We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Krone Sarnen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Krone Sarnen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sarnen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Nice hotel. Very good view to the sorounding. We got the balcony room so afternoon or morning can see outside and feel the fresh air. The service is very good. I got lucky the receptionis can speack Bahasa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyrijant0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Krone Sarnen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

There were only suites left, so we got one for the price of a double. Named Perseus after the constallation, beautiful ceiling with glittering lights like stars, spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi, windows looking onto the green hillside. Not a sound to be heard.
Excellent food in the evening served by a kindly and competent waiter, aboundant breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

it's a nice hotel to stay,eventhough the location is not so good but with the service and good meals they offer its really a steal bargain
Rooms from the information that I got just renovated about three years ago.
I also eating at the restaurant at the hotel and they have a very good food.with a good taste and a very good service they offer its really a recommended hotel to stay if you happen to be in sarnen

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

After yet another wonderful stay at the Hotel Krone I think it only just to let other travellers know what we think about it. Well located in the centre of a very pleasant village near Lucerne, the hotel is an ideal base from which to explore all the attractions of Central Switzerland. The station is only minutes away so we didn't need to use the car every day. Swiss trains, cog railways, ferries, etc. offer such good service, it was great to just sit and admire the scenery!

The hotel is well designed throughout with a high standard of stylish accommodation. This time our room was particularly spacious, but all the rooms we have stayed in over the years have been of a good standard. The reception staff are very professional, correct and friendly - always ready to help with advice or information. Their willingness to help in contacting our airline for missing cases, etc. was much appreciated.

The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is always a treat, and our occasional lunches and frequent dinners were beautifully presented and delicious. The standard of the food is really excellent - the chef deserves congratulations for his efforts. And the great selection of Swiss wines is always much enjoyed!

The hotel has also been a pefect stopover for us in the past en route to/from Italy since it is only a few minutes from the road to the St Gotthard Pass/Tunnel.

All in all the hotel is exremely good value for money and compares very well with much more costly places we have used in Lucerne and Interlaken. We have no hesitation in recommending it, summer or winter.

1  Thank ForeignFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
213
Reviewed 16 August 2005

Stayed for 3 nights as a family, with a 4 year old. Got the feeling that the management were definately trying hard- staff were very pleasant, room was large, clean and well equiped (though my wife really missed not having a kettle for making our own tea), and the restaurant not bad- the pizza oven works well. Breakfast was very good continental buffet. We had a south facing room with a balcony, able to see the mountains in the Bernese Oberland (when not cloudy!) It's also in the centre of Sarnen, close to the railway station (everything in Switzerland is close to a railway it seems.) Parking is plentiful and free (with a voucher from the Hotel). Good location for traveling north-south across switzerland- and convenient for the area aroud Stockalp, which is really worth seeing!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2004

Have just returned from a week touring central Switzerland and staying at the Hotel Krone in Sarnen. The hotel is well run, and my room was very good. The food was average to good (we were on a tour group so had set dinners - the a la carte option obviously looked much better). My only complaint is that the hotel is on a fairly noisy road and the traffic noise starts at 5a.m. so I would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road. The surrounding area is wonderful to explore with beautiful scenery - this part of Switzerland is lovely. Recommended places to see - Grindelwald, Interlaken, Jungfrau, Eiger, Murren, Andermatt, Glacier Express train route/ride, Lucerne and many more.

8  Thank Nooport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2003

I just came back from a week's stay there and I must say, apart from the fact that Sarnen is quite a tranquil area, the hotel was managed in an orderly way that we, a group of 50, were handled without any difficulty in all aspects. We were given a varied menu every day which was modified to suite our maltese cuisine. They even accomodated us with regards to timings to serve us the evening meals to allow us to enjoy our excursions to the full extent without the need to rush to get to the Hotel in time for the dinner. The Hotel is also easily accessible from the Railway station by walk so if one wants to travel on his own, no problem for transportation.

13  Thank Relaxandstaycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnen
1.9 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 4 in Sarnen
277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jugendstilhotel Hotel Paxmontana
1.4 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 1 in Kerns
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Giswil
Hotel Krone Giswil
#3 of 4 in Giswil
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kreuz Sachseln Hotel Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
Hotel Bahnhof Giswil
#1 of 4 in Giswil
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Sarnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Sarnen

Address: Bruenigstrasse 130 | 6060 Sarnen, Sarnen 6060, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Sarnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sarnen
Price Range: £174 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Sarnen 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern hotel is situated 200 meters from the historic town square. New bathrooms and renovated rooms and junior suites make you feel good. Guests can relax in the wellness area with various attractions and a splendid view of the picturesque Landenberg. The gastronomy offers exciting contrasts between rustic and urban. Besides fresh, regional and seasonal delicacies a wide selection of fine Swiss wines and fruit brandies are offered. The terrace of the Hotel Krone is one of the most popular places of Sarnen and has become the meeting place for locals and guests. Free WiFi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krone Sarnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing