We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
NewYork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real nightmare”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This hotel seems attractive when you check the rates... believe me, even 1$ is too much for the quality delivered !
Poor reception service, bed buggs, mouuld in the bathroom and a breakfast at Sfr 25.00 that is just not worth it, better have a coffee at train station nearby.
This hotel does not deserve to be mentioned on your site unless to say : Do not book it, you can only be siappointed !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahappytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    288
    143
    76
    31
See reviews for
84
122
46
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I led a group of 32 students and adults to France, Germany and Switzerland in July 2011. We stayed at the Alpha-Palmiers for two nights. We also dined in the hotel restaurant.
The lobby area: very modern yet comfortable. There was internet access for 7 Swiss Francs for a 30 minute time period. Wifi was available for a price, but I do not know what that was--sorry!
I was in room 106--it looked out onto the street below and had a partial view of Lake Geneva. It was very nice. My son and his friend were in room 114 and they also had a very nice view and room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The wonderful concept that I enjoyed was that the lights and electricity would only work if the room key (credit card style) was inserted into a slot by the door. Once you leave the room and take your key...all electricity turns OFF. What a great idea to conserve electricity--wish I had one at my home! The rooms were more spacious than I had expected.
The bathrooms were well appointed and clean--there was a hairdryer and a scale (yuck!). Water pressure was almost too strong--I had to turn the water down to stop the shower head from going crazy & spraying the entire room. That did happen to one of my group members!
We had breakfast in the hotel both mornings and it was wonderful! There were pastries, breads, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, deli meats and cheeses, yogurt, cereal, coffee and tea. It was delicious.
We also ate dinner in the hotel restaurant twice. The food was good but the service was a bit slow.
The hotel provided a free metro pass to use the single-line metro down to Lac Leman. We used that several times. No one checked the metro pass, as it is an honor system. But if you do get checked, be sure to have the ticket!
The location was very good--the train station is at the bottom of a small hill--it can be seen from the hotel. There was also a cinema across the street, which was very nice.
I verymuch enjoyed this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or above so that you can see the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madame44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel location is just perfect. In front of the train station and subway, a lot of good restaurants around.

If you have Lausanne as your hub for travelling around Switzerland you have a very good and organized train station, and to walk around the town you have the subway.

The room is very clear, the front desk personal is very helpful and the bed was very comfortable.

The only bad point is that there is no free internet in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamilecttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A nice clean and comfortable hotel for a stop over as we travelled to Italy. Friendly reception staff and room on the top floor with a view of lake if you leaned out of the window.

Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and fairly spacious as was the room itself. However this was a Saturday night and the street below was busy until about 5am and the windows did not keep out any of the noise

We ate in the Bistro attached to the hotel the service was good and the food great and well worth the cost it certainly was not cheap!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drvivekgarg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Alpha Palmiers is located in the heart of the city just 200 m away from lausanne Rail station. it is an awesome place with helpful hotel staff. Walking distance from Lausanne Garre metro station. The Thai restaurant is simply irrestible.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvivekgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Sir our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Helpful reception /arrived at noon and was checked in early. /modern hotel with nice lobby and clean spacious triple room with lovely lake view( you could hear luggage bags rolling down the street from early morning but it didn't bother us. it took a 7+ min slow uphill walk ( quite a steep hill !) from Train station. Proximity to the station was an advantage but If you have cardiac problems or weak heart you may not survive to the hotel doorstep with a 20kg luggage bag.
Did not bother with the breakfast/meals in the hotel as there were some nice restaurants nearby.
Has free wifi
We checked out early and appreciate that they have a secure room behind the counter to keep our luggage till late afternoon.
Would definitely recommend if you are in Lausanne.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humanH1N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantsala, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Everything would be perfect if not the 'garden view'. I booked the room with garden view that was slightly more expensive than standard, but got the corridor view, so closed curtins all the time :( Otherwise well furnished, clean and large rooms. Plus for good choice of TV channels. I will return if visiting Lausanne!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels in Lausanne.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again and hoping you will become one of our most loyal customers, please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing