We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and quiet”
Review of Welcome B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welcome B&B
Ranked #7 of 32 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Nice B&B in a quiet area of Zermatt.

The owner gave us a bigger and nicer room for the same price.
Our stay was pleasant, the room comfortable and the breakfast excellent.
Overall we were very pleased. The B&B is only 10-15 minutes from the train station (a short walk).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Myself and my wife stayed in the Welcome B and B in Zermatt in late August this year (2011) and in general we really enjoyed it. We had booked the Harmony room in the hotel because we felt it offered the best compromise between price and features. In hindsight it may have been better to go for the more expensive suite, which has a balcony with a great view of the Matterhorn and I believe access to a kitchen (although you would need to check this.) The Harmony Room does not have a balcony or a Matterhorn view and the bed was hard for my taste...pretty typical in Europe, I'm afraid. However it was modern, spotlessly clean, easily large enough for two people with two large cases of luggage and had a lovely big bathroom with an extremely powerful shower. Also, the location of the B and B is very good. Apart from the electric taxis, Zermatt is car-free which makes it much quieter than a normal town at night, which is great, but I would imagine that the noisy rushing water of the river that runs through the town would be a problem for the hotels near it. The Welcome is far enough from this that its not a problem, and I was able to sleep with the window open all night without hearing anything or having my sleep disturbed in any way. This is a quality to be cherished.

Something to be aware of is that there is not a manned reception desk. We did arrive quite late – 10.30 PM - and the door was locked when we got there, but I had the number of the proprietor (Mr Summermater) and he was able to buzz me in when we phoned him. It's a good idea to phone in advance and let him know if you are going to arrive after 9.00 PM when the door is locked.

The Summermaters were very friendly. They were able to change the feather duvets and pillows for synthetic ones on request and provided a lovely breakfast every morning. In addition to the standard bread, meat and cheese combination that you usually get in Switzerland, we got boiled eggs, melon slices and grapes, which were great.

The biggest problem we experienced had nothing to do with the hotel but instead concerned the exorbitant price of eating out in Zermatt combined with the current punishing exchange rate between Swiss Francs and British Pounds. The last time we were in Switzerland a couple of years ago, you could basically divide the Swiss Franc price in 2 – hence 20 francs was 10 pounds. No longer. Now 20 francs in closer to £18.50! We would routinely have to spend 60 to 70 francs on dinner each evening, which is just crushingly, ludicrously expensive, (and these were in the cheapest restaurants we could find.) We came away from Zermatt thinking that the next time we come the only way to do it economically will be to rent an apartment that has self – catering facilities. We might have had this option if we had gone for the top price room in the Welcome, but then we would have been paying more for the room rather than the dinners, so it might work out at the same very high price anyway.

However, if you can afford the price of eating out in Zermatt, the Welcome is a comfortable place to stay and enjoy what is certainly one of the most beautiful places in the world.

Room Tip: If a Matterhorn view and access to a kitchen is important, you will need to stump up for the Well Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at the Welcome B & B in September 2011. There were 8 of us travelling so we had the Yumi apartment and a double room. The facilities are wonderful. The Yumi apartment had a deck that overlooked the Matterhorn, what a great place just to sit and take in the marvelous view. The apartment was large, clean and well equipped. In the Wellness room was a sauna, spa and steam room. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. If anyone is travelling to Zermatt I would highly recommend staying at the Welcome B & B and for Switzerland the price was very surprising.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0d_Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Short and to the point, everything was first rate, clean, large room, great location, and inexpensive for Zermatt.
This will be our place to stay at for any future trips to Zermatt.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Great stay! Zermatt is a beautiful city with easy access to 3 ski lifts all within a 10min walk from the hotel. Lots of restuarants, stores and entertainment close to the stay. The room was big enough for 3 with enough kitchen to cook comfortably. The owners were easy to communicate with and had a very helpful nature. The hotel made our trip to Zermatt even more wonderful with the gorgeous view of the Matterhorn from the balcony. The city of Zermatt is amazing and if able all should enjoy it's beauty!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMEARHART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed here for a week or so summer of 2009 and enjoyed some dayhikes around the Matterhorn. Zermatt is a small town and the hotel is centrally located and close to shops and lifts. The owners live on the first floor and are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room gets awesome views of the Matterhorn and they serve a good breakfast. The rooms are a bit smaller than what I'm used to here in the States but very clean and comfortable. They have a hot tub room which is great for relaxation in the afternoons after hikes. I'd recommend this place to anyone and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silly_traveler_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The Welcome B&B is in a quieter part of Zermatt right next to the Hotel Julen (we really enjoyed a dinner there one night). Nobody was there to check us in, but you can knock on an inside door and often get help. Our Grandlit room was very clean and Scandinavian-looking, with a good-sized bathroom (hard to move around taking a shower, though, due to the faucet placement). The bedroom was quiet but amazingly small. There was only room for our bed and one night table. There were no chairs (we asked to have one moved next to the bed so we could sit occasionally), no desk, and no room for luggage. We did save money while staying in Zermatt but had no idea the room would be so small. You can get much larger rooms than this at the Welcome B&B, but none were available for our stay. We were able to use the very large lounge on another floor (couches, with a beautiful Matterhorn view). Breakfast was good, also with a very pretty Matterhorn view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Welschen
Hotel Welschen
#1 of 32 in Zermatt
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome B&B

Address: Riedstrasse 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range: £121 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welcome B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Welcome B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Zermatt
Welcome Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing