We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location....poor service”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds, separate even though I was with my wife. Bathroom has little privacy. Very noisy street so woke up both nights. Staff just rude! Unhelpful! Breakfast poor. Elevators slow. Decoration messy. Good selection of old films on DVD. Clean. Plugs by bed for phone. Wifi slow but free and easy

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    295
    149
    76
    31
See reviews for
86
126
48
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a modern hotel very close (2 minutes max) to the Lausanne train station and the subway/tram which goes to Lake Geneva and connects to other major transit points. One can easily walk to many interesting restaurants, shops, and tourist sites within 15-20 minutes. On the other hand, it is near the train station which has some seedy characters hanging around it. The hotel can be peaceful and noisy (especially when there are tour groups), smelly (perhaps from the onsite Thai restaurant) and fresh (if one opens their window), and give good and bad service at the same time. Strong points of the hotel include the professional staff at the front desk (which have a can do attitude), the very nice buffet breakfast, and the location. Weak points include the stinginess in amenities, the noisiness at times (again when there are tour groups), the housekeeping, and inconsistent water pressure/water temperature. Unfortunately, I am not sure if other local options are better or worse...

Room Tip: Definitely stay away from the elevator and get an inward looking room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worlds_of_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I spent a night at Hotel des Palmiers in Lausanne this week
Well situated in the heart of the city , good service , but still astonished by the layout of the room + bathroom .
You expect a bathroom to have some privacy , not to be a glass cubicle in a corner of the room with a glass door which is not a door .
When I asked the - very nice - lady at the reception if they also have rooms with separated bathrooms , she answered : You mean with normal doors ? A few.
I don't know who is more responsible , the architect or the owner .
The fact is that I doubt whether either of them has spent a night in this place
Next step will be to take away the glass separation and have the bath in the room .
It's a pity , because this hotel has, otherwise, some interesting features .
Nikolaos Iliaskos , Switzerland

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bitsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel 8 times in 2012.

I really like the rooms (comfortable and big), the breakfast and even a mini sauna in 6th floor.

Some say for 25 chf is quite expensive but we are in Switzerland and the breakfast is one of the best i saw in Switzerland (more than 80 things to choose). Really impressive and tasty.

When i go back to Lausanne this is my first choice for a quality stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosVales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Alpha-Palmiers, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to send us your feedback, your comment is very important to us.
We are very happy to have you as one of our loyal customers and we are waiting to welcome you again in our hotel!
Please accept our best wishes.

Your Fassbindhotels team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losone, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I will certainly go back, great position centre Lausanne, rooms are spacious and nothing is missing, good service, also for breakfast (a bit expensive 25.-Sfr) ask for rooms looking the inside of park, more quite at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My room faced the street but was quiet enough. The rooms are unusual - I had a cowhide chair at the desk, and a large lime green chair to relax in. Bathroom is separated from the room with frosted glass. Iron/ironing board already in the room. Breakfast seemed a bit spendy at 15€ for continental or 25€ for more. The meeting rooms are nice for different size groups - my meeting was just over 20 people. We had coffee and snacks provided - staff was helpful. The room equipment person introduced himself, asked if we needed setup help, and gave us his number if we ran into any problems. From a business meeting perspective, everything was great! complimentary pass for local train was provided

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Alpha-Palmiers is located a short walk uphill from Lausanne railway station. Rooms are good, bathtub in bathrooms, cable-tv with 60+ channels. A very good selection of food available at breakfast, with a possibility to boil your own eggs. I've heard complaints that wifi does not work well in this hotel, but for me it was working just fine on 2nd floor. My only complaint would be staff, lady at reception was dead serious, absolutely no smiles, no friendly words.

Room Tip: Wifi worked well in 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arzzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.8 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#17 of 46 in Lausanne
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing