We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had a wonderful time in this hotel. First night, we had dinner in the restaurant on the ground floor, it was delicious! The staff was friendly, polite and addressed every question or request in a timely manner. The location is great because you have a view on the lake and the public transport is nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMcroacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

You are right in mentionning our lake view rooms, they beneficiate from one of the most wonderful views over the French Alps and lake Geneva and are very appreciated from both tourists and business travelers.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    549
    184
    47
    30
See reviews for
168
263
64
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is very nice place to stay in front of Leman Lake. Also very close to Metro (subway) station to go to the Lausanne Railway Station. I went there because of the IMD. And IMD Campus is around 5 minutes walking. Do not forget to enjoy Movenpick Icecream!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toshinobu I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks fro commenting your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne !

Located right next to IMD, with beautiful views over the French Alps and the lake, the hotel is the perfect place for business travelers as well as tourists.

The area is very lively and the metro nearby, permitting to visit the city in a few minutes only.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Beautiful hotel, located directly at the lake. Some rooms have lake view.
We were lucky and had a room in the recently renovated part of the hotel. It was huge and modern. We even had our private terrace!
The breakfast buffet offers a big choice of pastries, fruits, several variations of egg etc.
It’s not far from the city centre; we even walked there (around 20min).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyKitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your Mövenpick experience following your recent stay with us in Lausanne.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our Business Rooms including its own private terrace overlooking the lake, as well as other amenities designed to make every guest's stay as enjoable as possible.

Please do not hesitate to visit us again very soon,

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Located on the edge of the lake, you can imagine the views and sense of tranquility that you have to look from the window of the room , especially in a high floor, business category . Being in this area of ​​Lausanne you can enjoy the ride , come quietly to the Olympic Museum (currently under reparation) . In addition the metro connects you in only four stops to the city center.

Room spacious but no comfortable beds . Three very good restaurants , with differents choices of menus (fish, casual, cafetería & snacks, and a good selection of ice creams), with large and portions and.... swiss prices . Parking over 20 € / night .

As I noted in my trip aroud the country, the staff continues with the same low level of kindness or little interest in their customers.

Room Tip: A business room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flannaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Miquel G.,

Thank you for providing your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

your title says it all ; Super Views ! And you are right in mentioning that the panorama our lake view rooms offer are uncomparable with any other view you could get anywhere else !
You mention our business rooms, the latest addition to our portfolio. these rooms are located in the back of the building and therefore dfo not offer views over the lake (with exception to 9 rooms with terraces). They however offer state of the art technology including a media-hub, balcony, rain shower and so on...

I am surprised to hear that you find Swiss service in general to be of low level with little interest to the customers as we aim to provide the best of services to all our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to show you that we are able to leave you with a much better impression.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have visited this hotel many times, primarily for business as it is located right next door to the famous IMD campus. So if you find yourself having to come to IMD and study, this is perfect for those late night sessions, and just 10 minutes later you can flop into bed!

The hotel is really OK and has everything you would expect from a Movenpick - good food, fitness, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly staff etc. Most travellers, regardless of business or leisure will find themselves in a standard room or an executive room. The former are more than OK; come even with a bath and a shower, comfortable beds etc. The latter are a little larger, and offer more work space, a nice renovated bathroom but strangely only a shower - I presume that time pressed executives only have time for showers and not a relaxing soak!

The hotel is also on the lake front, so business or leisure alike its perfect to take a stroll or run down by the lake - lots of restaurants in the summer too. However, if you want to go into the town centre for a shop, you need to take a low cost tram up a steep hill (hotel provides a free ticket for the duration of your stay however) which makes it a touch inconvenient if your short of time.

In terms of reaching the hotel the same is true - if you come by train you need to lug your luggage on the tram, and go down the hill (or back up on the way home) or the hotel has its own but rather small and exceptionally tight car park.

Breakfast is good; the bar is pitifully small and the wireless is expensive (sand should be free of charge in this day and age) unless your at IMD in which case it is probably paid for you…..

All in all, probably the best hotel for business and especially for IMD - if I wanted a leisure place in town, I would probably look in the town and miss the tram….

Room Tip: Exec rooms safer "newer" and larger, good for business - but no full size bath. Standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your comments following your recent visit at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Our situation - overlooking the harbour with exceptionnal views over the Alps and lake Geneva - makes of our hotel an enjoyable place to stay for business purposes as it is for leisure travelers.

You mentioned our Business rooms, and you are right, they are designed to make any guest feel at home. Rain showers, balcony, media hub to mention only a few, are amenities that are offered within these new rooms.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is situated on the Lake just 5 minutes by metro from Lausanne's main station. The rooms are of the highest modern standard with excellent facilities. The hotel staff are extremely attentive and professional and the conference facilities just right for a medium sized event. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the food generally is very good and, by Swiss standards, good value.

Room Tip: Go for a Lake view on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services were up to your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Moevenpick is fantastically located just by the lake. Ask for the room facing it. The rooms are reasonable size and of reasonable quality. The service is excellent. Breakfast NOT cheap, however truly fantastic and of great choice.

Room Tip: For the view of the lake ask for the street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Robert,

Greetings from Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and thank you for your comments.

Yes, our lake view rooms offer a spectacular view over the Geneva lake and the harbour and, as lights fade away every evening, the scenary can become spectaculor.

Our modern business rooms can also provide you everything you dream off including a balcony, a rain shower, media hub, nespresso machine and so on...

We look forward to welcoming you again in Lausanne.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing