We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, reasonably priced for Lausanne standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Located in Ouchy, by the lake with immediate access to the pedestrian area. The Metro station (takes you directly to the train station in 5 min and City center in 10 min) is just 2 minutes away and the Bus stop for Line #2 is an additional minute walk away. Breakfast is good, the Bar is descend. Rooms a bit small but its not a place to enjoy the room, is more business oriented which means you just use the room for a quick shower, sleeping & doing emails. Does not offer daily complimentary water (like most hotels nowadays). Need to prebook taxi otherwise the wait might be longer that desired. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the elevator are not recommended, since there is traffic all day & night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grbr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Esteemed Customer,

The entire Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne team would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay within our property.

We are pleased to read that our services were up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning taxis, we understand that the wait might be a bit longer than expected during rush hours, mainly due to the large amount of cars requested but also tghe traffic in town. We offer our guests to pre-book their taxi in advance but the hotel also provide free transportation card for all to use. As you mentioned, the Metro station is only meters away from our property, taking you all the way up to the main train station (4 stops) or city center (5 stops).

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel but only worthy if you are going to attend a training course in the IMD business school which is very close. Not for tourism in Lausanne as it lacks charm and spirit. Clean, excellent breakfast and room service and very helpful and kind crew

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for posting your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are surprised to read thyat you think ourt hotel lacks of charm and spirit. Despite the fact that you mention our property as a clean one with excellent food offer and very helpful and kind staff, our hotel also provide all necessary services for tourists and visitors. Our communicating rooms are welcoming manyx families, our business rooms with state of the art technology and services such as media hub, Nespresso machines, rain showers, balcony and so on... are dsigned for all kind of business partners.

Our property is located on the shore of lake Geneva with direct access either by Motorway or Metro (300 meters away) and a 3 minutes walk to the harbour where boats are waiting customers for a ride on the lake or a shopping trip to France. the Olympic Museum, recently re-opened and the Lavaux region are also top attractions for visitors.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,

Best regards

C. Kramer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel on business (attending IMD). Hotel is easy to get to from Lausanne station, either walk (25 mins downhill), taxi, (7 mins/CHF 15) or Metro/walk (15 mins). It's in a great location overlooking Lake Geneva and has a number of good restaurants a short walk close by. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - and everything runs to Swiss precision! When checking in, remember to ask for a plug adapter and the correct WIFI code for the number of devises you need to network. You also receive a Metro card when you check in (valid for the duration of your stay). Rooms are average and contain everything you need, including tea/coffee, minibar etc. A/C was noisy, and the hotel suggested I turned it off to make it quiet! Breakfasts are good, with a wide choice of hot and cold options - and every type of tea and coffee you could possibly want. When out and about, there is plenty to walk to around the lake, or take a boat over to France......

Room Tip: ALWAYS try and get a room overlooking the lake!! Rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Russ06,

We are pleased to read your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and we would like to thank you for sharing those.

Why not try our Business Room during your next visit. Not only fitted with modern designs and state of the art technology, they will offer you the calm and serenity you are looking for. They also provide European and US plugs, tea/coffe facilities, Italian rain shower, balcony... and much more !

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

On the lake, this high-end hotel has it all. Superb staff. Beautiful public spaces. Bar. Breakfast was one of the best available at any hotel I have stayed at. They give you a card for your stay for free bus and metro use. The room faced Lake Geneva - what a sight! Very large room, great desk, sitting area. Free bottle of mineral water and free wi-fi. I would certainly stay again (close to IMD). There are many other choices of course but if you don't want surprises, high-quality service, knowledgeable staff then this is a very good choice. You do lose the charm of other hotels but sometimes 'charm' means lack of facilities, though not always.

Room Tip: Lake view room is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our high quality service, our lake view rooms with spectacular views, our buffet breakfast offering the choice of 100 dishes, and the service provided by our staff.

We sincerely look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed for 10 nights in December so you notice far more things that could be improved than when you are there for just a weekend. First ... this is not a business grade hotel. The wi-fi is appallingly slow... slower than I have ever experienced. This is just not good enough. Internet is a critical feature for business travellers. Next time I will stay somewhere else in Lausanne. Room service, and cleaners always seemed to miss something. Salt & Pepper missing, had two towels, then one, two milks satchels/coffees then one, chocolate on the bed day 1 – nothing every other day, etc. Just poor attention to detail. Little things do matter. The worst experience was room service quality. Had the worst meal I have ever had in all my years of travel, and it took over 45 minutes to arrive. Apology given but could have given a free drink/chocolate as a consolation.
Pluses were location, and staff were friendly. But won’t stay here again even though it is encouraged by IMD where I attended.

Room Tip: If internet is not required and your stay is short this hotel would be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey76_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel as I was at a business seminar nearby. Although I didn't see much of the hotel, the staff on reception were very welcoming and the view from my room across the lake was terrific. I did make use of the gym facility almost every day and this was very good. Back there in February for another seminar and have no concerns about the hotel quality.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank St1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Jon,

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your dear ones a very happy New Year.

We are delighted to read that our services were to your expectations and look forward to your return visit in February.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found an awesome deal online at the last minute for this hotel. We liked the fact that it is right across the lake with a beautiful park nearby. The old city center is only a few minutes away on the metro. A metro pass comes with your hotel stay everywhere in Lausanne as it is part of the city tax that you pay. Food in the hotel restaurant was very good although a bit pricey. I would stay here again if I could get a similar price.

Room Tip: A room on the 6th or 7th floor facing the lake is ideal, although "city view" rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjgwspagirll11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Customer,

First of all may I take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year !

Thank you for posting your comments following your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.
I am delighted to read that you managed to find a special deal, probably on our own website and that you enjoyed our stay with us.

You are right in mentioning our lake view rooms which offer one of the best view over the lake and the French Alps. Our business rooms, recently opened, offer all modern facilities including a rain shower, a balcony, Nespresso machine and a media hub.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £119 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing