We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish place, good interior design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stylish place, good interior design”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place has quite an unusual interior design style; I really liked it. The rooms were really nice, comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The gym was quite poor however, only one weights machine which was some weird multistation that tries to be everything, but doesn't do anything well. There are a couple fo cardio machines though.

I did find it incredibly difficult to plug anything in as there don't seem to be many plug sockets in the rooms. There's only one easily accessible one which means you have to plug your kettle in the sink which feels a little bit strange/dangerous. It's also not very convenient for using the iron, and you obviously can't charge your phones/PCs/devices at the same time either unless you bring your own extension cable.

Still a nice place though, good location, good deco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    311
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
106
185
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for one night just to see the beautiful city of Lausanne. It's a beautiful hotel and is so particular that you almost feel like you are staying in a Swiss souvenir! We would stay here again and would recommend it. Advice: specify you're request so that you are not given a room on the bottom floor. The bottom floor is a little bit colder, the halls are narrow and there is a very strong smell of soap (must be near the laundry room). Apart from that, the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: specify you're request so that you are not given a room on the bottom floor. The bottom floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf-DAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

On the plus side - It is very close to the station, a shortish cab trip from the Lake, stylishly designed and very clean. The minus side is, unfortunately, longer.

It is pretty expensive for what it is but the problems are all water related. The bizarrely shallow sink has all the electrics right next to it. The hairdryer is wired into the wall by the water and with only a very narrow ledge to put it on, but the kettle plug is even worse as you have to stand the kettle in the sink to make it work.

But as if the dangerous electrics and water are not bad enough the worst was yet to come. The main water system appears to run immediately behind the bed, possibly in the wall itself. The result is that it is like trying to sleep next to a particularly loud waterfall.

Having the noise running for 30 minutes from midnight on the first night was bad enough and I called reception as my initial thought was that it must be a leak. But to be woken at 1am and then 3am on the second night was exceptionally annoying and cost me a lot of sleep.

Not a hotel I would return to I'm afraid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketJames48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

When I first arrived at the hotel, I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who got me checked in and gave me lots of useful information about Lausanne, as well as a card to travel free on the metro. The room was so nice. I was so happy when I got there and found a nice comfy bed, a clean shower and bathroom and just a generally nice, tidy and welcoming room. I couldn't be more impressed, my room was right next to an elevator and I didn't hear it once during my stay. If you are looking for somewhere nice, clean and friendly to stay in Lausanne, then I would absolutely recommend this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

You can check out my video of my time in Lausanne right here: http://youtu.be/o3TzejuhQsM

Room Tip: I requested to be on one of the higher floors which was lovely, I'm not sure what the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherannrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely find, very clean and reception friendly and pleasant. Close to station and very quiet at night. I'd easily stay here again. My room was on the 8th floor and had a good view. Breakfast is on the 9th. Hotel has personality which makes a change.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crazybiker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When we arrived there was no welcome at the reception, we were asked for our bank card details and told we would be on one floor down in room 230, the first shock we had was that the wash hand basin is only 4 inches deep, the toilet and shower is behind a red glass screen with clear circles, when you want to use the toilet or have a shower you can be seen from the bedroom.
We returned to the hotel about 10.30pm only to find that we could hear footsteps from the room above and banging doors ( ok I can't blame the hotel for that ) but when anyone in the floors above used the toilet or shower the water flushed down the pipes behind the wall in our toilet.
When this hotel was built, did no-one think of soundproofing or staff training how to welcome guests.
I think the Hotel Manager should stay in room 230 for a couple of nights as we did and write his honest report. - NEXT TIME I COME TO LAUSANNE THIS WOULD BE THE LAST HOTEL I WOULD STAY IN, IT WOULD BE QUIETER IN THE RAIL STATION.

Room Tip: If you decide on this hotel, insist on a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked 2 interconnecting rooms as was travelling with children. The rooms were a good size and well appointed with a large TV and comfy beds. There was a bath with shower over and large basin/mirror. The only disappointment with the room was the fact that the wash hand basin had no door on it, so a lack of privacy. There was however a sliding door next to the toilet & bath. We appreciated the tea/coffee making facility. The fitness facility looked good, but we didn't have time to use it.
The hotel is located within a short walk of the metro station (Grancy) and we were given free metro/bus tickets by the hotel for the duration of our stay, which was extremely useful.
We would have liked to use the breakfast facility, but they charge CHF 25 per person and we couldn't justify this standard charge for the children as well!

Room Tip: They have some inter-connecting rooms if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyakamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#6 of 46 in Lausanne
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind

Property: Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Address: Av. Du Rond-Point 9, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with an ultra modern exterior, restaurant, bar and parking; located near public transportation; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing