We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Placed near the train station with a a lovely hotel with an excellent customer service and breakfast options. TV channels are also in any language. Hotel rooms are of a good size and excellent quality with a brilliant shower facility. But no fitness facility is available. Although you are not far from the lake if running is your thing.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the side of the main droid it can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your positive comments in TripAdvisor, following your recent stay in our Hotel!
It’s important for us to know your expectations and I’m pleased to inform you that we are trying to find a solution for a fitness local which it might be available in the near future!
Looking forward to your next visit and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis, Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    246
    99
    21
    5
See reviews for
45
96
89
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We only had one night in this hotel between travelling by train from Milan that day and travelling to Paris the next morning. It suited us because it was so easy to walk across the road to the hotel from the train station and back the next morning. I was very worried when I saw the hotel at first because the outside of the building is very drab, but inside is very nice and the rooms are an excellent size and very nicely decorated. The hotel restaurant was closed the night we were there (Jan. 1st) but we ate at the Chinese restaurant next door and the food was delicious but quite expensive.

Room Tip: We asked for the top floor after reading other trip advisor reviews and we had three rooms on the 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for your time spent in order to give your positive comment in TripAdvisor! It’s true that our OLYMPIA restaurant was closed as every year same day, but we would be happy to welcome you back again and let you discover our specialties at a very convenient rate!
With my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis, Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Great hotel. Fantastic location and great at arranging train trips etc and travel and ski for your trip. Fantastic base. Good continental type food. Really enjoyed staying this area. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrinklyWinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for businnes. the location is perfect, in front of the train station and very well connected to EPFL by means of the metro. The hotel also gives you a ticket for all the public transposrt so you do not have to care of buying tickets at the machines. The staff is very nice and very efficient to solve any problem you can have with your room.
Good breackasft with many choices of bread, pastries, yogurt, eggs and cheese.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to read your comments in TripAdvisor, following your recent stay in our Hotel!
It helps us a lot to have such positive comments as my collaborators try afterwards to be even more efficient in their tasks!
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards

Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Excellent location, directly opposite the train station and next to the metro. Staff were friendly. The room (a double classic comfort) was clean, spacious and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakingBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time spent and your kind feedback in TRIPADVISOR!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the CONTINENTAL Hotel!

Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with good service and good food. It is also just across the road from the railway station. It was very pleasant to be able to walk across to Lac Leman and then along the promenade with an ice cream (how common) after a long journey. The room itself was on the small side but nevertheless comfortable and we did not have any disturbance with external noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Sir,
It was very nice to read your comments in TRIPADVISOR concerning your stay in our Hotel! We thank you very much for your time spent and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to predict a larger room for your next stay with us!
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We needed 1 night before going to the airport for our trip home after a month in Switzerland. This hotel was extremely convenient to the train station. The rooms were clean, although on small side. Shower was excellent. Toilet seat was a bit odd as it was terribly uncomfortable. Outside noise was dimmed by the closed windows. The AC unit was annoying as it blew cold air all night. The front desk was helpful. This hotel is expensive even to swiss standards.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments in TRIPADVISOR, concerning your recent stay in our Hotel! It’s very important to get such comments which help us to improve our services! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and this time to let you choose a different room which could fit better for you and in the meanwhile, please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#17 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing