We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint.”
Review of Hotel Sarazena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sarazena
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Leeds
Level Contributor
267 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Quaint.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of a Swiss rail tour. The hotel is quite small and quaint though the rooms are adequate in size. There is no restaurant at the hotel (other than the breakfast room) so you need to go out to eat; not a problem as there are numerous places to eat within a few minutes walk. The hotel is right alongside the Gornergrat Rail Station although this wasn't a problem if you kept all the windows closed. The main railway station is also just across the road.The real surprise when we arrived was that the hotel is virtually in the centre of a building site with machines running all day. We tried sitting on the balcony but the noise from the railway and the building site because too intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
41
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jabalpur, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Location of the Hotel is tucked away. If you have a heavy suitcase then it will be a problem.

Heating was a problem and the Lady manning the Hotel herself didn't know how to operate it. Next day we were told that it runs automatically, which showed that they actually didn't know how to operate it.

Secondly ..they said the breakfast was available till 10 AM, however when we reached there by 9.30 AM, every thing was finished and we were told that we have to eat what ever is left there.
There were other 3 Star hotels with much better view.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Sarazena is conveniently located right near the train station. Schelepping our suitcases was not a problem at all and honestly less than 3 minute walk! I was a little concerned with the construction around the hotel as we arrived-- it has not been a problem at all.
Our first morning we looked out and clear skies and THERE WAS THE MATTERHORN! Definitely ask for a room with a view and on the upper floor! Our room is modest and very clean & comfortable. Everything is expensive, in general, in Switzerland; I'd consider Hotel Sarazena fairly priced. We slept with the windows open-- no street noise!
Front desk is pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is the European meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt...and coffee or tea. Nice way to start the day.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AHACharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Sarazena is a very good value for Zermatt and it is in a good location. I wasn't disappointed to stay here again. I am a little concerned about all the construction going on in Zermatt, but the Sarazena is still in a very good location and the rooms and bathrooms are some of the best I have ever experienced. Breakfast is still great, but I'd like to see soft or hard boiled eggs, please.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel was excellent. Very clean and so close to both train stations. Walking distance to everyething. The internet didn't work in the room but there was an excellent comfortable lounge just off the lobby and the internet worked well from there. There is also a bar in the lounge so you can enjoy a drink while you are sitting. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The staff were very helpful and knowledgable. The only downside was that there was a lot of construction going on and that made the hotel hard to find on our arrival. However, once we knew where to turn there were no issues.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel was booked as part of a travel agents itinerary so you never know quite what you are going to get.

Our of all our hotels this one was the biggest let down. Not so much for the actual hotel itself as that was clean, tidy and standard accommodation. However it was tucked in an alley way surrounded by building work. We feel we should have been informed of this by the agent (and we will take this up with them) so we could either choose to stay or ask for an alternative. It was unsightly, left the hotel looking worse for wear and noisy to boot. We were also right next to the train station - which meant from around 7am till very late at night - trains were coming and going.

The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was not bad. A little more choice would have been nice but the decaf coffee was great.

Room Tip: I am not sure if there is one - but perhaps on the other side to the train station would have been q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel is the best hotel I have stayed with in my 10 days holiday in Switzerland. I have been to five hotels in different places in the country and though located in a busy tourists town, Hotel Sarazena is the most reasonably priced (read: cheapest) among the hotels I have stayed in but the BEST of the lot. Full ensuite bathroom, biggest room with a big balcony, very comfortable bed, very warm staff who are eager to help, and a central location very near to the main train station and the Gornegrat station. I originally planned to stay one night but extended up to three nights in part because of Zermatt and in large part because of the very comfortable Hotel Sarazena.

Definitely will stay here again if ever I come back to Switzerland. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#85 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#78 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#24 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
#42 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sarazena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarazena

Property: Hotel Sarazena
Address: Bahnhofplatz 14, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sarazena 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sarazena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing