We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, good price”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, good price”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were in Lausanne for a few days and chose this hotel on the reviews in tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We were very lucky, judging from some reports, in that we were given a splendid room with a view of the lake even though we paid bottom dollar. The service was friendly and efficient and the breakfast excellent. The only quibble I would have is that on the hotel's own website it is described as " à quelques pas de la gare de Lausanne" (situated a few steps from Lausanne Station). That is really just not true. It is 800 metres from the station at least and up a serious gradient. All round, however, a very good choice and worth a visit if in Lausanne. All hotels there provide visitors with a travel pass for local public transport which allows free travel over a reasonable area including the delightful Ouchy district at the lakeside which evokes memories of the famed Croisette in Cannes. That is reached in minutes by Metro - free of course.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheriffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    150
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
94
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed there three days on business, a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is comfortable and the staff is as expected (professionally polite and eager). Average luxury level, lacks personality though, and is way too expensive for what it is (€240 for a standard room, company rate).
Yellow card for not offering a shuttle service to/from the train station (main arrival point, no airport in Lausanne), especially considering that "short" ten minute walk, as seen on the map, is steep uphill!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos_G3488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had planned a backpacking trip in switzerland and this was our only stay where we had to carry our backpacks for a good 30 minutes uphill ...phew !

Location : As i mentioned this is not close to the station , though centrally located from shopping district ,lake and museum. being perched on a hilltop , the views are fantastic.

food: The breakfast buffet was one of the finest we have had .

service : As usual the front staff was not very friendly but highly efficient and professional.

rooms : we were not lucky with this . our room had no view though there are other rooms in the hotel facing the lake. the decor is very english and classy.

overall the hotel is a nice stay though a little expensive.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank binals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confignon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel has a perfect location in Lausanne, perched on the top of the hill with a view of Lac Leman and the Alps. Some rooms, however, are at the back with a view only of an alleyway. The rooms facing the lake are worth asking for, even if some of them are small and feel a little dated. A single room here means a single bed with a single pillow. Staff are friendly, and the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the4newmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Old elegant hotel with all the modern amenities. Not directly walkable from Lausanne train station if you carry luggage (25-30 mins uphill). Need taxi to get to center or waterfront. Beautiful view of mountains from breakfast restaurant. The highest quality food items on the breakfast buffet. They have everything at breakfast you would expect in bread, juice, cereals and hot items - just a better quality than most other places - even other 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Rooms are very nice and spacious with a step out balcony. But you pay dearly for it too. Front staff is not very welcoming and friendly but efficient and professional as you would expect in Switzerland. Hotel is within walking distance of shopping street and Coop supermarket.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing street as view from balcony will be much better even if not directly facing moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyride007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The view over Lac Leman from the hotel is the first thing that struck me when I arrived at the hotel - you are looking out over a grand vista of mountains, water, and the city that seems to stretch forever into the distance. The city has glorious small parks and there is one right across the street, where you can sit and enjoy the view further, and you can enjoy the view as well from the hotel's restaurant and meeting rooms.
This hotel has been family-owned for several generations and the staff seem to take great pride in their work and their service to their guests and in making guests feel welcome. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and mine had a small balcony that overlooked the street below.
The breakfast buffet offers good variety and excellent coffee.
Free wifi is available, and the hotel provided a universal adaptor so I could plug in my laptop - Swiss plugs are different from any others I have seen and I didn't have an adaptor that worked.
As well as the hotel facilities, there are great cafes and restaurants nearby. The Etoile Blanche, just around the corner, is a lively and friendly spot with a variety of food and drinks on offer.
Getting to the hotel from the Lausanne train station takes some local knowledge, however. You need to go across the street from the train station to the Metro, and go three stops on the Ouchy line to Bessieres - much less expensive than a taxi.
The hotel provided a free pass that would have allowed me to explore Lausanne via public transit, if I had had the time to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outsider222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very convenient location, with great view of the Lake, room was impeccable, no problems with the heating as reported in prior reviews, modern furniture on the minimalist side, spacious bathroom, great shower. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend it as an alternative to the more expensive hotels closer to the lake. I would prefer this one to the Mövenpick Hotel on the lake shore.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cappuccino-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: avenue Benjamin-Constant 5 Av, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Downtown Hotel in impressive seven-story, old-world building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Lausanne
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing