We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny(Bussigny-pres-Lausanne)
US$132
US$125
Novotel
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Lausanne Crissier(Crissier)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$96
ibis
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny(Bussigny-pres-Lausanne)
US$79
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Aulac(Lausanne)
US$139
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lausanne Palace(Lausanne)
US$460
US$364
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Elite(Lausanne)
US$157
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Marche(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau d'Ouchy(Lausanne)
US$321
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel du Port(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
427
603
197
52
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
603
197
52
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick ice creamimd business schoollake viewbusiness hotelbusiness triplake genevaolympic museummetro stationnice hotelstandard roombusy roadexcellent locationnice stayenjoyed my staynice roomlac lemancomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
814 - 819 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I spent a single night here while breaking a long journey. It struck me as a very comfortable and clean hotel, with good facilities and pleasant staff.

My room was a good size and well appointed, with a nice lake view. Perhaps more of a business hotel than anything else, but a civilised place at a fairly sensible price.

NB It's not in the centre of town, but on the edge of Lake Geneva, which is a satisfying location - and getting into town on the public transport (a pass for which the hotel provides) is easy. However, for some travellers its location will be too far from the business centre of the city, I imagine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoothtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed here for a few nights with some family. We booked two rooms and requested that the rooms be close together. At least they were on the same floor, but they were at opposite ends of the hall. Oh well, we had gotten an excellent rate through expedia, more than half the price that it would have been had we booked through the moevenpick website, so that was pretty good!

Overall the hotel we found to be quite nice - it's clean and elegant and the front desk staff are very helpful! The location of the hotel is AMAZING! And it is definitely the best value for the location. We compared rates to several other hotels that are down there by the water (Lake Geneva), and couldn't find a better rate! So if you're after a great location and good value for what you're getting I would definitely recommend this hotel! And I would book a lake view room if you are able to, the view is breathtaking! We loved it!

The hallways are quite narrow and as someone previously mentioned smell a bit musty, I agree, the hallways definitely had a distinct odor... but the rooms smelled fine :)

There is a fitness room here too, if you like to work out and a sauna! We didn't use either, but went to take a look at them and both looked really nice and big!

Oh and if you're parking your car, as someone else also mentioned park across the street as the parking is much cheaper there than the parking garage under the hotel and it's no big deal to walk across the street to the hotel! Plus that parking garage is bigger and the one under the hotel is so small and hard to maneuver and often is full anyway!

Side note: If you are in a wheelchair I wouldn't recommend this place though as you won't find an adequate wheelchair room - so I'd keep looking for a more wheelchair friendly hotel :) (pm me if you're interested in greater details regarding this).
But if you aren't wheelchair bound, then I definitely do recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

A very nice business trip hotel. It is very well located in Ouchy right along the water and in fact across the street from a small marina. It has a good restaurant in the hotel and just short walks down the street are several restaurants ranging from inexpensive to very fancy. At least when we were there, we got a free pass to the city transit system which was great because you could always use it on the tram that takes you up the fairly steep hill to the center of town and also to the train station (Lausanne Gare); from there you can connect to points all direction, both local and express trains (such as to Morges, Geneva airport, Paris or Italy). Even with a lot of baggage, as long as you have wheels you can get from the airport or various trains to this hotel, provided you are willing to make the transfer to the tram and then walk a couple of blocks (easy). (On your trip out of Lausanne, make sure you take the tram to the Lausanne Gare stop not the Lausanne Flon stop that is also a train station. The Gare stop is the major train station and has the swiss train (CFF) such as to Geneva and the high speed trains. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lausanne_Metro) The lobby bar can get busy and smoky during happy hour, but that's not unusual in Europe. The rooms are very clean and nice. They are smallish, European style. They have windows that open which is really nice for fresh air! The lobby staff is very helpful and speak English well. The business services room is small and the computer access is painfully slow using the one PC available free to customers.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MNtravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I accompanied my husband to Lausanne for a business trip. The hotel was pleasant and well located with train to city centre just moments away. Tomaz on reception was very helpful in giving me directions around the city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joyfuljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Staff maybe demotivated...no single body smiles.... esp. unfriendly tone of voice when they speak....I generally was upset from the staff which I expected something more from this hotel with its good name "Moevenpick or Mövenpick" but they really didn't make it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_one2steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews