We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your booking carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Check your booking carefully”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were really looking forward to three days in this hotel at Lausanne. The room we paid for was a 'Classic' room, including full buffet breakfast and free tea and coffee making facilities. The room was comfortable, fairly spacious and with a view over the train station across to the lake. Proximity to the station was really important to us as we planned several train trips using Lausanne as a base. We were unaware that there were renovations to the entry and lobby.

Unfortunately, the communication between the head office and the Lausanne hotel did not show what we had booked and had confirmed to us by email. (The desk told us that this type of booking was no longer being made and that buffet breakfast and free tea/coffee was now an extra to be paid for). Consequently it was only with some difficulty that we got the tea and coffee making facilities and full buffet breakfast that we had already paid in our booking. It took 24 hours to fully resolve this. Other than that, service was good and reception staff were helpful.

I would recommend this hotel if access to the train station is important, but otherwise would look to compare it with other options as we have had similar rooms at a lower cost in other towns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattsrr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    250
    102
    21
    5
See reviews for
46
99
89
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There is only one advantage in this hotel - it is their staff. These people are trying hard and doing their best to assist the visitors and to wear off a bad impression of the hotel itself. The rooms are small, but clean (first thank you to the staff), the Reception area is a disaster, watch your steps carefully, but the receptionist are very friendly and polite (second thank you to the staff), the breakfast if awful even if you take a 26 Franks buffet (but the staff in the restaurant are great, they explain everything to the guests and work very quickly, my third thank you to them), the area is good only for those who is planning some daily commuting by train, and dirty and noisy for the rest. All in all the staff is the only asset of this hotel, try some other option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a back view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was okay, somewhat spacious with a decent size bed. WiFi was practically non-existent. The worst aspects of the hotel were the depressing selection at breakfast - nothing but cereal and croissants, and a strong stench that you experience as you first enter the hallway upstairs. The reception looks like it was under construction so maybe I just got there at a bad time. The one staff member I encountered during my week's stay was friendly. Good location for Lausanne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Main advanatge of this hotel is its location. It is just opposite of the train station. It also offers free communiation tickets for your stay. To go to the lake or to the center you need to take metro and it is not far from the hotel.
Breakfast was very good, high quality and great choice with very good coffee.
Hotel is clean, rooms are not very big.
The only minus is outside look which reminds communistic architectre. You also cannot open the window beacuse it is loud outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback in TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our Hotel! Your remarks help us to improve our services and the actual renovation of our Front-Desk area as well as our Meeting rooms will “show” a better image in few weeks.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards.
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Positive side: Nice hotel, nice staffs, very close to main train station.
Negative side: Ham, bacon or egg are not included in breakfast!! You need to pay if you want to have it. Even two-star hotel in other city provide better breakfast quality.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praneetsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your time spent in order to give your feedback in TripAdvisor. Positive remarks and also your point of view concerning our Breakfast offer. Please note that the majority of our clients would like to have the possibility to choose their breakfast, so they are not obliged to pay for a service they didn’t have! Our rates include usually the Continental Breakfast and it’s up to our guests to ask for a supplement. Looking forward to meet you during your next visit and in the meanwhile please accept my bets regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is really in front of the train station in Lausanne.
The bed is very comfortable and the breakfast was good.

I would recommend if you want to be near the train station and center of Lausanne.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosVales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your so positive feedback in TripAdvisor, following your recent stay in our Hotel!
Hope to have the possibility to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards.
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very ideal...across Train station, front of the bus stop and just beside Metro. Very accessible but a bit noisy. You just have to get used to it. Anyway, at night time Lausanne sleeps early. Hotel staff and service is not that impressive... or maybe it has something to do with the culture?

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluetteberna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
contilausanne, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your feedback in TripAdvisor. Hope to have the possibility to welcome you back in our Hotel in order to “show you our real face” concerning our service!
Please feel free to contact me and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing