We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Face it, Lausanne is a mega-expensive city for hotels -- even at weekends and also even by Swiss standards. So the Continental is reasonable value, which is a polite way of saying it's still pretty expensive; it's directly opposite the station and part of a small Swiss Chain called Mainz Privacy Hotels. The single room I had was pretty small, by European standards, but had been nicely refurbished in the past year or so and had everything one might need, including Wifi. Although on the front of the hotel, there was next to no noise. The staff were friendly, not always a given in Switzerland. The restaurant has morphed over the years into a greek place but serves a reasonable breakfast, nothing fancy but did the job. One of the best of the four or five hotels I've stayed at in Lausanne. Btw, all of them offer a travelcard for metro, bus and public transport in the city for the length of your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

The location of the hotel was convenient for us because we travelled by train. Also convenient is the metrostation next to the hotel for trips to Ouchy or the centre of town. You get a ticket for unlimited use of all te public transport in and around town (allthough you pay (a part?) of it yourself (tourist tax). The rooms are clean, the beds were very good! and the breakfast too.
The service is good (there was special bread which we needed because of an allergy).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 105sa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The people were very friendly and it was a nice experience....The location was good because it is closed to train station and to metro one so it helpe to move easily to everywhere. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Excellent location. In terms of connectivity it is in front of train station and next to metro station.Rooms are nice and clean. The hotel is a bit expensive though.
You can always take a metro to ouchy ,which is the other part of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you're here on business, have a load of luggage & are using the train this is a good choice. It's possible to wheel your bags on a station trolley,under the road and up into the hotel lobby.
Convenience aside you don't get a lot of room for your Swiss Francs but it is a clean modern room,albeit cluttered by a chunky floor mounted air-con unit.
They serve a decent continental breakfast and downstairs is a pleasantly functional cafe/bar.
I wasn't troubled by noise from the busy road below.
Right next door is the funicular metro as an added transport bonus.
Perhaps one for the head rather than the heart.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crouchender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I want to start with something positive. The location of this hotel is very convenient. It's opposite the train station. If you decide to stay here despite this review, then at least you will save cab fare from the train station to the hotel. That's it. I have nothing positive left to say or share.
I cant believe they have hoodwinked their way into a 4 star rating. Shocking. We all know that a hotel with a 4 star rating should at the very least have staff that appear to like what they do, rooms that are at least bigger than a bread box where you don't have to jump over the bed to cross over, air conditioning units that are concealed, and if they are not concealed and are bigger than the TV in the room; one would expect that they dont drip and that they are silent. Not really. The window drapes do not block out the light. I am not kidding, but spending any time in these dark, skinny chocolate brown rooms with cheap polyester throws and pillows, ikea desk lamps, and a child size toilet feels like a punishment. I bruised my shin trying to walk across this excuse for a room. A 4 star room I might add. Let's talk about the front desk. The green pleather sofas and the faux wrought iron furniture with a burnished gold spray paint effect is just tacky. I am sorry, I have very strong reactions to poor aesthetic. Not because I work in the creative industry but because I think everyone likes to be surrounded by beautiful things esp when one is in Switzerland, on vacation and paying $$$ for an alleged 4 star hotel. The front desk staff look bored. I flew in from NY, arrived in Geneva, took the train to Lausanne and had an email confirmation that I would require an early check in; for which I was willing to pay. Despite that, they made me wait 2 hours because the rooms hadn't been cleaned. I asked for a cup of coffee and said that too was an issue because you have to be checked in to start a tab. How inane is that ? You might ask, why I was in Lausanne. Here's the sad part. I finished work in Geneva and decided that a weekend break in Lausanne would be lovely, plus an old friend from school lives there. I picked the hotel that would be most convenient and thought 4 stars and the pictures they post (I can tell you with full confidence, those pictures have been thoroughly"enhanced"). Lausanne is a very pretty little town. You should visit it if you are in Switzerland. But stay some place else. There are lots of cute little hotels up the hill behind this hotel. They have nice rooms, nice views, and restaurants that actually stay open and don't look like a banquet hall from the 50s. If you want to splurge, stay at the Grand Hotel. It is a proper 5 star hotel and everything about it is stunning. The Swiss brand of understated elegance and intuitive hospitality is best experienced there. If you cant stay there, go there for drinks. The bar and the garden are beautiful; as are the drinks and the accompaniments that are served so generously and beautifully. I checked out of this hotel a night earlier because I couldn't bear to be around so much tackiness.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, please ask for one of the rooms that are higher up and towards the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthserum26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel is located in a perfect position. The staff is professional and nice. The room we had was spacious and with a nice views. The breakfast has a wide choice of fresh products. I would recommend the Continental Hotel in Lausanne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ichmagreisen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#15 of 45 in Lausanne
700 reviews
4.2 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 45 in Lausanne
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Lausanne Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £95 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing