We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay in center of Lausanne”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to stay in center of Lausanne”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It is a very good hotel in the center of Lausanne, I stayed very short and the weather condition didn't allow to enjoy in panoramic view described by other reviewers. However, the hotel suited all of my needs: central city location with fast access to all points of my interest, good Internet access (included in the cost of room), clean, nicely decorated, etc. I am jealous of all reviewers who described spacious rooms, as it seems to be a case for double rooms. I took a single room which was very modest (but with a small balcony), actually I didn't need more for such short staying. The bathroom is also small. The breakfast is included in the room price, what is a such pleasant surprise, because in most Swiss hotels you will pay over 30 CHF for a very simple breakfast. The room cost is very convinient for such hotel in Switzerland. Other reviewers have already wrote that it's close to the train station but not so close to walk, basically you can take tram No 1 (3 stations) or metro (2 stations) to avoid steep streets. The staff is very kind, they even printed out my boarding pass without any cost for the service. There are excellent shops near the hotel and there is so much to visit in Lausanne or you can perform dayly excursions to other Swiss cities or even in France and Italy. If you are there just a simple visitor and don't look for spa treatments, this hotel is the best place to stay in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    150
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
94
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 for a few days. Our room was so spacious with panoramic views. The rooms were of art deco style with high ceilings and great big windows many of which opened out onto a balcony. The bathroom was long with separate bath and shower facility. The flat screen TV had numberous channels in many languages so we didn't struggle to find something to watch in our language. The bar behind reception was small but cosy and served both drinks and food. The breakfast was small but adequate and mainly consisted of cold foods as only 4 hot choices. No leisure facilities in the hotel.
The hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants from top end retailers like Louis Vuitton to lower end like McDonalds fast food resturant. The hotel provides a pass free of charge to use the Trams and buses which is needed as the hotel is based on a hill. Lake Geneva and the train station to get to Geneva itself is within walking distance although easy when going down hill and not recommended when trying to come back up so use the free pass.

Room Tip: Ask for a high corner room to experience the great panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Hotel with great location, friendly staff and wonderful beds. Although facing a quite busy street the windows are soundproof. It's nice and quite. I like everything about it. I highly recommend it and go there myself every time I'm in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1956189894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here last weekend, the hotel is situated in the old town, high up on the hill in Lausanne (a couple of streets above the train station (get a cab rather than lug your case around - even if you got the metro it is still a 5 minute walk and cab would only be 5 minutes at most to get you to the front door).

You are surrounded by luxury shops and swanky restaurants, close to the cathedral and a wide choice of metro shops to take you down to the river front at Ouchy (and absolute must visit!)

Hotel itself is very grand on the roadside and overlooks a gardens and the river, staff are very friendly and the reception hall is open and impressive. The rooms are huge with comfy beds; fantastic powerful rain showers and a widescreen TV. Our room even had a balcony for sitting on to overlook the lake.

A couple of negative points; firstly, despite the shower being brilliant the bathroom was a bit dated, nothing you couldn't live with but I have seen better at this price point. Also be careful, whilst the breakfast is nice the choice is quite limited!

Anyway, make sure you get a good deal, especially at the weekends when the town is quieter, we managed to get a room for £115 a night (for 2 people with breakfast) in a late reduced deal on booking.com

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6stringhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed three nights at Hotel de la Paix in Lausanne. Everything was exquisite!! We got a room on the 6th floor facing Lac Leman (upgrade!) It was beautiful... and the bed was sooo comfortable. Gorgeous bathroom... Large balcony with table and 2 chairs; bring your baguette, cheese and wine! Well worth asking for those rooms. The breakfast was very good; it was included in the room price. I would suggest to take a taxi from the train station, and then you have a free pass for the buses to go downtown. We actually walked down and took a bus to come back.

Listen to this... When we left, we forgot our Ipad in our room, and the hotel contacted us by email right away. By then, we were back in Canada. They offered to send it by special courier and they made us feel it was not a problem at all. The staff was very friendly and went beyond our expectations. We would gladly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: - Ask for room facing the lake on upper floor: gorgeous view of Alps, and France on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed for 5 nights on business. The hotel is located in the old part of the city, one metro station from the main station. I got the room with a big terrace and a wonderful view of the lake. Hotel stuff is very polite, friendly and professional. Breakfast is tasty (buffet form), with a nice choice of food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were in Lausanne for a few days and chose this hotel on the reviews in tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. We were very lucky, judging from some reports, in that we were given a splendid room with a view of the lake even though we paid bottom dollar. The service was friendly and efficient and the breakfast excellent. The only quibble I would have is that on the hotel's own website it is described as " à quelques pas de la gare de Lausanne" (situated a few steps from Lausanne Station). That is really just not true. It is 800 metres from the station at least and up a serious gradient. All round, however, a very good choice and worth a visit if in Lausanne. All hotels there provide visitors with a travel pass for local public transport which allows free travel over a reasonable area including the delightful Ouchy district at the lakeside which evokes memories of the famed Croisette in Cannes. That is reached in minutes by Metro - free of course.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheriffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#14 of 46 in Lausanne
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: avenue Benjamin-Constant 5 Av, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Downtown Hotel in impressive seven-story, old-world building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Lausanne
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing