We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, gorgeous rooms, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing views, gorgeous rooms, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay here, worth every penny. We were upgraded to a junior suite. The balconies were small but the views were breathtaking with the Alps and the lake. Bathroom had a great tub and nice amenities. Staff was a real high point - very friendly and helpful with luggage storage and calling for a cab.

Two quirky discoveries: you had to insert your room key in a box on the wall for the lights to go on, and while we did indeed have the room with two beds we requested, the beds were side-by-side with no gap.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake. Then head down across the street to the Coop for a bottle of wine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    145
    43
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
88
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have spent 2 nights in hotel de la Paix in Lausanne.
This hotel is well located in the heart of the city. Close to the railway station,metro and shopping centers. In few minutes you are down in Ouchy, thanks to the metro, or you walk to Saint Francois square or stroll to the Cathedral
View from the bedroom is spectacular and encompass the entire Lake Leman ,facing Evian in France.
Room ( 5th floor) is rather small but well equipped with good double bed, nice bathroom with italian shower, air conditioned
Wifi is free access.
Breakfeast is very good
Your car is parked by the doorman for 28 SF a day.
We know different hotels in Lausanne and La Paix is recommended with a good ratio quality/price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
249 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed 3 days for a business trip in Hotel de la Paix and it perfectly suited my business needs.

Situated in the center of the city, it is conveniently placed to some good restaurants and pubs. It has also a mesmerizing view to the lake and the Alps ! Especially if you are on 5th floor.The services are extremely professional and everything was flawless from purchasing a taxi for me at the right moment, to perfectly cleaning my room every day.Excellent free wi-fi conenction, which allowed me to work from my room when necessary.

The rooms are with a classic design, the bathrooms perfectly clean. The only thing not to my taste were the pillows which were too soft for me, but I assume that is a question of personal taste.

Needless to say, it is an expensive one, but all excellent hotels in Lausanne are pricey.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor with view to the lake are splendid !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maksim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheseaux-sur-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Excellent accommodation in a good location for shopping but quite a long way from the lake unless you take the car or bus but traffic really heavy.
Staff at hotel were lovely and helpful. However our room was hot and, with the window open, very noisy especially as there were several large groups of tourists in adjacent rooms who were banging doors around and talking very loudly until the early hours. The rooms are lovely but not particularly well sound proofed. Probably the worst nights sleep we have had in a long time. Not the fault of the hotel.
The service was not great in restaurant as several things on the menu were not available. The part of restaurant that was open resembled a cafe rather than a 4* hotel restaurant. We struggled to get into a restaurant close to the hotel and spent over half an hour finding somewhere to eat.
Would recommend for a shopping trip but not for sight seeing, go nearer to the lake.

Room Tip: Lake view room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice 4 stars hotel, well located in the heart of the city, comfortable rooms, nice view, large bathroom, nice and professional staff.
I stayed only 1 night, but from the check-in I found the staff quite friendly and helpful.
Maybe they can increase the quality of the breakfast.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, view on the Geneva's lake is very nice (even from lower floors). Well soundproofed rooms (street right under), the balcony is very appreciated.
This hotel can be used for both business or leisure purpose.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleXTrip009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrymcj
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hotel de la Paix is a wonderful hotel in the heart of Lausanne. The rooms have a fantastic view of the Alps and it's location makes it just a few steps away from Old Town.
It also includes a delicious breakfast with your stay.

Room Tip: This is one of the nicest hotels in Lausanne and therefore on the expensive side. Make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrymcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

What is great about this hotel is that it is located in the city center so it is minutes away from basically anywhere you need to go.
Hotel with elegant interiors considering it is a 4 stars hotel. It´s facilities and rooms are spacious! Rooms were being renovated while we were there :)
The room we stayed in was very spacious, nicely decorated, soft linen and a nice spacious bathroom as well. Complimentary water bottles are offered in the first day (free of charge). I love when they think of that! Free Wi-fi available, a huge plus, this is! Staff very nice, helpful and polite.
Exiting the hotel to your left there´s a passage in between buildings that will lead you in 2 minutes to various restaurants, boutiques like Louis Vuitton, Hèrmes, Lacoste and various other shops you can think of!
Upon our arrival the hotel gave us free access cards to public transportation, buses and subway, I thought that was very thoughtful!
Summing up: Great location, nice room, friendly and helpful staff, fair price!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: avenue Benjamin- Constant 5 Av, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Downtown Hotel in impressive seven-story, old-world building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Lausanne
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing