We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not justify the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel was overall nice and with standards especially if you are on a business trip. However too expensive and not worth of the price. The room was normal as another standard room in a 4 star hotel. Price 240 eur/night (no breakfast and taxes included). Extra breakfast 24 euros included jam, honey and the choice of tea or milk. The staff did not clean the room all day (I left the room at 8:00) and they knocked on my door at 17:00 when I had just came in and wanted to take a shower (off course I sent them away and the room was not cleaned that day). Wifi is rather expensive and i recall having paid 6-8 eur/per hour but I am not sure. Location is nice but not in the center of Lausanne and far from the shopping districts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewer0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your belated comments following your stay in July 2012.
Kindly note that we have shared your review with all concerned staff and have taken your comments as a way of increasing our performances and services towards our customers.

As for Internet, we have now pleased to offer it to our customers.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again in Lausanne.

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is an excellent hotel located on the lake, whilst quite expensive the bar provides a very nice environment for dinner and drinks. Rooms are very good and if possible try to get a room with a balcony which offers some great views, shame that they charge extra for the Nespresso though!

Room Tip: Try for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our recently opened Business Rooms. Effectively, some of them offer an amazing view from the balcony.

We understand your concern regarding Nespresso coffees. Tea and coffee is also available free of charge from our welcome tray in every room.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back soon at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

An outstanding hotel on the shores of Lake Geneva. We got a room with a view of France on the other side of the lake. Enjoyed the exceptional service from the friendly staff. Within walking distance to shops and Lausanne city centre, close to busses and the IOC.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joukowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Esteemed Customer,

Thak you ever so much for your positive comments which will be shared with all our employees.

We aim to provide the best of services and I am pleased to read that we managed to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Once again thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you again vers soon.

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in a standard double room with no view and rather small, but clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and always ready to help. The location is close to lake Geneva (perfect if you want to take long walks along the lake) and very close to a variety of restaurants and pubs. The hotel is within walking distance from Lausanne gare (aprox 15 mins) or easily accesible either by subway(Ouchy station) or by bus. On the downside, the hotel is pretty pricey as compared to the quality of services provided. Also please be aware by additional services charged (i.e breakfast is charged separately (aprox 34 CHF) / a 100 CHF deposit is required at the begining of the stay) and check if any reimbursements are needed upon leave.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious feedback following your recent stay with us.

From your comments, I read that your stay with us has not been a memorable one and I regret this. You are right in mentioning our breakfast at CHF 34.00 (served as a buffet with 100 dishes). A continental breakfast is also available for CHF 24.00.

As for the CHF 100.00 deposit, we do effectively request it for all customers not able to provide us with their credit card details, to cover all eventual extras (including restaurants, minibar, telephone...). Of course, we refund this deposit on departure.



I am however pleased to know that you found our staff enjoyable and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed in a standard room - no view and was quite small, but was comfortable for a business trip. Staff at the hotel are lovely, however the gymnasium only has 2 treadmills (but has 4 bikes for some reason), so even at 6am they were in high demand from other people also travelling on business! Make sure you get breakfast included in the room price, as an additional CHF33 for breakfast definitely represents poor value for money (it's not fantastic). Also, bring your own shampoo and shower cap. They only have 'multi-use detergent' and no shower caps at all.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard if your budget allows it! And request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very valuable comments. We aim to provide all our guests the best of service and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our staff service while staying with us.

Concerning our gym, with 28 Technogym equipments, we delights in being the largest hotel gym in town. We understand your point of view and are aware that our gym has an enormous success.

As for breakfast, we offer our customers the choice of a Continental or full Buffet breakfast with an average of 100 different dishes. We are sorry to read that you did not find it fantastic.

Shower caps have always been available on request and we are now considering fitting all our bathrooms with them, following your comments. Environmental-friendly shampoo and soap dispensers are displayed. Eco-friendly amenities are also available.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were making our way north, and we truly enjoyed it. We booked the deluxe lake view room, and just love the view from our room. The room is spacious for European standard, it has two queen size beds. The room was clean, modern and up to date. The bathroom is modern and clean. The location can't be beat, and the metro is only a few minutes away on foot. The hotel has an underground parking facility. Unfortunately the elevator from the garage to the hotel was out of order at the time. Apart from that, our stay was perfect. The staffs are very warm and friendly, exactly what you would expect from a Swiss hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eiffel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and one of the most beautiful view you can find in this part of the country. Our lake view rooms offer astonishing views on the harbour, the lake and the French Alps !

Thank you for mentioning the lift to the parking. Sadly your visit did correspond to the day when we were upgrading our lifts with better speed, screen displays and new carpet.

We look forward to welcoming you gain very soon.

JM Berner
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have stayed many times in this warm and nice hotel. It is just on the lake of Geneva, and very good to have a long walk along the lake since it is not climbing like everywhere else at central Lausanne. In summer time, the square is very lively and people walks, plays, sits, sings, etc.
The staff at the hotel are very kind and take care of you. In my previous stay I commented about the pillow that was very soft for me. In my last stay, I have seen that they have put the one that I selected last time. The rooms are a little bit Swiss size (relatively small compared with in Turkey), but everything is so arranged that even small details are there. The price is reasonable, there are nice restaurants around and you can take metro to go to centre of Lausanne in max 10 minutes. You don't need to take a taxi here in Lausanne.
Moevenpick Hotel has a very nice restaurant with delicious food, and icecream is perfect there. I like also the breakfast at this hotel with a lot of variety which is not so common for Swiss hotels. The hotel returns every penny you paid with their offereings and service. I am looking for another occasion to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: My taste is lakeview rooms, which rate slightly higher; but in summer it really pays off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gazzzci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to welcome you again for your next visit.

Situated on the shore of Lake Léman, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne enjoys the most beautifull location with astonishing views over the harbour and the French Alps.

The staff is trained to offer you the best of services and I am pleased to read that your chosen pillow (from a list of many pillows available) was awaiting from you upon arrival.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Best regards

JM Berner
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
2.8 mi away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £120 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing