We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Voyageur544
Bracknell, United Kingdom

Hotel or hospital - worth trying!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Aug 2023via mobile
An interesting arrangement: the hotel provides some regular hotel floors, but also a maternity floor and some other medical services. I believe that some guests receive medical support rather than remaining in hospital (just down the road). We stayed as regular guests. The rooms were large, ultra clean, modern and newly decorated. They didn’t feel like a hospital! I had a view over Lake Geneva. Underground secure car parking is available. Good price compared to many hotels in Geneva area (albeit Lausanne is about 45 mins drive away from Geneva). Breakfast was very good - good range and friendly staff. Large breakfast room with some table areas overlooking the lake through large windows. Would I recommend? Yes! And it is ‘different’ with the hospital twist.
ADVICE: in case you don’t know, Switzerland doesn’t use the same travel adapter as the rest of Europe. This hotel lent me one and then a bought my own from the rest of my trip in the Coop in Lausanne.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Buy a Europe - Switzerland travel adapter if using any electric devices from outside of Switzerland
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£114
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    £98
  • Expedia.com
    £115
1.1 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Exterior view
£104
  • ibis
    £115
  • Expedia.com
    £116
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Room service
£150
  • Hotels.com
    £151
  • Expedia.com
    £151
  • Tripadvisor
    £151
0.8 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£141
  • Movenpick
    £141
  • travelup.com
    £128
  • Expedia.com
    £141
1.6 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • StayForLong
    £89
  • B&B Hotels
    £105
3.5 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£378
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
    £323
  • Expedia.com
    £336
1.3 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £336
  • Agoda.com
    £231
  • Hotels.com
    £273
1.6 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Pool
Vista dalla camera
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £143
0.9 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £153
  • Agoda.com
    £123
  • Hotels.com
    £154
3.7 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • ibis Budget
    £90
4.1 miles from Hotel des Patients
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
59
41
11
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
41
11
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel staff short stay recommend this hotel newborn metro stops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2023 via mobile

The concept behind this hotel is superb, enabling friends and families to be close to loved ones in the hospital. Opening it up to others is simply excellent. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely helpful and informative. The room was very clean and airy and well appointed. It’s true there was no air conditioning, but we didn’t find this to be a problem at all, despite the 30degree heat during the day. We just had to ventilate the room sensibly. The breakfast was excellent and we even tried the restaurant for an evening meal one night - this was also to a very good standard. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel in the future.

Room tip: Swiss electrics are different to European. We needed different adaptors to use our plugs.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023

It was a special occasion stay for my mum and I emailed the hotel asking for a higher floor . I was not given a higher floor room but given a nice corner room on the 2nd floor.
The room was spacious and clean; the bathroom is large and comfortable !
Breakfast was lovely and staff in the restaurant and breakfast are exceptional !
The hotel is located near the tube station so great location.
There is a few young men on the reception who are particular friendly but this hotel would be even better if all their reception staff was the same warm and welcoming.
As an example, I was unable to find a hair drier in the morning rushing off to work , so I called the reception - what I got in response from a you d woman ? We don’t have any spare hair driers so you have to be without one. Luckily , there was a nice French man on the reception who felt sorry for me and found a hair drier.
So definitely , would give 5* if reception staff a bit friendlier and look after the guests better.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElenaBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2023

So, be prepared this hotel has no AC. 😬😬😬. Rooms are clean, big, and very modern. The funny part is it is located next to a maternity hospital so the women give birth and then they leave the hospital and come to the hotel restaurant and bring their baby in a basket put it on the table and drink wine. An interesting sight to see .😬😬. Front staff was very nice. Restaurant staff not so much. You can tell they don’t like foreigners.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lavinia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2022

Excellent while having a meeting in the nearby CHUV. Everything functions, it was (very) clean, but rather basic including the breakfast. Quite friendly staff. And, yes, Swiss efficiency, even with the French touch...

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

A perfectly fine hotel with a hotel staff that spoke English well. We had a good stay and for the price it was amazing with the metro really close. The stay even included a public travel pass for going to and from the downtown city.
The hotel is a bit special in that it actually is a patient hotel with people staying with newborns and people being in the hospital. So we were s bit in doubt of how that worked and if we even welcome. But we stayed there for 2 nights and had a great time the vibe is just a bit odd and we felt out of place.
The breakfast included gluten-free options and was great.

The hotel has a fine restaurant that was adequate and at a good price. The restaurant staff didn't speak much English so with a bit of help and Google translate it went fine and with a little knowledge of French it will go fine.
Was a bit weird that even when they knew we mostly spoke English and German then those waiters didn't serve us but only the once that knew other languages.

We had an amazing stay in Lausanne but felt a bit out of place.

Room tip: Hotel tax and parking needs to be paid for Hotel is mostly a patient hotel but also a regular hotel.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravelMibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews