Zermatt and at the Matterhorn. Special kudos to the incredible telescope offering amazing Matterhorn views! Huge couch, coffee table, dining table, working fireplace, flat screen TV, sound system, mini-bar (with complimentary Bourbon!) Balcony off living area with chairs that had sheepskin coverings for them! The bedroom was also huge and featured it's own separate balcony with chaise lounge, very comfortable bed, chaise recliner, flat screen tv, etc. 2 Bathrooms.....1 with shower, toilet, sink etc. and the other with GIANT walk in closet/wardrobe and spacious bath, wonderful shower and separate large jacuzzi tub. Just an amazing suite in all aspects. The amenities included an electronic safe (never seen one like this, open and close with credit card rather than combination), Luxe bathrobes and slippers, Mini-bar with complimentary bourbon as stated, and SUPERB toiletries by Kiehl's.....these must be noted, as they were so good, I actually looked for and found the Kiehl's store in Zurich to purchase more and have since ordered at home online! They included not only shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap, etc. but sunscreen & mens shaving lotion! Great products.

The breakfast is included and was absolutely outstanding. It must be mentioned that all breakfast items are available for room delivery....simply fill out the form and time. We chose to eat in the dining room, but what a nice touch to have ita all available in room. Everything is done to a "T" here, and breakfast is no exception. Huge and varied traditional swiss buffet with outstanding meats, cheeses, breads fruits and fresh juices. In addition, eggs can be ordered to your specification at no extra charge and are outstanding. My husband had fabulous omelets each day; the last day I had poached eggs with a silken hollandaise...a version of Eggs Benedict that was the best I have ever had. The Omnia breakfast will stand you in good stead for a day of hiking or skiing. Tremendous.

Also tremendous is the absolutely incredible spa area that we made good use of each night. Gorgeous swimming pool with candle lighting, amazing tiled lounge chairs "relaxation room", the (my personal favorite) Flower Steam room, a variation on a sauna with the wonderful addition of flower steam, Finnish Sauna, Caladarium....and a FABULOUS hot tub looking out at the Matterhorn. Just, wow. The pool also has a small outdoor area which views the Matterhorn. The entire spa area is truly spectacular. Please note some areas of the spa are "clothing optional" which is the norm in Switzerland. So don't be surprised or alarmed if you encounter a few textile free guests! Most will have a towel and be relatively discreet. When visiting the spa DO grab a couple extra bottled waters which are available at the spa at no charge, for your next day hiking excursion! We LOVED the Omnia spa.....as well as everything about this wonderful hotel. The staff here deserves a special mention for their freindliness. To a person the staff was outstanding.
The Omnia's location is fantastic, take the elevator back down to the "cave" entrance area, walk out and you are on the main street of Zermatt for great shopping, strolling and people watching. Many restaurants and bars.. Also a short walk to a small grocery store. Worth visiting: the nearby Matterhorn museum.
We plan on returning to Zermatt next year. This is a fabulous hotel and well worth a stay if you are planning a trip to wonderful Zermatt.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjhNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed at The Omnia for one night by the end of August. The hotel is just perfect: minimalist and elegant architecture and design; highly professional and welcoming staff; a relaxing wellness space with different baths and pools. Everything is taken care of "to the smallest detail" (music, strawberries, bathrobes, water bottles, cocktails, etc.). We would love to come back to this hotel, it has been the best hotel exeperience we have had so far.
Celina

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelinaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

A standout hotel among seemingly lesser calibre competitors in the crowded town that is Zermatt. In every respect - design, service, food, views - this hotel is worth the value. If the price seems high you can justify the splurge to yourself through the experience a stay at this hotel offers. Our stay was in July so we cannot vouch for what a winter stay will offer. Our abiding impression is one of unremitting attention to every aspect of a guest's stay including at the hotel restaurant which offers a menu that is modern in content and exquisitely served (again worth the splurge). The breakfast which is included in the room cost is broad ranging and more than adequate to carry most people through the day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsoAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#21 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Omnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omnia

Property: The Omnia
Address: Auf dem Fels, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Omnia 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Omnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Omnia Hotel Zermatt
Omnia Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing