We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous concept”

Ristorante La Dolce Vita
Ranked #139 of 199 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: US$31 - US$52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Enjoy a taste of the Mediterranean in the most breathtaking alpine region of Switzerland. Our Chefs will delight you with a choice of dishes inspired by the countries surrounding the mediterranean. To compliment the fine cuisine, an exciting range of well-known wines combined with specialities from lesser known vineyards awaits your choice. We're looking forward to your visit and wish you... .Buon Appetito
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ridiculous concept”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

A bit late with this review as we visited over New Year. I am amazed to see that this establishment is still open for business. The concept that each diner is compelled to order the same dish is preposterous, particularly at the prices requested. We paid for our aperitifs and left without eating so I cannot comment on the quality of the food (although even before we were informed of the "one dish for all" rule, we had been struggling to find anything especially appealing to choose from on the menu). In a town where the culinary options are so great, I would encourage people to vote with their feet and patronise one of the other many fine restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BistroLeKelspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    8
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great food and great wines, very reasonable prices. 3 courses cost 88.- and you get to choose from the menu what you want. ( If you take only 2 courses it's still 88.-). The Bouillabaisse was outstanding and the brasato was also delicious. As for the wines it is only about twice the store price, which is very reasonable for Switzerland. I reccommend the 2003 Avvoltore, great wine, about 75.-

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krass12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“really bad service and ridiculous rules”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

we had reservation for 2 in the evening. at the beginning we ordered a bottle of wine. in meantime we decided to take 3 dishes menu for each of us. waiter said that is impossible to have different menu...totally ridiculous. manager confirmed that even when we wanted to pay separate...she didn't even try to suggest any other options or even explain this situation. after when we decided to leave and paid for the wine the waiter said in a really rude way that we can take the bottle of wine with us and just leave. I think this situation doesn't require any further comments
we finally moved one floor up where we had really good dinner

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Bizzaro world”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

For the past 10 years, we spend about 4 weeks yearly in this superb resort. Time to give some feedback to the overall high quality restaurants in the area.
We went back to this place for the first time in 2 years. It used to be solid Italian food with great service. Now it is some Gault Millau establishment with 16 points. I went with my wife. The menu was rather non-Italian. You can choose of 3, 4, 5 course dinner BUT the entire party has to order the same!!! This might save some man power in the kitchen but for us it did not work. We paid our aperitif and left. Thought I would put this up, even it is not a real revue but should be a heads up to not waste a reservation on this place and then having to find another restaurant in high season (very hard).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ub42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but a lazy kitchen and completely overpriced.”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We came here because our desired reservation somewhere else had fallen through. Our hotel had recommended it so we thought we would give it a go.

The dining rooms are below ground in what feels like an underground swimming pool. The decor totally kitsch. I felt like I was in a tacky Cyprus taverna in Pathos.

The menu was totally confusing. It took us 5 minutes to believe that for the MINIMUM spend of 88 CHF, we would have 3 courses. However we ALL had to order the same thing. This then set off a voting procedure between the 5 of us to determine what we would have. For the price of the food this was just unacceptable in my mind.

The food was very good, but nothing out of the ordinary. The duo of soups with Langoustine was really delicious.

The bill came to over £100 per head. (120CHF). Eye watering even by Swiss standards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Dolce Vita also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Ristorante La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing