We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for Business Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fine for Business Travel”
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have stayed here twice in the past month. The positive features are the proximity to the railway station – provided you don’t mind walking up a very steep hill – the large bedrooms and the interesting building design. From my perspective, this outweighs the issues with the restaurant – poor customer service and poor breakfast choice – and some of the less successful design features – the location of the bedside light for instance, which you are liable to hit repeatedly while sleeping. I am sure there are better hotels in Lausanne, especially for anyone on holiday rather than on business, but I will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    284
    141
    76
    31
See reviews for
83
119
46
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
suisse
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

i've spend 25 minutes waiting for just a cup of coffee near the bar, nobody came to see me and ask me what i wanted! then same during the afternoon but this time 1h and same again! maybe they should give their emplolyees some service trainings! beautiful garden and restaurant this i like! but if you go to the toilets its just amazing its like its never cleaned! for the quality of the food i can't tell you but there's something i saw they use rolling treis or things like that and this thing was completely dirty and nothing to hide it and they were using it to change all the buffet!! so what can i say is that everywhere in the hotel like this??

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vador75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I'd read a number of negative reviews about this hotel, so I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and the front desk staff were courteous, our room was clean, breakfast, which was quite a nice buffet was included, and it was quiet.

It is more of a business hotel and for a four star rating, it could have had a few amenities (i.e. lotion in the bathroom along with shampoo, bathrobes), but over all it was a good value with a very central location.

Also they are pet friendly (as is most of Lausanne). A very nice city to visit!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyandCorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I’ve read a few bad reports on this hotel and was thinking perhaps some were a little exaggerated – unfortunately for this hotel they aren’t! I spent 3 days at the Alpha Palmiers and immediately noticed the lack of vibe and below average service.
As a regular traveler I quite like quirky designed hotels as it makes a change of the normal neutral tone square rooms but I think they missed the point - it still has to be functional!
The room itself was fine and a reasonable size although below ground level and looked into a glass atrium it didn’t really bother me as I was out all day.
The bathroom was OK except the opaque glass wall that lights up the bedroom and disturbs your partner during the night. I’m not overly tall (178cm) but my head touched the roof when standing in the bath / shower. The main room door had no security lock, there are no bedside tables, the WI FI signal is very sketchy and loses connection – the overall cleanliness of the general hotel is below average.
The fitness / wellness centre is a pretty poor with a few cheap and flimsy machines and a couple of mismatched weights – it just seems that nobody cares about the facility, its dirty and unkempt.
The worse issue is the restaurant, bad service with surly staff and poor cleanliness, tables left un-cleared and floors un-swept. The breakfast was generally average with food quality poor and the staff didn’t seem to cope when it got busy not replenishing things until they were asked - even then you were greeted with indifference.
The bonus was we found a great restaurant outside the hotel at the top of the hill, which served market style fresh food.
Overall this hotel has potential, its quirky design is interesting but badly implemented in places - The main issue is the customer service and the restaurant - it’s dreadful and needs to be addressed. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seehear2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Unfortunately my stay at the Alpha in Lausanne was not up to epxectations. Despite having booked a breakfast inclusive rate, I was informed at reception that this would be at an additional charge. I then presented a copy of my confirmation that clearly said breakfast inclusive (booking made through online travel agent), the receptionist bluntly told me that it wasn't their responsibility what the travel agent had sold and that I would have to seek a refund from them!! No flexibility what so ever!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Large room with plenty of seating and desk. Bathroom has kitchen facilities (unhygenic to me) and wardrobe in it. Dust was accumulating under the bench and the sink did not drain on it's own. Hotel has odd layout although it has great location to rail and city centre. It was under repair renovation when we were there and fitness centre appeared to be located up the hill out the top of the hoteland additional cost. Restaurant was pricey so we didn't use it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

It is tricky to locate it, though it is conveniently located next to the rail station. There is no signage in sight and you probably won't see it unless peeking straight into it.

Okay, they have built an interesting inner yard with a sort of Japanese garden and night fires over the water. But at the same time it is terribly hot in the rooms (very poorly functioning A/C, which the hotel explains by environmental reasons. Well, I thought, a human being is also a part of that environment.). The ashtrays in the lobby were all full and stunk incredibly.

There is NEITHER fitness center NOR sauna, regardless of what they promise, because the major part of the hotel is under renovation with no end in sight.

Very indifferent service. At breakfast I was even addressed as a... waitress (!) . The breakfast was not of a good quality, too.

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbee2ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing