We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and quite hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sarazena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sarazena
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good and quite hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just 100 meter from the railwaystation you will find Sarazena. It is a quite and I belive family run hotel. We got a large room with a blacony facing Matterhorn. Most of the rooms has balcony. Free internet. Lovely staff.

The hotel is also located just next to the main street (pedestrian) in Zermatt.

The only problem is the breakfast - to my point of view is a bit spartanious. This should have been taken better care of.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floor gives you the best view of the mountain, included Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leiftaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    40
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
41
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very close to the station in Zermatt, turn right coming out of the station and first left after the Gonergrat station then follow the signs. Overlooks the Gornergrat station. Comfortable well appointed hotel with very clean room and ensuit, hot water available at reception if you want to make your own drinks. Good breakfast to set you up for the day and free WiFi. Would highly recomend this hotel as its quiet being tucked away in a quiet side road but close to the town.

Room Tip: Chose a top from room overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arowba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Like some previous reviewers we were booked into this hotel by Railtour Suisse. Very near to the station which is great when travelling by train. We didn't find it at first because it is rather tucked away and there is building going on nearby. However it's a nice old style hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room was a reasonable size with TV providing all the main UK channels. Heating was controlled by individual thermostatic valves on the radiators. Our room did have view of the Matterhorn although like many in the town I would think, it was only the summit. Breakfast was continental of course but very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a Swiss electrical travel adaptor but if not ask at reception. Some rooms have Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of a Swiss rail tour. The hotel is quite small and quaint though the rooms are adequate in size. There is no restaurant at the hotel (other than the breakfast room) so you need to go out to eat; not a problem as there are numerous places to eat within a few minutes walk. The hotel is right alongside the Gornergrat Rail Station although this wasn't a problem if you kept all the windows closed. The main railway station is also just across the road.The real surprise when we arrived was that the hotel is virtually in the centre of a building site with machines running all day. We tried sitting on the balcony but the noise from the railway and the building site because too intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabalpur, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Location of the Hotel is tucked away. If you have a heavy suitcase then it will be a problem.

Heating was a problem and the Lady manning the Hotel herself didn't know how to operate it. Next day we were told that it runs automatically, which showed that they actually didn't know how to operate it.

Secondly ..they said the breakfast was available till 10 AM, however when we reached there by 9.30 AM, every thing was finished and we were told that we have to eat what ever is left there.
There were other 3 Star hotels with much better view.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Sarazena is conveniently located right near the train station. Schelepping our suitcases was not a problem at all and honestly less than 3 minute walk! I was a little concerned with the construction around the hotel as we arrived-- it has not been a problem at all.
Our first morning we looked out and clear skies and THERE WAS THE MATTERHORN! Definitely ask for a room with a view and on the upper floor! Our room is modest and very clean & comfortable. Everything is expensive, in general, in Switzerland; I'd consider Hotel Sarazena fairly priced. We slept with the windows open-- no street noise!
Front desk is pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is the European meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt...and coffee or tea. Nice way to start the day.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AHACharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Sarazena is a very good value for Zermatt and it is in a good location. I wasn't disappointed to stay here again. I am a little concerned about all the construction going on in Zermatt, but the Sarazena is still in a very good location and the rooms and bathrooms are some of the best I have ever experienced. Breakfast is still great, but I'd like to see soft or hard boiled eggs, please.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
Hotel Alphubel Zermatt
#86 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof & Residence
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pollux
Hotel Pollux
#55 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sarazena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarazena

Property: Hotel Sarazena
Address: Bahnhofplatz 14, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sarazena 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sarazena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing