We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service I have experienced”
Review of Alpenlodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenlodge
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Beautiful hotel with great service. Me and my spouse love to sleep in, and usually miss the breafeast. At alpenlodge they called our room an asked if we wanted breafeast, that is service. They have a beautiful view over matterhorn and they city, and only a short walk from the centre. At the hotel they offer you vouchers that you can use for the funny electric taxis. This gives you almost have price at nighttime. Try the restaurant stockhorn and glacier paradice.

Room Tip: High up towards matterhorn
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnfinnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Alpenlodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

Perfect, cozy lodge... Great owner Rosemarie makes you feel yourself at home and as if you're one of the family.

After long hours of snowboarding, it was always a pleasure to get back to Alpen Lodge and enjoy the warm hospitality combined with cleanliness, good service and a great uninterrupted view of Matterhorn... For the best view of Matterhorn, you have to wake up early in the morning and watch the first sun shines droppin on the summit of it... Of course when doing that you have to be sipping your days early coffee at Alpen Lodge...

If i'll ever drop by Zermatt again, my fist choice will be Alpen Lodge and the second choice will be to taste once again the delicious homemade Swiss liquor of Rosemarie (too bad i still cannot recall the name of it !!)...

Definitely value for money and highly recommended...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sami99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Great hotel overlooking the town of Zermatt. The hotel itself is well designed, contemporary and very clean. Most rooms have an excellent view of the Matterhorn. Staff are very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. I'd really recoomend this hotel if you are planning a trip there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJF2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We spent a week in the Alpenlodge in one of the best rooms (Matterhorn). Value for money was really good. The hotel is well done especially in the details (good materials, big windows, very nice spa etc.). Also the owners are very personable and you really see that they enjoy being your host. The occasional dinner a couple of times per week is also worth it.

The only downside I see is the location. Since it's far up the hill you have to walk 15 mins to the Sunnegga station on a pretty steep road (ok with regular shoes, no fun with ski boots), from which you then can take the cable car or the bus to the Matterhorn station. Since this as a bit annoying you often end up taking a taxi which is CHF 20, not cheap. On the other hand only because of the location you have this amazing view of the Matterhorn, which really stands out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thurston_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My brother-in-law and I had a rare ski trip together and decided upon Alpenlodge because friends had recommended it. We were warmly welcomed by Rosemary and Willy Tugwalder and had an awesome five day visit to Zermatt.

The room was modern with furniture hand made by Willy himself... utterly different and very impressive. It was stylish, comfortable and perfectly located with awesome views of the Matterhorn itself. The Wellness centre with its great design was the perfect way to unwind after a long day on the slopes.

The restaurant served excellent fixed price dinners and more than adequate breakfasts, and I heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the beautiful mountain resort of Zermatt.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aerodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

This is a truely remarkable hotel! Built new in 2005 it is a very modern hotel with very nice rooms. There are also a very nice spa facility at the hotel. The owners, a local couple, are the most welcoming, friendly and helpful and make this really seem like home and makes it a very personal stay. The hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt with a great view and possibilities for skiing all the way to the hotel from the slopes. A wonderful stay for couples, families, single persons, anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikkelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Alpen Lodge Hotel is very well positioned in Zermatt with amazing views over the village and the Matterhorn. Willy and Rosemarie Taugwalder are the most delightful couple who built this hotel from scratch in 2005 including all the furniture. Rosemarie is extremely helpful and makes the hotel feel like a home.
This is one of the true special hotels in the world and definitely one we will be coming back to regularly.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miaflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 111 in Zermatt
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 111 in Zermatt
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenlodge

Address: Zer Baennu 22 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: £141 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenlodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ski-in Alpenlodge is located on a sunny slope on the edge of Zermatt, offering panoramic views of the Matterhorn and free access to the wellness area. The modern Zen spa has a sauna and a steam bath. Guests can enjoy stunning views from the relaxation room over the surrounding mountains. All rooms in the Alpenlodge are furnished in elegant, contemporary Alpine style and offer free Wi-Fi. Cable flat-screen TVs and DVD players are featured in every room. Bathrobes and a hairdryer are also provided. Every day free coffee, tea and cakes are served. The cosy lounge bar with its open fireplace is an inviting place to relax after a day out in the mountains. Guests can also enjoy the common terrace offering panoramic views of the village and the impressive Matterhorn. The Sunneggabahn cable car and the buses to the Matterhorn cable cars are only a 5-minute walk away from the Alpenlodge. Ski passes can be bought at the lodge. The train station and the Gornergrat cog cable car can be reached on foot within 10 minutes. Transfers to the cable cars are available at an additional cost. Transfers to and from the train stations are available free of charge if guests are staying 2 nights or longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenlodge Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing