We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; good business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location; good business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have visited this hotel many times, primarily for business as it is located right next door to the famous IMD campus. So if you find yourself having to come to IMD and study, this is perfect for those late night sessions, and just 10 minutes later you can flop into bed!

The hotel is really OK and has everything you would expect from a Movenpick - good food, fitness, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly staff etc. Most travellers, regardless of business or leisure will find themselves in a standard room or an executive room. The former are more than OK; come even with a bath and a shower, comfortable beds etc. The latter are a little larger, and offer more work space, a nice renovated bathroom but strangely only a shower - I presume that time pressed executives only have time for showers and not a relaxing soak!

The hotel is also on the lake front, so business or leisure alike its perfect to take a stroll or run down by the lake - lots of restaurants in the summer too. However, if you want to go into the town centre for a shop, you need to take a low cost tram up a steep hill (hotel provides a free ticket for the duration of your stay however) which makes it a touch inconvenient if your short of time.

In terms of reaching the hotel the same is true - if you come by train you need to lug your luggage on the tram, and go down the hill (or back up on the way home) or the hotel has its own but rather small and exceptionally tight car park.

Breakfast is good; the bar is pitifully small and the wireless is expensive (sand should be free of charge in this day and age) unless your at IMD in which case it is probably paid for you…..

All in all, probably the best hotel for business and especially for IMD - if I wanted a leisure place in town, I would probably look in the town and miss the tram….

Room Tip: Exec rooms safer "newer" and larger, good for business - but no full size bath. Standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your comments following your recent visit at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Our situation - overlooking the harbour with exceptionnal views over the Alps and lake Geneva - makes of our hotel an enjoyable place to stay for business purposes as it is for leisure travelers.

You mentioned our Business rooms, and you are right, they are designed to make any guest feel at home. Rain showers, balcony, media hub to mention only a few, are amenities that are offered within these new rooms.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    494
    167
    44
    23
See reviews for
151
240
58
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is situated on the Lake just 5 minutes by metro from Lausanne's main station. The rooms are of the highest modern standard with excellent facilities. The hotel staff are extremely attentive and professional and the conference facilities just right for a medium sized event. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the food generally is very good and, by Swiss standards, good value.

Room Tip: Go for a Lake view on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services were up to your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Moevenpick is fantastically located just by the lake. Ask for the room facing it. The rooms are reasonable size and of reasonable quality. The service is excellent. Breakfast NOT cheap, however truly fantastic and of great choice.

Room Tip: For the view of the lake ask for the street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Robert,

Greetings from Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and thank you for your comments.

Yes, our lake view rooms offer a spectacular view over the Geneva lake and the harbour and, as lights fade away every evening, the scenary can become spectaculor.

Our modern business rooms can also provide you everything you dream off including a balcony, a rain shower, media hub, nespresso machine and so on...

We look forward to welcoming you again in Lausanne.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
368 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Good location near the lake, especially if you are here for the business visit at one of the companies located nearby or IMD. Easy to reach from Geneva highway, has a garage in the basement. Gym is OK, but somewhat small and has most of the machines for lower part of the body(?). Service is good, you get recognized if stay more often, which is always nice. Try to get a room in the new part of the building- BIG difference. Finally, wifi is free of charge. Though breakfast is Expensive! Like in most hotels here. Burgers are always good, be it in the bar or room service.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksksksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne for business purposes.

Our fitness center, described as small, is actually the largest hotel fitness center in Lausanne with 30 machines of the latest technology (Technogym) and is very appreciated by all our customers including some of the world's famous athletes. Our property welcomes all major sporting events being held in Lausanne and the participants are training in the same conditions as you have done.

You are right in mentioning our new Business Rooms as they have been fitted with all modern features including a media hub, a rain shower, a nespresso machine. They also offer a provate balcony.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Bestr regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have travelled to Lausanne twice in the past three years and both times I have stayed at the Movenpick hotel. It is perfectly located (in my opinion) directly across from the scenic Lake Geneva and on the same street as the Olympic Museum. In addition, there are plenty of excellent restaurants that neighbor the hotel, and just a 10-15 min drive to city center. The central train station is not far either, only a 10 minute walk up the hill - or a 5min drive / taxi.

The hotel itself is clean, rooms are spacious, courteous/friendly staff, great Moevenpick deserts (of course!), and highly recommended.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business trip and/or for family/couple trips. I have done both of these - once for business and the next time (September 2013) with Family!

I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Lausanne!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank espnjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments following your recent visits at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne, both on business and leisure occasions.

We have shared your precious comments with the entire team as we are delighted that we were able to provide you with the services you expected from us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

They charge 18 CHF per night. This for a very very slow Wifi. When I visited the hotel just 3 months ago it was free. The trend in the hotel world is definitely towards free wifi but this hotel is moving in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trajan903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This contemporary high rise hotel is just a few minutes by metro from the train station and right on the lakefront. The Lausanne lake area is perfect for walking and filled with charming restaurants and park areas, including the Olympic headquarters (currently closed for renovation but be sure to visit the small historical collection on the vintage ship across the street).

The hotel is large and comfortable, with friendly professional service at check-in and in the restaurants. It is clearly a popular business hotel, but works for tourists as well -- Swiss efficiency at its best. Our room was sleekly designed with a comfortable bed, very quiet, spacious, and with a convenient bathroom. It is not inexpensive, but is reasonable by Switzerland standards. Wi-Fi is included as is a city train pass.

Be sure to book a lake view room for the best experience, it is lovely to watch all of the boats move in and out of the harbor and sunsets can be spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments and positive feedback on our services following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Located on the shore of Lake Geneva, our hotel is the perfect place for business or leisure travelers. You mentioned the Olympic Committee Headquarters as one of the attraction to visit, you were of course thinking of the Olympic Museum which will soon reopen (planned end of December) as the IOC headquarters can not be visited.

We are deligted to read that our Swiss Hospitality was underlined and that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing