We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by this great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Surprised by this great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here just one night and were pleasantly surprised at how much we loved this great hotel. Its located a short walk up a steep hill from the train station. Its right in the heart of fabulous Lasaunne. From the moment you walk in you will be impressed. Great courtyard, large modern lobby, glass elevators and every front desk person with whom we interacted was just fantastic. The rooms are large with a wall of windows, lots of desk space, large bathroom, modern and clean. Without a doubt we will stay here again.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are quieter. Rooms facing the street may have noise with people but don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    277
    139
    75
    31
See reviews for
82
118
46
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived on foot, which was easy enough - the location is pretty good, down the hill from the centre of town and up the hill from the station..

I don't recall dealing with one overly helpful member of staff, checking in was very self-righteous and checking out was a laborious bore.

The rooms were great, warm, clean, modern and spacious. The bathroom was one of the best on the whole tour.

We were performing at a venue called the D! Club that evening so arrived back pretty late at around 2am, the night staff were shockingly terrible, refusing half of us entry to the hotel as they did not have time to check in any earlier, and insisting that the other half of us could not stay in reception while they dealt with the others.

Breakfast was a mishmash of whatever was in the kitchen, so it didn't really work..

So, attention to detail, and staff training is what this hotel needs to take a strong look at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam
Thank you so much for your feedback! We will look into it what happened during your stay.
Your Fassbindhotels team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
287 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A short visit to Lausanne at the Alpha-Palmiers. It's a nice hotel with a fantastic location close to the train station.

Friendly staff at reception and I loved that the City of Lausanne offers you a free transit pass upon check in at the city's hotels.

The impressive breakfast spread in the morning was great.

The room was spacious and cool, with a large bathroom and great bedding. The building is odd, however. To get to room 551 I had to take an elevator to the third floor and then wander to another elevator. It was a long, strange journey and was the biggest drawback to the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is located just a couple of steps from railway station in the city centre. Rooms were clean and spacious and the staff helpful.
I was just dissatisfied with the wifi connection which was in my room very poor which means that internet almost didn't work so I could not work from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Alpha-Palmiers in Lausanne. First, the hotel's location is really convenient - literally 100m from the train station. I only had a small carry on bag, so I walked up the hill from the hotel in a matter of a few minutes but if you are elderly or disabled, the climb may be intimidating though by no means un-doable.

First, the hotel check-in desk staff were very kind. I got to the hotel around 0940am after flying into Geneva from the US. The staff got me a room right away even though check in time is 2pm. My room was strictly utilitarian - a pretty basic single bed, desk, and chair. On the plus side, the hotel has free wifi that worked well and a good breakfast. Moreover, the hotel gave me a free travel card that could be used on local public transportation (buses, subway) within Lausanne for the duration of my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VSSUBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

There is a gym on the sixth floor. If you check into a room on the fifth floor, that means there might be some people who are doing cardio on an exercise machine just above your room which causes an annoying rhythmic noise. Drain of the sink was blocked. Common utilities of a room must be checked and prepared for the next guest before reserving that room dear Hotel Management.

Location is good. Room size is OK. Internet is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karakurto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback, your comment is very precious to us.
We are sorry for the noise caused by the gym. For your next booking, you can simply announce that you prefer another floor and we will oblige you with pleasure. During your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk, we will immediately find a solution.
A good service is important to us and we will take care of your remarks.

Your Fassbind hotels team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location of the hotel is great as required only 5 minutes from train station - but need to climb a terrible slope alone the Rue du Petit which might caused some issue to certain people. Shopping area and old town is just a stone throw away. Lots of restaurant and food stall nearby. The room was spacious (Garden view), simple, provide basis amenities, good size bathroom, nice sofa, DVD player and free WIFI. Got hundred of TV channels, but mostly in foreign language - suggest to bring some DVD. Air-con performance was not up to standard - half of the time I have to open the balcony window to allow cold air to come through. Hotel did not provide drinking water, slipper and tooth brush. Staff generally is friendly. Breakfast was "simple" and "limited" - it is self-service and practically I have to pick-up everything from the buffet counter. No egg station and only come with 3 hot food items.

Room Tip: Room facing garden is larger and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#14 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#22 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing