We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with the most Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with the most Amazing Location”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We stayed at the Movenpick for 10 days in June 09. I was very pleased with our room . Not at all small by european standards. There were some bad carpet stains. The bed was firm and we both slept very well. The room could have used is a mini fridge. There is a stocked mini bar but that is not useful for a long stay and keeping medication cold. The other big thing the hotel is missing is a ice machine.
Room Service was fast and efficent. The restaurants seem expensive at first glance but compared to others in the area, they have the most variety for the cost. You will soon tire of pizza and pasta. The White Horse Bar has very friendly english speaking staff and pretty good food for a bar.

The street noise took some getting used to in the Lakeview Room but the view is so worth it. Lausanne is such a beautiful place.
The small downsides for us were.
1/ - We had to ask for more Liquid Soap almost every second day. Really not sure what was up with that or why the maid was not filling them up.
2/ - If you are in your room during the day - The maid slams each and every door to the room she is cleaning several times. Our last day I had the worst migrane and I was resting before leaving for the airport. There is no way Ito rest through that.

I would stay there again, and I would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuesdaysgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    537
    183
    47
    28
See reviews for
162
255
62
581
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moscow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

the hotel is on the Lake and 2 mins walk from the metro station. Rooms are clean but rather small, which is fine if you only sleep in the hotel. Good breakfast - wide choice - fruits, chease, 4-5 options of hot dishes, as well as usuall breakfast stuff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank musamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed here 3 nights with my husband who was on business in Lausanne. Would agree with other reviews: great location, right near Metro, make sure to book a room with a lake view. Has all the amenities you'd need.
Some minor criticisms:
Cleanliness - dust on the walls, as a result of air flow from the air handling system - surprising for Switzerland- should have been noticed by housekeeping
Heat - found the room was too warm, and couldn't turn on AC to cool it down - may be because it was still mid-May and they hadn't turned the AC on yet? made the room stuffy. Leaving the window open didn't turn out to be a good option, since we suffered from the traffic noise and sound of folks in the ground floor cafe until early in the AM.
Cost of breakfast - kind of pricey at 31 francs per person! easy to go outside to pursue a cheaper option if you aren't on an expense account.
Otherwise, fine to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Charleston, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed here for the initial two nights of an eight day Swiss adventure. Arriving after a transit of nine time zones, we got what we wanted -- an efficient and comfortable place to sleep off the journey and a base from which to get an introduction to Lausanne. The location on the lake across the street from a marina is beautiful and convenient for lakeside walks and a healthy uphill climb to the city center. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was nice for Sunday brunch and for dinner as well. We arrived and departed from Lausanne by train, so parking wasn't an issue for us. Highly recommended for both business and pleasure, keeping in mind that it is primarily a business hotel not a resort.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crewdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We needed a place to stay, checked around and got a good price at the Mövenpick. When reserving we asked for parking - but this was not available at check-in. There was however a nice and safe public parking just across the road. Check-in (and out) was efficient. The room was exactly as expected - clean & comfortable and average in size. The bathroom and shower were in good order. The breakfast buffet was good - a large selection of everything you could think of. This is a business hotel - so not particularly personal, but the service was good. Would I stay again - definately.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SORCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

The hotel is situated on the lakeside at Ouchy, just a short ride from the train station on the new metro - an excellent location for strolling, with views of the French Alps in the distance. Check-in was efficient and friendly and included a free Lausanne local transport pass. The room was clean, comfortable, modern, quiet and not too small, the bed comfortable and the bathroom and shower all in good order. The breakfast buffet was generous. No complaints or problems. The only minus was the fact that guests are allowed to smoke in the lobby - on arrival, it was not the best impression to have to breathe heavy second hand smoke while checking in. Banning it would be a major plus.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank detoxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,065 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Stayed one night in late November 08 for Business purpose and liked the hotel, the nice room with Lakeview ( a must) and the Breakfast in the room.

Hotel Parking is quite expensive so try the public one opposite the hotel.

Bathroom was big and clean.
Bed was comfy and with nice lakeview upon arrival and departure in the morning.
No Flat Screen TV.
Minibar, Internet access...

Would recommend to people who doesn't need to be in the Citycenter. Otherwise choose another hotel.
Even you could get up with the new Metro 2 in 10 minutes in the center and to the Railway station.

  • Liked — Location, lakeview
  • Disliked — Expensive hotel carpark
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing