We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect apartment in perfect setting - We'll be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Balcony on Matterhorn side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony on Matterhorn side
bedroom 2 (2 x 90cm beds) main double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Balcony on Matterhorn side
bedroom 2 (2 x 90cm beds)
main double bedroom
main bathroom with shower over bath, WC and clothes washer
shower room with WC
living room
living room
living to dining area
kitchen to dining area
kitchen towards dining area
balcony on village side
Gornerwald in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denis B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in perfect setting - We'll be back!”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great small apartment with all the features, furnishings, and necessities to get by while traveling. Well stocked kitchen and plenty of seating on the wrap around patio made for a perfect visit. We stayed for 5 days and will certainly return. The owner, Ann, is terrific and communicative. She responded to many queries I had quickly and completely. Many thanks to Ann for making her place available and my wife and I look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Awesome view!
Liked least: As a fat American, the stairs. But it was good for me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you Denis for taking the time to write such a flattering review for me. I am really pleased that your wife also enjoyed Zermatt and will look forward to seeing you both in two years if all goes to plan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsuth
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable and convenient for main ski lift”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed at Gornerwald in March 2016, primarily for skiing and some hiking. The apartment is bright warm clean and very well equipped with a neat modern kitchen, large living area and two generous bedrooms. the dual aspect balcony is wonderful allowing exceptional views both up the valley to the Matterhorn and down the valley over Zermatt.
in just a few minutes you can walk to the main Klein Matterhorn lift which accesses a main ski area. There are hire maintenance and depot services there. In the evening there is the ever friendly Sparky's bar and restaurant or a few minutes further away the lively Papperla music bar.
The other lifts in town Gornergrat and Sunnega are a short pleasant walk away or you can use the frequent free bus service. There is a small convenience shop nearby though the main less expensive shopping is in the town centre.
The owner Ann is very friendly and attentive to guest needs including full information on the apartment and local amenities.
Local hikes are well signposted and though not all are open in winter it is easily possible for non skiers to hike from the apartment to meet others for lunch or apres ski, Blatten being a favourite of mine.
In all a spacious , convenient, high quality apartment with friendly management that I highly recommend.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for the comprehensive review and I'm glad you enjoyed the apartment. Look forward to seeing you again next season or in summer for some hikes and rambles, lake swimming and marmotte spotting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lestribul...
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect - a place you would like to keep secret!”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Very nice flat, 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, big living room, well equipped kitchen and huge balcony. The house is calm and well located. Nice sight on the Matterhorn. Easy walking distance from telecabin (200 meters), our 3 kids managed the walk easily with all ski gear. You are also quickly in the center of Zermatt, and it is a short walk to bakery and grocery.
Ann the owner is very helpful, and it is was great to be welcomed with flowers and wine! The apartment was clean and bright. We will come back with pleasure. Thanks Ann!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view,calm, space
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thanks for sharing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51D2015
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It is a great spacious place. The place was clean and very easy to use e.g., all the information was easily available in folders thoughtfully put by the owner. The only points (though nothing major) one may consider is that the place is 10 mins walk from central town/ station and you have to climb one floor (worry only if you have lot of baggage)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for me and for the top marks. But I am puzzled about the comment that you had to climb one floor...I wonder why you didn't use the lift!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsX133...
Queenstown
2 reviews
“Excellent apt, excellent location and very helpful and communicative owner”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Excellent apt, excellent quiet yet within 10 minute walk of central down-town location and very helpful and communicative owner.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
This is my first review for Haus Gornerwald: thank you so much for posting and I really appreciate you giving me the top score. Look forward to seeing you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing