We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellence in service”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Top performance in catering for my 18yo son who has Coeliac's disease and must eat gluten-free. Clearly have done their research and provided a first rate, fine dining experience.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    525
    179
    46
    25
See reviews for
157
252
61
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

just returned from Lausanne after a long weekend attending to attend a friends wedding . The hotel was clean , quite and the exceptionally well placed to explore the lake side , and with a Metro startion a 2 min walk away you can be up in the city center within 5 mins .
Staff where polite and very efficent and the breakfast although quite expensive was of a high quality with loads of choice . If your staying and more than 2 nights it is well worth paying the extra for a lake view , Room was of a good size , nice knig sized bed , mini bar and well equiped bathroom .
would certainly use this hotel again .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weltraveledleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Overall our stay was adequate for a business hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful, and gave some good advice on hiring a car for a few hours. Ouchy, where the hotel is located is very picturesque, and the hotel is across the road from the edge of the marina.

We have free transport on Lausanne trams and buses all weekend, which is included with any hotel package for the duration of your stay. The centre of Lausanne is about 5 or 6 minutes on the tram (don't walk - its all up a steep hill)

As were are moving to Lausanne, we chose not to take a lake view room (our new apt has this and we will have lots of time for window gazing) however the view from these rooms is limited, judging by the blinds which cover them.

We therefore took the option of the Garden View (photo provided) which is actually a roof top, and building site. While I would not hinder the hotel renovations and development, this was not mentioned at time of booking. The drilling which commended at 8.30 on a Monday morning (granted, past wake up time for most) was rather hindering to a lie in.

I understand that these renovations are due to finish in autumn of this year.

Definitely recommend a Movenpick ice-cream while looking at the view, but not accompanied by a CHF11.50 beer.

Room Tip: Depends on how much time you expect to gaze out the window of you room.... on that bases choose lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoconnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Checkin was fast and friendly. I was given an power adaptor even without asking for it. Nice service !

Asked for a quite room, and was given one pointing to the backside. Of course the rooms pointing at the lake side are having a very nice view, but then you also get a busy road in front of you. Depends really on your preferences.

Rooms was spacious and in good condition.

Expansion of the hotel is ongoing, but I could really not hear that.

WIFI was charged with CHF 23 for 24 hours which in my opinion is outrageous. Besides that, net was both reliable and fairly fast.

Breakfast was great and offering eggs cooked to order. Selection was great and having high quality.

Tried also the gym being somewhat old. However, all the equipment was in good condition and worked well.

All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is situated on the shore of Lake Geneva with a backdrop of snow tipped mountains (even in Late Spring). The almost vertical metro is a short walk which gets you from Ouchy to Lausanne in about 5 minutes.

The rooms are very well appointed with the essential rubber-ducky in the bathrooms. There is also a professional quality gymnasium for those so inclined.

The staff are friendly and helpful and free metro passes for guests is a cool bonus.

Room Tip: Fork out the bit extra for a Lake View room. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocketfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were made welcome on arrival and allocated room 720 with a fabulous view of Lake Lehman and the harbour of Ouchy. King size bed, bathroom with all facilities and a tv with around 130 channels including BBC1. The bed was comfortable and the room roomy! I recommend paying the extra for a lake view. All the staff were helpful, the room was cleaned daily and the internet was free.
Minor niggles: the mini bar stopped working and we were offered a change of rooms as there was no one available to fix it. And with the current exchange rate the breakfasts are not worth it at 23 Swiss Francs (£18.50) for continental and 33 Sw Fr (£26.50) for a cooked, unless someone else is paying of course.
Top tips: flying into Geneva, getting to Lausanne is easy by train and then the Metro from Lausanne to Ouchy (5 mins) with a short walk to the hotel. Buy a Lake Geneva/Alps Regional Pass in the UK before you travel; it will cost £75 and entitle you to 3 days free travel and 4 days at half fare on the railways and some of the ferries in the region. (www.swisstravelsystem.ch for details). It is cheaper than buying it in Switzerland and will save you a lot of money if you plan sightseeing. I can recommend trips to Geneva, Evian (ferry), Broc (Nestle chocolate factory) and Gruyeres (castle), Rochers-de-Nayes (mountain top, outstanding views), Montreux and Chillon Castle (one of the best I have ever seen). Everything is very expensive in Switzerland and this card can make substantial savings; it also lets you in some of the attractions free or at a reduced rate.
With the weather hot and sunny throughout it was indeed a memorable holiday and we will return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

They went out of their way to make you feel welcome upon arrival. Picked up at the airport - welcome drink - room ready before time - amazing breakfast - nothing was too much trouble and such a large hotel

Room Tip: Rooms large and comfortable - windows that actually opened - large well appointed baathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FOSSHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing