We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were en route by train to Lake Maggiore so we had been booked in here by our agent. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the railway station, but very quiet location. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern and with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever had in any hotel! The bed was continental double with individual mattress and duvets.
Breakfast was a very pleasant continental, with lovely fresh bread and rolls etc. The view from the top floor restaurant was over the lake and mountains and was breathtaking . Breakfast was part of our package. We were able to leave our luggage until we caught our onward train mid afternoon. Staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay at the Agora Swiss Night in Lausanne Switzerland. Super convenient to both the main train station and the Metro (subway) which brings you straight up or down thru this hilly city. Two supermarkets within walking distance (Coop and Migros..the latter having really good potato salad) which made it affordable for snacks, drinks, etc. Hotel also offers a nice breakfast buffet, but we ate elsewhere. Room was very modern, quiet, very clean, and best of all, the air-conditioning worked great (it was an unusually hot week in May). The bathroom door was a little odd (sliding see through glass panel) and not quite what American travelers might be used to, but not a major problem, just different. For the price, it was the best value in Switzerland (and we had stayed at 4 other hotels within country). Booking via tripadvisor.com gave us the best price...once there, we wanted to stay one additional day but hotel would have charged approx 50 CHF more vs the rate we had booked online. So plan ahead..and save. Even if you factor in the additional 22 CHF per person for breakfast (if you so choose), it's still a very good rate. Wish I could have talked the Mrs into the Agora breakfast vs the supermarket oj and croissant she insisted on each morning. The only thing a bit disconcerting was the location of the fitness room...deep within the lower floor and at the end of a narrow hallway...didn't seem all that secure. But the equipment was top notch.

Room Tip: our room #504 was quiet and comfortable, but didn't have much of a view except of the apartment...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylausanne, Guest Relations Manager at Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Joseph

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Agora.
Thank you for your thorough review about our hotel and your remark about our fitness facilities. The fitness room with its machines on an higher floor would disturb the guests who would be having their room under it, so that's why it was the best solution to place it on the lowest floor.
We hope to see you again soon in one of our Fassbind hotels!

Best regards
Your Fassbindhotels team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It is not my first experience with fassbind hotels and once again, I wasn't disappointed at all. I spent the night there for work. The place is clean, the personal was nice.
I stayed in a single room. The room was a normal size for a single-room and very functional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fannoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and the rooms are spotlessly clean. If you are sharing a room and are nit intimate with your roommate, you will be after this stay! The only thing separating the toilet and shower from the rest of the room is glass. While most of the glass is not see throufh, there is nearly zero privacy. The bed is situated against the other side of the glass, afterall and these are very small rooms. Good luck! If you have a room to yourself, the rooms are fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zsazsa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed one night for business reason at the Agora Swiss Night in Lausanne. The main criteria to choose this hotel was the fair price and the close location to the train station.

From the outside it looks a little bit dark the building but it has a nice interior. For a Swiss citizen a little bit too much traditional "Swiss" decor elements which gives the whole room a touch of kitsch. However the room has been quite spacious and was really clean. As I had a single room the bathroom is somehow integrated in the room and not a separate room with a door itself. You have a shower behind some glass wall and a toilet just next to it but the sink is practically next to the wardrobe at the entrance. Resembled a little bit over designed, however everything was there clean as well.
Downside on the room was, that it was clairaudient. You hear the neighbors talk in the night and in the morning you can hear the vibration alarm of someone's mobile phone. But during the night the street was really quiet and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast costs additional and is on the upper price limit for this hotel class I would say. Especially considering that you get pretty much the standard choice of a continental breakfast with Muesli, some yogurt, eggs, bacon, ham, croissants, bread, confiture, orange juice and coffee. After having seen the paper placemats the missing cutlery was not really a surprise (but I was really early on the day, just after they opened the buffet).

Although I have now mentioned a few points that do not fit that much into the rating the hotel is a good choice if it comes to the value you get for your money. And the few things, like the decoration an the room design are anyway individual. Besides the breakfast, that was just not a 4-star standard, not anything really as bad as it would justify to give an average rating. Thus I round up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our stay here for 3 nights was very pleasant. We arrived a little early so a room was not available but the desk staff did their best to get us a room as soon as possible as we had some important sightseeing to do that afternoon.

The room itself was very modern & comfortable, a little different, but that was OK. We liked the free WiFi, which was reliable, and having ironing facilities in the room. There was a reasonable view outside. Tea/coffee facilities & a fridge were very welcome.

Breakfast was not included but it was easy to find this in nearby cafes.

The main station is not far away and there is a good coffee shop in there with plenty of room for your luggage, if needed. The local Metro entrance is in the same street as the hotel, almost next door but a little hard to recognise. The free transport card was therefore useful & we enjoyed the short trip down to Ouchy, by the lake. The trip uphill to Lausanne town is a little tricky as Lausanne is on several levels and it is a little hard to know where to exit.

All I all, this was an interesting stay in a 'different' hotel.

Room Tip: Room 504 was a lovely clean, modern room and bathroom. The view is not great but was OK.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place has quite an unusual interior design style; I really liked it. The rooms were really nice, comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The gym was quite poor however, only one weights machine which was some weird multistation that tries to be everything, but doesn't do anything well. There are a couple fo cardio machines though.

I did find it incredibly difficult to plug anything in as there don't seem to be many plug sockets in the rooms. There's only one easily accessible one which means you have to plug your kettle in the sink which feels a little bit strange/dangerous. It's also not very convenient for using the iron, and you obviously can't charge your phones/PCs/devices at the same time either unless you bring your own extension cable.

Still a nice place though, good location, good deco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.6 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#4 of 46 in Lausanne
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind

Address: Av. Du Rond-Point 9, Lausanne 1006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £104 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with an ultra modern exterior, restaurant, bar and parking; located near public transportation; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing