We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is located just in front of the main train station in Lausanne, Switzerland.
It is very convenient to finish the working day, get out from the train and 2min later you're in the room.
I got a room at the 1st floor which was tiny. from the bed-end side to the wall - there were only 40cm - so it is very difficult to cross the room from side to side.
The WiFi was very slow and every morning did not work at all (I spent 3 nights at this hotel)
The bathroom was OK, clean and tidy with a great shower (not bath)
The TV functioned really bad - slowly moving channels and you have to go through a unique menu to operate it.
Breakfast was OK (not more); Impolite waiters with no willingness to assist (I came in the morning and there was no available table)
It took more then an hour to bring an iron to the room.

All in all the location is really great and room is fairly clean - so if you're on business tour and looking for convenient and a place to sleep - this is a good one.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room (maybe on top floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaniv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    246
    99
    21
    5
See reviews for
45
96
89
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The price of the accommodation is only justified by the very convenient (for some) location, just across the road in front of the main railways station, and a few strides away from the city centre. My room was minuscule; clean (yes: we are in Switzerland), yet not odourless. It was located on the back of the building on the first floor with a window well below the level of the ground. Rooms on the front and/or on higher floors may be better, but the combination of size and view on a parking lot from below made mine suffocating. Continental breakfast was included in the price of the room in my case. They charged 10 extra CHF for a buffet that only consisted of poorly cooked scrambled eggs, a not very varied fresh-fruit salad, and cheap anonymous cheese. Wifi was not working the first day, and working irregularly the second day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building on the first floor are below the level of the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stehbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel is located right next to Lausanne railway station, staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are well equipped including a good wifi access, and bathrooms are just renovated, although a bit smallish. Coffee machine was available at corridor. Breakfast was a real disappointment with only croissants, juices, yogurt and coffee/tea being available. On the following morning I noticed another table, where eggs, ham & bacon was served at 10 francs extra cost. Hotel with this kind of room price should serve a proper breakfast to begin with!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing railway station are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arzzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good hotel in good location with friendly staff

it is being updated so will be better later in the year

just make sure when you go breakfast you realise there is two parts to it else you might miss the eggs, ham and cheese like we did!!!

Room Tip: ask for a high up room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaDerby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comments in TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our Hotel.
Concerning the breakfast, it’s true that our clients can choose between 3 type of offers as we try to satisfy if possible all our guest and even those who would just like to have a coffee and a croissant without being obliged to pay too much!
Hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my bets regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

In many other cities you would expect to pay somewhere around $100-$120 (US dollars) for this type of hotel close to the main railway station. But Switzerland prices are significantly higher, and the 200CHF that I paid for one night actually represents reasonable value in this area. Nice and clean, friendly, free wifi (but it was struggling significantly with backhaul issues in the evening).

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment.

Apparently there are various breakfast options, which wasn't made clear to me. A pity- as I don't have a sweet tooth and the only options that I found were the "continental" type bread and jam / honey and sweet cereals.

One gripe. There is a kettle in the room but no instant coffee. There is a Nespresso machine out in the landing; you need to use a pod for this - the pods are in the mini-bar in the room and you have to pay for them. Even in the most basic hotel there is normally free coffee - and having to get dressed to go out to get my morning coffee... well - not an attractive thought!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the station may be a little noisy, the rooms towards the back of the hotel don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for the time spent in order to write your comments in TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our Hotel! Your remarks help us to improve our services in order to satisfy the highest possible number of our guests.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in another occasion and prove that your comments have been takes seriously!
With my best regards - Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good location and adequate room for business trip that i was one. had to change rooms and was treated well by the staff when changing. location is best value so far as near the train and i could rush out for early morning meetings

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Rooms are ok, breakfast was average. Car parking is little bit far around 300m. Location is good next to metro station and in front of train station. There is supermarket in the train station which is very near.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay in our Hotel.
Please note that most of our clients use the free of charge parking service in order to avoid moving themselves their car to the parking place! As for the breakfast, please be informed that our Hotel offers a lot of possibilities- Full Buffet Breakfast, Continental or express – as in this way we try to adapt ourselves to our client’s demand!
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Continental Hotel soon.
With my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#17 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Mirabeau
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing