We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice large room, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice large room, great restaurant”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Nicely located just 5 minutes from the Lausanne central rail station. Hotel looks good with modern furniture and nice style. Do not miss the 2 restaurants, bith good quality and reasonably priced, Please note that room price may vary a lot depending on occupancy level. Sometimes hotel is packed with groups and it is difficult to get a room at an attractive price. A very good place to stay in Lausanne.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitleflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    285
    141
    76
    31
See reviews for
83
120
46
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

They tried to go for the modern look and overdid it. There was a door on the room that opens to the garden. This door has an inclination, which makes it extremely hard to shut. It took me 4 tries to finally close it and latch it and I am 6 feet 2 inches tall and weigh over 97 kg. The furniture inside were similar to the furniture found on an 1980's travel agency with cow skin and all.
The space in the shower is limited so tall people will find a hard time keeping the curtain from sticking to their bodies due to the static.
The internet from Monzoon is a total robbery. You have to pay $15 for 3 hours of internet and $25 for 24 hours of internet that must be spent in a 24 hour period!!!! Ridiculous. This means that if you don't spend the 24 hours in a 24 hour period, you will have to pay up again. Yes. A robbery. And the worst part is that there is no other available choice.
The lights are not dimmable. The A/C barely works, although this is common in most Swiss buildings to save energy.
The horse steak at the restaurant almost passed for a beef steak. It is so bad they did not warned me it was horse. I would not have ordered had I known it beforehand. The workers at the hotel all have a teenage look and are for the most part, incompetent, to say the least. They would not even lent me a deodorant spray for my room, even though I had asked for a non-smoking room.
I have traveled to Shanghai, Beijing, Montreal, Folsom, Alburquerque, San Francisco, Colorado for business and I do not have a doubt in my mind that this by far the worst hotel I have ever had to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decaalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lausanne hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I have stayed here three times now and like the fact that most of the bedrooms open up to a large courtyard which has a fountain so with the window open you have a nice sound.
The rooms are quite spacious
Nice bed
TV now has loads of channels and for the first time in Switzerland I had Sky news, BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Film 4 - as we had an early night it was nice to have some TV. There is also a DVD player in the room.
Not far from the station and the metro to get you around

I love the restaurant near by (out the hotel go left up the hill and soon you are at The Suite (I think!?) on the left hand side. In the summer they open up their room terrace which was calm with great views. And great food! You need to make a reservation though

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I chose this Hotel for its central location and reserved through their web-site. The price was ok and I did not really expect too much. The reception was kind, but the staff is quite young (students?) and inexperienced, not to say incompetent.
I had mentioned my desire for a non smoking room and ended up in the third floor - smoking floor- but aparently the cleaning ladies did a good job. Although one wall had a huge spot of spilled something, which gave this corner an air of low-cost flophouse. Beds were confi, but bedlinnen had holes and the pillow was stinky. Bathroom clean, towels as well, but some were worn off. Our room was a superior category, with view to the patio, therefore it was spacious and absolutely quiet. (Air con worked fine. I had to stay longer in town and when I asked to extend our stay the price had trippled, so we left. We ate twice in the Thai- restaurant, which was ok. The bistro has no menu in english and the waitress could not care less. The food was awfull there. At ten o´clock, you cannot order anymore, not even a dessert. Kitchen is closed! Room-service inexistent after this hour as well. If you bring your own food and go when prices are low, you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We used the hotel as an overnight stop on the way to Venice by train , so as to take advantage of the scenery en-route.

In terms of proximity to the station , you could not be closer - although when you have been on a TGV for 4 hours in summer temperatures, getting up that hill with a case and another bag is a bit of an effort and i would have to say that for the elderly or less mobile , it could be a problem...But of course hills are not the hotel's fault...and you literally whizz down it on the way back to the station!

The hotel itself is unfussy, very pleasant indeed and is run with the usual Swiss efficiency.

The room was clean , quiet, comfortable and with all the amenities that one would look for. The guide in the room was very detailed with literally nothing overlooked.

The restaurant was nice - we dined in the non oriental part and to be honest, based on the reviews we had read before travelling , were ready for a wait - but in fact it was the opposite. We were tired and just wanted a main course and a glass of wine which were delivered promptly , presented beautifully and tasted very nice indeed.

To catch our train we had to be up early and so decided to take advantage of the early breakfast start time (0630hrs) and to be honest expected at that time hoovers to be going and not all the breakfast items available - but again, not a bit of it - everything was there, beautifully laid out, the device with hot water in it to boil an egg if you wished was ready to use and even the coffee machine gave a decent cup of coffee.

Overall therefore we enjoyed our brief stay very much indeed and it was a very welcome break in the middle of our journey.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandlWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. The hotel is great itself and has a modern, luxurious feel, it is located close to the city rail station and metro 5, only minutes uphill. So this is convenient if your travelling to neighbouring cities. It has nice, modern architecture Our room was very comfortable and spacious with definitely a positive feng shui and an interesting inside view to the gardens. It had minibar and coffee/tea making facilities; bed and rest of furniture were comfortable and relaxing. Bathroom was separate and very spacious as well. Reception staff when we arrived was friendly. The breakfast was included in our price and was very good. We also had dinner at the two restaurants of the hotel (which for some strange reason are in the same open area as the reception!), the L'esprit bistro (poor quality for 5*star hotel in my opinion) and a Thai restaurant (much better but expensive and not sure whether best in region as advertised...).
The main drawback of this splendind Lausanne hotel is the very slow service at both the restaurants and also at breakfast time. You look for the waiter around the kitchen area to order or pay the bill. Also, the food took a long time as well.
I would definitely recommend this hotel but also suggest to avoid eating there as you will wait for ages! This is UNACCEPTABLE for this category of hotel and should be looked at very carefully.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christakis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This hotel, although modern and located uphill a block from the train station, is overpriced if you consider that they charge extra for wireless internet in the room. Besides, no complementary breakfast included (it costs you an extra $50 for two!). There is not much to do in Lausanne, so we shortened our stay to one night. I recommend you go to Geneva, where for the same price you can get a 5 star hotel in a much nicer neighborhood. We found Laussane to be dirty for Switzerland standards. We will not return to this city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Property: Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing