We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Iglu @ Zermatt”
Review of Iglu-Dorf Zermatt

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iglu-Dorf Zermatt
Ranked #4 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
“Hot Iglu @ Zermatt”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Just great!
A joung, dynamic and friendly Crew is waiting for you in at a wonderful location on 2'720 meters above sea level... whirlpool with a view on 29 x 4'000 meter summits (including the famous Matterhorn), in the middle of the skiing area of Zermatt... original swiss cheese fondue in a real snow/ice Iglu... a night in a cosi and warm sleeping bag in the snow-iglu or a hot drink at the ice bar... there is even a heatet (tent-)Iglu for those who liked it a little bit warmer in the night... a must see when you're in Zermatt.
Not jet comittet? check the pictures and informations on the homepage at www.iglu-dorf.com

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank family R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iglu-Dorf, Assistentin Geschäftsleitung at Iglu-Dorf Zermatt, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear family R. Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write a review about our igloo village Zermatt. We are happy to liked your stay with us. Best regards from the igloo village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Coldest weekend of the winter... -30C outside, but clear sky, unbelievable views of the Matterhorn, beautiful dark night with the stars.... scenery and weather could not be beaten... but, the place is highly overprice, having bad fondue in Switzerland is a crime... would we come back? no. Did I regret? no. Experience could not be beaten... but is way overpriced! and the bathrooms were extremely dirty (no, I am not expecting a luxury bathroom... just something clean...) The guides were nice, but not really well prepared...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttunttuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iglu-Dorf, Front Office Manager at Iglu-Dorf Zermatt, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear ttunttuna.
Thank you for your review, the feedback of our guests is very important to us. We're lucky to hear that you enjoyed your stay, even if you found it overpriced.
We would like to state, that the price comes from the exclusive location and the expenses for the construction and maintenance of a hotel made from snow. Our igloo village is located at 2700 a.s.l. and is therefore a very special type of venue with limited catering/infrastructure possibilities. Nevertheless, we aim to satisfy our guests. We will discuss your feedback with our team and improve where necessary. Kind regards - your igloo village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Having visited Zermatt several times over the last 8 years I have seen the Iglu-dorf grow from its infancy to what it is today.
I've stopped several times to enjoy the fantastic white Gluwein they do there. This year I wanted to tick staying in an igloo off my bucket list.
All I can say was I wasn't disappointed.
The iglu-dorf can sleep up to 40 people which I could imagine being a very different experience to the 6 people that were staying the night we stayed.
Being alone skiing down the quiet slopes to the igloo was fantastic.
The view of the matterhorn as the sunset is something I will never forget.
In contrast to other reviewers I thought the fondue in the evening was great. cheese was good and bread was fresh.
What people need to get into context is that this is a temporary structure that is built every year. Running water is scarce and the toilets are posh portaloo's. I think being so remote however add's to the uniqueness of the experience.
The risk of getting cold was removed by regular activities throughout the evening. from a tour of the igloo, a session in the hot tub, to snow shoeing whilst the snowploughs did their work around us.
I could explain every detail about our stay but it would ruin the surprise for anyone planning to stay.

What I will say however is go. Its expensive but to me it was worth every penny, especially when you think it takes a month to build every year.
Don't forget your head torch, towel and swim stuff. Also decent snow boots are needed for the snowshoeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5hed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My friend and I loved the idea of fondue in an igloo. Its certainly an experience, but definitely not worth the money. We spent 87 francs EACH on the evening and frankly thats a shocking amount for what you get. Ok, the experience was certainly interesting (its a very big igloo and we enjoyed seeing round it), but the fondue was pathetic - easily the worst fondue I have ever had (and I have been to Switzerland many times, and my friend lives there). Lets just say if we had been organised better, and read TA reviews, we would never have gone - we feel ripped off.

As others have said, you get the train up the mountain, then a guide meets you at the station and you walk to the igloo. Its 15 - 20 minutes walk in the dark. The guide had a head torch but none of the literature we saw suggested bringing one (or we would have) - if you have a head torch, bring it, its very dark out there! Its quite hard going terrain and if you have any sort of mobility issues (as I did, having hurt my back in a fall the day before), you may struggle, as the guide walks off quite fast and makes no consideration whatsoever for slower walkers. There was only one guide so he would have had no idea if he lost someone as he had no idea how many people were coming with him. In these temperatures thats quite scary)

You get a quick tour of the igloo, then fondue. This consists of one glass of gluhwein, and then bits of bread and cheese. Thats the fondue. Nothing else. No potatoes, vegetables or any accompaniments at all. Just bread and dipping cheese. And its not great cheese either. I have had much better cheese and fondue in general, many times before. If you want more drinks you need to pay - and they are not cheap.

You then sit and listen to the live music until you leave for the train back down the mountain (again walking with one guide leading the way, and no lights - if someone fell behind he would have had no clue). There is nothing else to do and it gets progressively colder as you sit. We had on more layers of clothing than I care to count and the cold still gets to you in the end. You are sitting on blocks of ice after all...

The toilets are not pleasant. There is one ladies and one mens toilet for the whole facility, and they are in a smelly port-a-cabin type thing. Ok, its up a mountain, I get that - but at least keep it clean and not smelly. If you stay the night here, it appears to be the only toilet, and its quite a distance away from some of the 'rooms' - I would not want to be going to the loo in the middle of the night here thats for sure!

I would not recommend this venue at all . There are much better ways to spend that kind of money and get a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iglu-Dorf, Assistenz Geschäftsleitung at Iglu-Dorf Zermatt, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Jakesmum. Thank you for your review, the feedback of our guests is very important to us. We are sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay at our igloo village. First of all we would like to state, that the price of CHF 89.- is the price for the full package wich includes a night-time ride with the Gornergratbahn (usually around CHF 70.-), a welcome drink (mulled vine usually CHF 7.-), a guided tour around the igloo village (CHF 5.-) and a cheese fondue (usually CHF 28.-) and live music. Our igloo village is located at 2700 a.s.l. and is therefore a very special type of venue with limited catering/infrastructure possibilities. Nevertheless, we aim to satisfy our guests. We will discuss your feedback with our team and improve where necessary. Kind regards - your igloo village team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Stopped many times at iglu Bar for drinks while in zermatt last week. Based on the Gournegrat which in my opinion is amongst some of the most enjoyable ski runs I have been on in the Alps. Although they have rooms for overnight stays we only stop here for drinks and snacks during the ski day. The staff that run the bar are great fun with always a story to tell. The setting and views are great especially on Blue days when the outdoor terrace is in the sun. Prices are slightly expensive for drinks and snacks but I suppose this is zermatt! Thanks to all the staff for making us feel welcome last week.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank L11per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iglu-Dorf, Assistenz Geschäftsleitung at Iglu-Dorf Zermatt, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear L11per. Thank you very much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your time at our igloo village Zermatt and hope you had a fantastic holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
464 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had enjoyed the bar at the Iglu during our ski runs in the Gornergrat area of the Matterhorn ski resort and learned that they had a fondue night on Thursday (starts in January) where you can take the train up just for the evening and come back down--not spend the night. We were told there would be a fondue dinner and live music. The price was about 83USD; because we had ski passes we got a discounted rate of about 63USD since the train is included in the ski pass. The train left at 7:24pm and it is a 30 min ride to the Rotenboden stop where we get off for the Iglu. The view from the train is scenic during the day but at night you can only see the lights of Zermatt. Also pretty, but its not the view of the alps. When we got there, two Iglu Dorf staff got off train with us and we walked a ski path and snow/icy walking path to the Iglu. This took around 20 minutes I think, although it seemed longer. We were glad we had brought headlamps bc the only lights were the headlamps that the 2 guides had and it wasn't enough for our group of 25 or so. We had also brought sleds from our hotel, which probably would have been a safer way down, but we were told we couldn't use them and besides we didn't know which path to take. When we got there, we had a brief (very) tour of the Iglu. We saw one of the rooms where people stay at night and the hallway to the rooms etc. this took about 10-15 min at most. Then we found a place to sit in the dining area where we would have the fondue dinner. One of the staff came to our table and asked if we wanted Gluhwein (mulled wine), red or white so we told her red. Apparently the staff member leading the other group told people to go the the (ice) bar to get Gluhwein. When nothing came, we went to the bar and he staff member who had asked us what we wanted and were told they were out of red Gluhwein. (really??). Anyway, we finally got our (included in price) one cup of (white) Gluhwein. After about 30 min we got some bread cubes for the fondue and in about 20 more minutes we got the fondue. Drinks with this "dinner" we're not included in the $63USD price, even non-alcoholic. There was no other food provided (potatoes etc) for/with the fondue. That was the "dinner." We finished the fondue about 9pm. There was no live music bc we were told the musician was sick that night. The return train was not until 10:58pm. There was nothing to do--we wished we had brought a table game or something to entertain ourselves. Especially with nothing to do, we got very cold, even though we had worn layers and skiwear. It is 30deg in the igloo and there are some animal skins to sit on but nothing else to help keep warm. One of our party found a blanket but we were told there were no more. The whole event was very disorganized and disappointing, as well as being an incredible ripoff to pay $63USD for fondue with only bread and only one drink provided at entry not at the meal. It is one thing to pay for atmosphere, but when there is so little effort or planning for such an event that has so much potential to be well-planned and fun, it is a major disappointment. We even asked one of the staff when he was taking our food away, "What are we supposed to do for 2 hours?" He sheepishly replied "There is food to eat..." while walking away the "dinner" we had finished.
When it was finally time to walk down to the Riffelberg stop for the return train, there was just a gathering of us at the door around the time we were told we would be going down. There was no head count to see if everyone was there. We made our way down another snowy path, again glad we had our headlamp, some people tripping and falling along the way.
I am disappointed to say that the fondue night at Iglu is a ripoff, and I could not recommend it to anyone. In fact, unless and until they get their act together and offer something decent for this price I would strongly recommend NOT doing this activity at Iglu.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iglu-Dorf, Assistenz Geschäftsleitung at Iglu-Dorf Zermatt, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear travelinjep. Thank you for your feedback. The response of our customers is very important to us and helps us steadily improve our services. We are sorry that you could not fully enjoy the booked event. The price of 63 CHF is a discounted rate for guests with skipass, as the night ride with Gornergrat train is yet not included in a normal ski pass, a significant part of this amount is charged for the ride up and down and not completely covering the event at our igloo village. We will discuss your feedback with our team and improve where possible. For a detailed statement please contact us directly: info@iglu-dorf.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Sleeping under a clear dark black sky full with stars?
Party till deep in the night and waking up in your iglu in the early morning, gearing up for a great snow walk....

For business events or for personal experience, all is possible at this place. The place is accessible via skiing, helicopter. A joy to stay as well as day time as in nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Christ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.0 mi away
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
#31 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
#50 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#48 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iglu-Dorf Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iglu-Dorf Zermatt

Property: Iglu-Dorf Zermatt
Address: Rotenboden, Zermatt, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Hotel Class:3 star — Iglu-Dorf Zermatt 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As our guest you will be sleeping at an altitude of 2727 metersat the Gornergrat next to Switzerland’s most famous mountain. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing