We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Nearby Hotels
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lausanne Palace(Lausanne)
US$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny(Bussigny-pres-Lausanne)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny(Bussigny-pres-Lausanne)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Marche(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau d'Ouchy(Lausanne)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Port(Lausanne)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$549
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
138
315
153
81
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
315
153
81
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantsteep hilltrain stationnice hotelgarden viewshower headlarge roombreakfast not includedclose to the city centeruphill walkbusiness tripboiled eggsan ironaverage hotelold towngeneva airportconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights and were happy with it.

The rooms are large and the hotel is in a very central location near the train station, metro and the city.

The location of this hotel is not suitable for the elderly or sick as you have to walk up a very steep hill to get to it. This is not the fault of the hotel but I thought it is worth mentioning. Also, the air-conditioning isn't fantastic so the room felt a bit hot, but again this was not a major problem for us.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to be in a central location for a very reasonable price.

We requested late check out (2pm) and this was granted straight away without hesitation.

If you want something near the water (Ouchy), in a quieter location, then try the Movenpick hotel which looked very nice.

I also recommend taking the ferry to Evian. It was about 33 CHF return per person. It was a lovely trip and only takes 35 minutes to get there.

We also fed the Swans in Ouchy which was extremely fun. Ouchy is beautiful day and night. It was about three stops on the metro from the hotel.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms face a garden and are apparently quieter. Although they were extremely quiet they faced other rooms so we kept the curtains closed most of the time.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestAndFair11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Madam,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in our Alpha palmiers hotel in Lausanne.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again please accept, Madam, our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

WE traveled from Germany and were not the least disappointed in this hotel- it is beautifully designed with large rooms and marble bathrooms. It has a 4 star Thai restaurant that was absolutely great! It is centrally located and an easy walk to most of the sites including the Ouchy. You do have to pay for parking in the parking garage next to the hotel, but bringing our luggage up was not a problem. Very attentive front desk- but they do not help with luggage. If you come on the train the hike is up hill and with luggage could be challenging. Otherwise very comfortable, well situated hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debmar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your stay in our Alpha Palmiers hotel.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again please accept, Madam, Sir our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Alpha-Palmiers is a 4 star hotel but it gives you the quality of a 5 star hotel. Really value for money. Spacious rooms, good atmosphere, good breakfast with a large variety of choice... Would certainly come back if I would go somewhere near Lausanne.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SolidRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Perfect location, 3 minutes' walk from the train station, metro and buses, 10 minutes' walk from the main shopping area, banks and post office.
I stay at this hotel on average twice a year and have always found clean rooms, immaculate bathrooms, modern and attractive interior design, friendly and efficient staff. The rooms located street side might be a little noisier compared to those located garden side. Rich breakfast buffet, huge variety of breads, free transport card. Foreigners not knowing Lausanne should be warned that this city is hilly everywhere!
Finally, I give 5 stars to the Alpha Palmier's Thai restaurant, reputed the best of the region and definitely worth a visit, both for the food and the decor. This hotel is a winner.

Room Tip: Rooms located street side can be noisier at night as rue du Petit-Chêne is very close to the train station
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Dear Madam,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Waiting to welcome you again, please accept, Madam, our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Alpha Palmiers is located bang opposite the train station on a very steep cobbled road,so it wasnt very easy to drag our suitcases up the hill.

We got our room on the 5th floor,we chose a back facing room,the room was of a good size & so was the bathroom.The air conditioning just didnt seem to function & we had to leave the windows open for some air.Air conditioning is extremely necessary in the summers in switzerland.

The hotel was very weirdly constructed as we had to take 2 lifts to get to our room on the 5th floor,we had to change lifts on the 3rd floor which was a little annoying.

The breakfast was horrible,the scrambled eggs felt they were lying there for days.The only thing i ate was boiled eggs which I had to boil myself & some marble cake which was good.

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody,the only good thing is the distance from the station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jainnamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alphalausanne, Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us in one of our Fassbind Hotels.
Regarding your message, we regret and apologize to see that your stay did not unfold as you had hoped.
We take note of your remarks concerning breakfasts and we'll try to ameliorate it.
If you have any suggestion, don't hesitate to send us a message.
We've had technical problems during a week with our conditioning air, please accept our apologies, we tried to do the faster we could.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews