We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
short4cj
Oakland, Michigan

Perfect location with a fabulous view!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Aug 2023
There were so many hotels to choose from in the area, we made the best choice with Hotel De la Paix!

The location was perfect to walk around the area which has shopping, restaurants, cafes and historical sites. It is also a close walk to the Metro, Switzerlands only subway, which was great to take to and from the lake. Note- Lausanne area is very hilly, so have comfy shoes!

All of the staff we encountered during our week's stay were very courteous and helpful.

Our room had a view of Lake Geneva- highly recommend as it is beautiful. We had a king size bed, two chairs, small table, desk, etc. Roomy enough for two adults. The bathroom was spacious, with good amount of counter space (especially compared to other European hotels), and good size walk in shower.

Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Lake Geneva
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £117
  • Agoda.com
    £115
  • Expedia.com
    £134
0.5 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
£198
  • Expedia.com
    £198
  • Trip.com
    £177
  • Hotels.com
    £198
0.2 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£141
  • Movenpick
    £141
  • travelup.com
    £126
  • Expedia.com
    £140
1.0 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£124
  • ibis
    £124
  • StayForLong
    £120
  • Priceline
    £124
0.6 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Room service
£154
  • Expedia.com
    £153
  • Agoda.com
    £115
  • Priceline
3.3 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • B&B Hotels
    £104
3.6 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£97
  • ibis Budget
    £97
  • Priceline
    £102
  • Expedia.com
    £97
4.1 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
£304
  • Priceline
    £271
  • Hotels.com
    £254
  • Expedia.com
    £267
0.7 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Pool
£327
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £264
  • Agoda.com
    £220
  • Hotels.com
    £264
0.9 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Pool
£335
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £334
  • ZenHotels.com
    £327
  • Hotels.com
    £334
0.9 miles from Hôtel de la Paix Lausanne
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Lausanne
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
169
217
68
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
169
217
68
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station lake geneva very nice hotel great view of the lake corner room breakfast is served french alps beautiful city convenient location switzerland cathedral hill lakeside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2023 via mobile

I requested & was allocated a top floor single room with bath & lake view. This despite being told at check-in that room 514 did NOT have a bath! I’d booked & prepaid for room only. Was shocked to learn at check-in that breakfast is 25CHF!! More of that anon.
514 is just the kind of room I like in a hotel. Sensible without any nonsensical deviations. Kettle & mini fridge. Fabulous view & vg sound insulation, necessary as the hotel is on a busy road. Several British TV channels, including ITV4 for Tour de France coverage! My only criticism of the room is the pillows which were dreadful … no resistance whatsoever!
Back to the breakfast. For 25CHF I was expecting the scrambled eggs to be seasoned with truffles & decorated with gold leaf! A decent spread, but the buffet layout is poor, both as regards guest access & the products. As a person who has food allergies, I was very unimpressed that sesame-covered bread / rolls were in close proximity / mixed in with un-seeded products. Also the huge dining room windows were wide open to the fumes of passing traffic & smokers. And for that price, the OJ should’ve been freshly-squeezed.
Location: approx. 5 mins. from Bessières metro stn. (uphill from the hotel) or a 10-15 min. flat walk from Lausanne Flon metro stn. In both cases, a lift transports passengers up to street level. Nearby bus #1 also serves Lausanne’s main train stn. Free local transport & attraction discounts are included with the Transport Card issued by the hotel.
Be aware that this hotel is dog-friendly.
Overall, I very much enjoyed my time at the hotel & would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Lexi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2023 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. Well spaced clean room with fridge and comfortable bed. The breakfast has a good selection and great quality. Only complaint is under cooked scrambled eggs which seemed the norm in Switzerland.
Walking distance to several historical sights, upscale high end shopping, a Co-Op grocery store, local buses and the metro.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seeitalldoitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2022

Again, the name is wrong in the reviews- it is de not del. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. Breakfast was a standard buffet but they had everything. The location is perfect - 5 minutes to the cathedral and the local COOP supermarket. Views of the lake are breathtaking from anywhere in the hotel. It's a hilly city so walking is easy except for the incline but it's good exercise. The hotel offered free metro pass service. A 5 minute drive from the train station. Overall, a very nice place to stay. If I were to return to Lausanne, I would surely stay here.

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of a tour group. The hotel staff was very accommodating, professional, and helpful. Check in was an easy process, and we were allowed to check our bags while we checked out the area, as we had arrived early in the day. Our room was extremely clean, with toiletries available. The rooms with a veranda are truly lovely to overlook the lake or people watch if you have a veranda that overlooks the town (our corner room was wonderful with both). There were several elevators available for us, so there was rarely a wait time. We also visited the bar in the evening, and were provided with a nice wine and beer selection. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MnTLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2022

First of all, when searching to do my review the hotel is actually called De la Paix. So I'm not sure why it is listed here as "Del" causing me to have a hard time locating the hotel on Trip Advisor. This is a very large and fancy hotel. It has a nice restaurant attached. The rooms are very roomy and if your room is on the lake side and high enough up, you will have a great view of the lake and the French alps. Beware that they inform you of the time breakfast is served (in the restaurant) and it sounds like the breakfast is included with your hotel stay. It is not. It cost us $25 per person. It's a nice walk to the town's metro which you can take down to the lake and the Ouchy neighborhood. The town is 'on a hill'. This hotel is midway up that hill from the lake, so it would be quiet a walk down to the lake; but is close to good shopping and the main part of downtown Lausanne.

Room tip: Rooms on higher floors offer views of the lake and mountains.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Service
Thank ReddingNorCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews