We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Garni, excellent position”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Garni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel Garni
Ranked #100 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Garni, excellent position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2007

We had four nights at the Hotel City on a long weekend skiing in February 2007. I'd definitely go back again.

The City Hotel is in a brilliant position - five minutes walk from the Sunegga lift, one minute from a bus stop up to the Klein Matterhorn and five minutes from the town centre / bahnhof.

The rooms are a good size, breakfast is fine (not the best I've had in Zermatt, but completely acceptable), and the owners / team all very friendly.

Free internet access is a bonus for checking out the webcams before you ski.

Perfectly pleasant lounge, good steam and sauna rooms (NB as you'd expect from Europe, they are a clothing-free zone). There's also a table football table and mini-gym (but you probably won't need this while skiing).

  • Liked — Good sized rooms, great location
  • Disliked — Slightly uninspiring breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomraggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

City Hotel Garni far exceeded our expectations -- the room was fairly large and extremely clean, we had a view of the Matterhorn from our balcony, the location was excellent (4 minute walk to the train station, 5 minute walk from anything in town), breakfast was more than adequate, etc, etc. Nothing to complain about.
Also, the owners were very helpful as they provided input on local day hikes and even woke up early the day of our departure to provide us breakfast (we were leaving very early).
Again, absolutely no complaints here, only praise. Highly recommended! Also free internet access in the lobby.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ChadMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROU
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2006

Indeed,I had a very nice,quite and pleasant stay at Hotel City Garni.Friendly staff,very lovely breakfast and excellent room,very clean and a perfect view of Matterhorn.The owner is an excellent guide if you need informations or if you are passionate by summer skiing or hiking.Hotel City is the right place if you want to enjoy Zermatt experience.Absolutely excellent...

  • Liked — room,personell,breakfast,everything
  • Disliked — main intrance carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — no.....be open and choose this hotel,is excellent
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank by4type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2006

I and my family stayed at this little 'Hotel City Garni' while on holiday in Zermatt in September 2006. It was the best hotel we experinced for the whole trip in Switzerland. At first I feel the price is rather expensive (as is every hotel in Zermatt) but everything full justified that price tag and in the end I even thought it was 'value for money'! The room was perfect, clean, big enough and had great view of the Matterhorn, while the balcony gave the good feeling of this buzzing little lovely town. The staff is the nicest and friendliest we could have had. They were helpful with everything. The Internet is free to use, which is very surpirse given Zermatt is a very expensive tourist city. The breakfast is up to standard and we had it with Matterhorn panoramic view just right through the breakfast room windows. When check-out, due to my family luggages, I asked them to call me the 'electro taxi' but instead the guy brought out his own electro car and gave me and all luggage a ride to the station for free. Very nice compliment to set off good-bye. I couldn't find any fault in this hotel part from I wish I could've stay longer. Overall, this Hotel City Garni totally matched the perfect beauty of Zermatt.

Helpful?
8 Thank Vekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Mazot
Hotel Le Mazot
#93 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#45 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#22 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#33 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Garni

Property: City Hotel Garni
Address: Vispastrasse 8, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing