We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice 4 stars hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice 4 stars hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

What is great about this hotel is that it is located in the city center so it is minutes away from basically anywhere you need to go.
Hotel with elegant interiors considering it is a 4 stars hotel. It´s facilities and rooms are spacious! Rooms were being renovated while we were there :)
The room we stayed in was very spacious, nicely decorated, soft linen and a nice spacious bathroom as well. Complimentary water bottles are offered in the first day (free of charge). I love when they think of that! Free Wi-fi available, a huge plus, this is! Staff very nice, helpful and polite.
Exiting the hotel to your left there´s a passage in between buildings that will lead you in 2 minutes to various restaurants, boutiques like Louis Vuitton, Hèrmes, Lacoste and various other shops you can think of!
Upon our arrival the hotel gave us free access cards to public transportation, buses and subway, I thought that was very thoughtful!
Summing up: Great location, nice room, friendly and helpful staff, fair price!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    145
    43
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
88
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a nice hotel located at the edge of the old town center of Lausanne. Both the public areas and the rooms were clean and well appointed. It appears that they are in the midst of rennovating the rooms and ours was one which had been recently completed. It was clean, spacious, and with a nice view looking over the city and the lake. We enjoyed the friendly welcome at reception, the complimentary bottles of water, the free WiFi, and the not so free but very convenient valet parking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I feel mean only giving this 4 star hotel an average rating but it is difficult to assess. It is lovely inside and the staff were great but it didn't really have any atmosphere, very hard to describe. We had a very good deal on the price but no breakfast and extra for parking. The location was great and the room was large and very clean. There were some small decoration improvements being made in the corridor and the courtyard view was not really a courtyard but the back of other apartment blocks. Having said all that it was fine for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxemburg, Luxemburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed 5 days in this Hotel.Staff very friendly and decent breakfast in the morning.
Parking is to be paid 28 swissfrancs extra but you have a valet parking it and bringing it on demand.
All in all ,a pleasant stay and i would come back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O-Trapshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamas, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel with an organized group for Christmas.the hotel is located in a good area in the city centre with a really nice view. The rooms are quite big and we really liked as well the bathroom. This that was really disappointed for this type of hotel was the breakfast.all the groups were send to the first floor in a meeting room that they had changed it to a breakfast area.only the typical bread ham cheese and few marmalades no fresh juice no fruits etc. it didn't worth it at all. As well during our arrival with the suitcases I didn't see any bell boy for assistance. If I was going to come back I would think to return here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank antigonikoliaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
201 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed two nights in this very central, yet quiet hotel in Lausanne, right in the old town. Fantastic base to visit the city of Lausanne as it is just a few steps from many shops, restaurants, public transportation, etc. Had a nice size room overlooking the lake. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for business for 5 nights in Nov. The hotel seemed OK, it was pretty clean, but I'd expect much more than this for a 4 star hotel.

Pros:
- location
- quiet (rooms facing the courtyard)

Cons:
- price, but it seems to be a norm in Switzerland
- room service - DO NOT order any food, I made a mistake twice. Once it was an over 30 euros omlette with veggies that turned out to be carrots & peas???? and second time it was supposed to be fish that arrived accompanied by some cold French fries swimming in oil, it was inedible
- a continental breakfast is included, but if you're vegetarian/vegan/eating healthy you may be disappointed...
- most rooms will not have queen beds with one large mattress, but two combined, which is very uncomfy if you're traveling as a couple (unless you don't like sleeping together)
- no large sheets, well yeah again for couples, some people actually like to share the sheets
- no reasonable fitness center or a pool

Overall, if I visit Lausanne again, I'd rather find smaller/boutique hotel with more atmosphere, but Hotel de la Paix still remains an option if needed as long as one avoids their room service....

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, choose the front street rooms, but if you prefer it quiet ask for a courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: avenue Benjamin- Constant 5 Av, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Downtown Hotel in impressive seven-story, old-world building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Lausanne
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing