We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a city base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

However, I would suggest that if you have a car; don't stay in Lausanne, Vevey or Montreux as your Lac Leman base. Go for Rivaz or St. Saphorine.

The hotel is very newly refurbished; so everything is very well thought of. The rooms are tiny; we went for the superior rooms and even that was tiny. Breakfast buffet is limited. Location is fantastic. The hotel has a garage, but make sure you book your place in advance as space is limited - you go down via an elevator.

The only turn-off in this nice city base is the uninterested staff attitude. The same trait went on with the three members of staff we interacted with; and this makes me think there is a problem with management policies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretsch5120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very clean, very practical, Swiss themed hotel. Look quite strange from outside, but nicely done inside. Bed and mattress are absolutely fabulous - it was one of our best sleeps ever! We really enjoyed our stay and will very likely come back! A bit pricey ( we paid around 150€ per night w/o breakfast) but other than that, we have zero complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Dolovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A Swiss themed hotel? That sounded rather strange and I wondered what I had booked. Actually Agora Swiss Nights in Lausanne turned out to be a well located hotel (3 minutes' walk from the station) with nice rooms. The breakfast was rather pricey but the view from the breakfast room of Lake Lausanne made it worthwhile. Alternatively you could pay a few Swiss Franc for takeway coffee and a croissant in the lobby if you are in a rush. The nearby Cafe de Grancy is nice for dinner (may need to book). I would stay here again for convenience.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the upper floors. I was below ground and I think the higher-up rooms would be nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKtraveller077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is quite basic but at the same time comfortable. The hotel gives you the sense that you are in a youth hostel, although the rooms are comfortable (althouhg very small). They don't have cable to watch TV that is not in French. The service is just ok, you need to be lucky with who is in the counter.

Room Tip: The breakfast is buffet, so make sure you have time enough to enjoy it. Also on the corner there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place is small. With a small "s" as the rooms are tiny! However it's recently refurbished and clean which helps.

Overall feel is that of a posh youth hostel. The breakfast room is nice, breakfast is basic but fine. Staff are pleasant. Had a single room where is bed is against a glass wall that separates one from the toilet / shower. The sink is actually in the bedroom which didn't bother me but may others.

Very little storage but was only there for one night so no issue.

It's worth noting that there is no restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sitsonthefence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Seems tha Agora is relativey good priced among hotels in Lausanne. It is very closely located to main train station. The hotel is not spectacular but rather nice. Service is good, supportive and attentive. Breakfast room is located on top floor so have great view over Lausanne and Lake. The issue I coul dsee is rather small room and problems with mobile network

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

In April, I visited lausanne to attend a meeting and booked a room for four nights at the Agora Swiss. This was my first visit to Lausanne and based on previous reviews felt that this would be a good bet. Overall my experience was good. The hotel is located very near to the railway station and was not a problem walking to even with my luggage. The hotel itself is small, pretty and gives a very neat look. Its location is nice, in a quiet area and very close to the Grancy metro. Switzerland is an expensive country and the Agora appeared to be a good bargain at CHF 143 per night. However, the hotel has a policy of no early checkin untill the guest pays 50% of the one night tariff. I felt this was excessive especially when I had a booking for four nights. I reached Lausanne around 10 am and wanted to freshen up before going out but was told that I could check-in only at 2 pm, so I was left with no option but to go for sightseeing in Lausanne. The one good thing about most Lausanne hotels is that all guests get a free metro pass to go around. The hotel room was small but well laid out and very neat. It was well designed making best use within the small space. I had breakfast on my first morning and was disappointed with the spread especially with the price of CHF 22. On other days, I went to the nearby cafes which are in plenty around the hotel. One that I would strongly recommend is the Cafe de Grancy. Overall, I was on a business trip, had a good experience and would recommend the Agora again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dg18972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
4.3 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
877 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 45 in Lausanne
1,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 45 in Lausanne
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 45 in Lausanne
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind

Address: Av. Du Rond-Point 9, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £84 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with an ultra modern exterior, restaurant, bar and parking; located near public transportation; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing