We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

De La Paix is decent hotel in Lausanne, no surprises on either end. Is is located uphill from the railway station. If you are a tourist and aim for the downtown area, then it is a prime location. Pretty far from the lake, which I prefer, but this is only a personal preference, no objective point for or against.
The hotel has valet parking, which is great, since is Lausanne it is hard to figure out parking by yourself.
The hotel went through renovation recently, which has significantly improved the experience. If you can afford try to look for a bigger room on the 6th floor with a view towards the lake and the mountain. I think they are a bit more expensive, but it worth it, specially if you are travelling with a family. Rooms are larger and nicer. Bathrooms are nice, and clean. On the top floors you have both a shower and a bath.
Breakfast is OK, you have more or less everything you need. Do not expect anything spectacular here. I personally miss the eggs prepared on the spot.
Wifi is free (however, for me it was not working for a couple of times, and there is no IT help at reception). You have cable as a back-up, although you have to pay for it.
All in all it is decent hotel without surprises. You get what you have paid for.

Room Tip: Top floor looking at the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szmikedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

We spent one night here indecember and enjoyed our stay very much. Had a nice room with lakeview. The hotel has been refurbished recently and this was well done. Breakfast was included in our weekend-deal and we enjoyed it al lot. Very friendly service. Good location near Place St. François in the uptown center of Lausanne. The views can be spectacular.
If i had stayed longer i probably would have asked for firmer pillows but this is the only thing I found less likable.

Room Tip: Call to make sure you get a room with a view. Check out the special offers on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarnett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were looking for pleasant hotel in the city center and decided to try this one. At first, I wanted to book via one of the internet agencies. The rates were all around the same but could not get serious guarantee that we would obtain a nice room with a view on the lake. So, I decided to call the hotel directly and reserved by phone. The price quoted was about 70 Swiss francs higher that the internet rates, but when we arrived we were immediatly upgraded to a very large room on the top floor with a magnificient balcony overlooking all of Lausanne. The room was exquisitly luxurious. Well worth the small price difference. The only unpleasant experience was when the maid knoked at the door and woke us up at 8:30 am on a Saturday morning! We had forgotten to place the sign "Do not disturb" on the door knob. The had a very delicate dinner at the hotel restaurant. All in all a very good address.

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor. We had room # 607
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gab1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed for one night in this majestic hotel overlooking Lake Geneva.

Rather expensive but in line with Switzerland's cost of living.

Located in the center of Lausanne's "upper city", near its landmarks
and within walking dsisatnce of good restaurants and cafés.

Impeccable service and cleanliness.

Fabulous breakfast !

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony overlooking Lake Geneva, the view is magnificent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdysseusSanFelice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Three of us, a couple and our sixteen year old son, stayed at the Hotel de la Paix in August, 2011. We really felt at home-in fact, we extended our stay from two nights to three.
We had booked a triple room, but when we arrived, the hotel had upgraded us to a suite. They also gave us free parking and free transit passes for the length of our stay.
And what a suite-lots of room, elegant and a great view of Lac Leman (Lake Geneva) and the Alps and Evian, France across the lake. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The location is very central, yet quiet. The Cathedral is a ten-minute walk away, there are plenty of restaurants and lots of shopping around, yet access to the Autobahn is only a ten- to fifteen-minute drive.
Service is excellent. The front staff attended quickly to our every request.
Breakfast was very good, and the wait staff was quick with coffee refills.
This hotel is grand, but a much better value than other "grand" hotels nearby that charge much higher prices. It also has a history, having hosted James Joyce and Scott Fitzgerald among other writers, singers, actors, politicians and more.

If you want a grand Lake Geneva experience, you can't do better than the Hotel de la Paix.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The Hotel De La Paix is an excellent hotel, with great rooms (some looking out over Lake Geneva). It’s an expensive place to stay but well worth it. The food in the main restaurant is excellent too. The car parking (payable) is opposite the hotel in a secure underground lot.
I’d recommend you ask for a room facing the lake with a balcony. Nice to have breakfast on your own private balcony looking out over the lake. Heavenly!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

very nice hotel, excellent location,nice room with a great lake view .... the only thing I was surprised about was that they did not have niether bathrobe nor slippers in the room...they should definitaly offer it for the price they charge....everything else was ok....would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#4 of 46 in Lausanne
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Address: avenue Benjamin-Constant 5 Av, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £125 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Downtown Hotel in impressive seven-story, old-world building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Lausanne
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing