We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good second time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Chat Noir

Au Chat Noir
Ranked #41 of 672 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$120
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just as good second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

After enjoying a delicious meal on our first visit we returned with guests. The menu had completely changed from our first visit but had as many interesting choices. We were a party of four and all ordered something different. We were all pleased with our choices. Appreciated that our server patiently went over the menu in English and also when we wanted to share entrees she was most accommodating. I liked the upscale casual atmosphere and felt the prices were justified by the quality of food. Look forward to going back and choosing from another new menu.The restaurant is closed Saturday and we were glad we had reservations on a Monday night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    76
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful, gastronomical experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

First, reservations are highly recommended! We were a party of four on a Monday evening at 6 without them and they managed to accommodate us with a little extra effort which we appreciated immensely. And were we ever fortunate! Like someone else mentioned, it is French culinary experience in a Swiss local. One could play it safe with say an entrecote (steak) au poirve or get 'fancy' with pidgeon - regardless of your pleasure, you will enjoy the approach to the cuisine. Great wine list (be sure to choose a Swiss wine, I'm inclined to choose French but the Swiss selections were far better than I imagined) - from the starters to the dessert, just a uniquely pleasing journey. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I live in Lausanne and this is my Favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

In a casual but elegant setting this little restaurant tucked in a corner in the east part of the city is truly a gem. Their menu is limited but changes with the seasons so you can be guaranteed the best quality and enough variety to suite any taste. My husband and I go here often and take friends when they visit. It's a bit expensive, but considering some of the prices you pay in town for meals of equal or less quality I think it's worth the price. Also, only open during the week, not Saturday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea0882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Swiss slice of Parisian style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Having simply walked in and got a table for one, I quickly realised this was a stroke of good luck as many others were turned away without a reservation. Both food and service were very good indeed. The food is a bit more elaborate than a classic bistro, with local produce including very fresh fish and white wine. Whilst not exactly a bargain, the dishes of the day seem to be good value by Swiss standards. I'd happily eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Positive surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This must be one of the best value meals I've had in a long time. Great oysters, superb oxtail caserolle, nice wine and welcoming atmosphere. Not for the bankers maybe, but for the rest: perfect!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Espen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Chat Noir also viewed

 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Au Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing