We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

very easy to walk to from the station, yet quiet location and comfortable rooms. Nice modern 'swiss' feel to it. Nothing in Switzerland is inexpensive for the UK traveller, but the hotel is reasonable value for money on that basis. Free wifi is appreciated and there are gym facilities (we didn't use them) and breakfast (again we didn't use) . Only negatives are minor - pillows very soft and don't support your head, nice shower but inevitably it splashes out of the tray on to the floor.
First challenge is to find the correct door to your room, when you get on to the bedroom corridor - a little teaser which we did solve without having to go back to receptiona and look foolish asking where the room was!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Perfect location near the main station, half way between the lake and the old town. Loved the decor, it was incredibly clean and the shower was massive with great water pressure, which is relaxing after a big day exploring. I also loved the breakfast restaurant. Such a great idea putting it on the top floor so everyone can enjoy the view and not just those that can afford penthouse suites. In expensive Switzerland its worth the CHF22, or there is a LonelyPlanet recommended restaurant/cafe two doors up but its quite expensive. Also appreciated the gym.

Only having 2 teabags for a twin room and then making you pay CHF4.90 in the reception if you wanted another cup seemed a bit of a money making scam to me. Would have loved a robe too! And enough with the feather pillow already, you'll need to fold them in half!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emkaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our original plans took us no where near Lausanne, but because we decided to travel by rail to Rome (an excellent decision) instead of flying from Frankfurt to Rome, Lausanne and the Agora Swiss became one of our overnight stops on the way to Italy.

This is a very modern, well kept and it looks like newly built or renovated hotel - everything is sparkling clean, with bright colors and environmentally intelligent additions. The rooms are not large but certainly comfortable for 2 people with a great bed and a unique bathroom that doesn't have the usual doors and privacy fixtures but is very functional and once you get used to the open space, everything is good.

Breakfast is amazing - not only the nice layout and presentation of various food, drinks, and great coffee but the location of the breakfast couldn't be better - at the top of the hotel, overlooking Lausanne.

The other aspect of the hotel we really liked was its close proximity to the railway station - no issues getting to and from the station - literally 5 minutes walking distance away.

Certainly, if we return some day to Lausanne, it's a hotel we would certainly make a return visit to.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably better from a view perspective since the hotel is nestled between some lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

New hotel, centrally located close to the metro, very comfortable and pleasing to the eye, topped by excellent service. Highly recommended and very reasonable price.
New hotel, centrally located close to the metro, very comfortable and pleasing to the eye, topped by excellent service. Highly recommended and very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed here before in 1999, when it was an early 1970s take on what the future might hold. Hotel has been completely redone since then, with new modern exterior and lots of Swiss themed stuff everywhere. So if you don't like white crosses on red backgrounds all over the place, a big plastic apple with an arrow through it at reception, an entry lounge that looks like a ski lodge and seat covers of brown and white cow hide this may not be the place for you. But for everyone else, the makeover has completely updated the rooms with free wifi and comfortable beds, and it's a great option in an expensive country. Hotel is part of a small Swiss hotel chain, Fassbind, who also own the Alpha-Palmiers the other side of the station. That's the pricier option, here the rooms a little smaller but definitely better value. Definitely worth trying. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that bit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

What I liked: the central location (5 min walk from the train station); the pleasant neighborhood; the modern-looking building; the welcoming smile at the reception desk; the design, freshness and spotlessness of the room; the freely accessible gym and sauna; the reasonable price

What I liked less: the limited breakfast (given its price); the mattress that was almost new but much too firm for a 56-kg person; the feather pillow (too bad for anyone with an allergy); and... the woefully inadequate soundproofing, for noise both from the hallway and from the next room (I could clearly hear my neighbour's phone conversation).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyagr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Having been a couple of times in this Hotel, I visited again on a recent Business trip. I got a modern, renovated single room. Good size shower, flat TV, free WiFi. I chose this place because of the free parking and central Location. Unfortunately the free parking is no more (they found out that you can cash in 20.-/night for parking in Lausanne). However the experience with the car Elevator to the parking Garage is interesting. Overall Price per value was good, would come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ska007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.7 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind

Address: Av. Du Rond-Point 9, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £104 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with an ultra modern exterior, restaurant, bar and parking; located near public transportation; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing