We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good location, clean and simple room"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location of the hotel is great as required only 5 minutes from train station - but need to climb a terrible slope alone the Rue du Petit which might caused some issue to certain people. Shopping area and old town is just a stone throw away. Lots of restaurant and food stall nearby. The room was spacious (Garden view), simple, provide basis amenities, good size bathroom, nice sofa, DVD player and free WIFI. Got hundred of TV channels, but mostly in foreign language - suggest to bring some DVD. Air-con performance was not up to standard - half of the time I have to open the balcony window to allow cold air to come through. Hotel did not provide drinking water, slipper and tooth brush. Staff generally is friendly. Breakfast was "simple" and "limited" - it is self-service and practically I have to pick-up everything from the buffet counter. No egg station and only come with 3 hot food items.

Room Tip: Room facing garden is larger and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skywalker0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

A 2-day business trip. Sadly hotels by the lake were fully booked (Angleterre et Chateau d'Ouchy). I came from the Lyria TGV train so first step is to climb the very steep rue du Petit Chene. Checkin although early (11am) was ok and I could have my room. Had a room on the street side. As mentioned in other review, it can be a bit noisy from the street (mostly people talking, car traffic is very little in this street). There is an opaque glass wall between bedroom and bathroom bringing a bit a natural light which I find is always a plus. Bathroom is quite small, bathtub, no walk-in shower.
Cable tv has zillions of channels. Internet is free and without password which is convenient.
Checkout was barely OK, staff was not really courteous, wanted me to sign the credit card stub without seeing the breakdown of the bill. Also servicing of the room was half done, some objects not put back in place and some peanuts on the floor were still had not been removed...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I had a short stay in this hotel but the location was very good if you arrive or depart by train. It's literally about a half block away from the taxi center at the train station in Lausanne. It's also very close to the city center though up a very steep walking hill. There are shops and restaurants nearby (as close as across the street). The room itself was quite large with a lovely, clean bathroom. Unbelievably, there was also air conditioning in the room, though it only turned on when you are in the room and your key card was inserted in the holder by the door. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only complaint is that the breakfast buffet was not included in the price of the hotel. But no worries - I picked up a croissant at the train station and a coffee at the office! I heard from a local that the Thai restaurant in the hotel is also very good, though I didn't have a chance to try it myself. It was a very nice stay over all.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Our room was good but kept simple. There was not more than you would expect but that's ok. We stayed there only for one night and I think äs business it's completely fine, especially if you take a look on the prices of the other hotels in town. There is a parking garage right next to it, which makes it easy to to find a parking spot in the narrow city. The room was very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 874Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

While it's not as flash as the Lausanne Palace or Beau Rivage, the Hotel Alpha Palmiers is a solidly reliable hotel in Lausanne. Its advantages are location (quite close to the Lausanne Gar and shops), simplicity and rates. Ask for a room facing the central courtyard. These rooms have sliding doors, no street noise and just the gentle sound of the fountain. I've stayed here many many times, but prior to this stay the most recent was 7 years earlier. Not much had changed (now have irons and ironing boards in the room), but that's a good thing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Breakfast was plenty. Bedrooms clean and comfort. Hotel is near metro station. Service was very good . Free internet in the hotel and the rooms. TV has many choices of channels in many languages. The only problem was that the bathroom has no door and in fact it's the same room as the main room !! Backyard is very nice !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiannisJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

three nights, business.

Pro's
+rooms very nice, good bed, good bathroom, clean,
+Nice front desk staff
+location, location, location

Con's
+Waitresses in restaurant. Hello! we are guests. We told the front desk and they would relay the message.
+Front rooms are streetside, so if you want to sleep with the window open be prepared for streetlife noises.
+breakfast borders 3* instead of 4*.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourtimeisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 46 in Lausanne
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#4 of 46 in Lausanne
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £99 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing