We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Scarborough
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying there on business and was welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are rather small and average and the bed was extra hard for my taste. The TV also has a strange operating system. However, on the plus side, I really appreciated the rainfall showerhead, the AC unit and the breakfast buffet. It is being renovated at the moment, so the entrance might be hard to find, but I will certainly return to the Continental.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gone_aforeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    250
    102
    21
    5
See reviews for
46
99
89
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
301 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Centrally located next to the train station, although the car parking is further away (charge is CHF 7 per exit). Outside of the hotel looks like an old apartment building and hotel is totally being renovated. Staff was friendly and efficient. Our family room was spacious and renovated (except for some old curtains and fixings), with decent beds and good bathroom. Nice view of Lausanne and the lake. We got a free Lausanne pass which allowed us to take the bus/tram around the city. Breakfast was included but was very minimal, not much choice. Overall, I felt it was overpriced (we paid almost EUR 200 for one night) for what we got, especially taking the renovation and the disappointing breakfast into account.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good location but very dated place. It is undergoing a renovation which is causing chaos & mess. Don't stay until this is complete!
Beds are super hard, not a great sleep.
Free nespresso is good.
Breakfast is OK, not great.

Room Tip: at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb2v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Location

The location was ideal for me. Directly across the street from the train station, and next door to the metro station. Rick Steves, my travel guide hero, says that you can see the Lake Geneva highlights in a day. He is quite right, especially if you overnight in such a convenient location--and have the energy. However, the gentleman who checked me in, remarked, during our conversation, that the hotel gets primarily business clientele. I suppose that most tourists either stay down by the lake or further up from the lake in the historic area. I don't see and advantage to either over the Continental Hotel.

Check-in

Check-in was the most professional that I have encountered on this trip. I walked into my room thinking that this was going to be a "four rating," guaranteed. What made it so professional was that the gentleman who greeted me was thorough and concise explaining that 5.6 CHF in a city tax would be due at check out, how the metro worked, that I had not booked breakfast, but what it would cost and what was included.

He then walked me to the elevator. What? Yes, keep in mind that this is an older European Hotel. I assure you that many American has returned to the desk with the complaint that the elevator is not working. They are 1950/60s throwback elevators with exterior doors that must be manually pulled open. If throwback suggests a modern contraption that resembles a historic one, that is not what I mean. These were genuine historic elevators. Very quaint.

Room

Then I got to the room. It was definitely on the small side. That is not a major issue, because it did have a double bed, which was comfortable. But in full disclosure, I did have to shimmy between the foot of the bed and the wall. However, a negative that I cannot ignore is that the safe did not work.

The bathroom and shower were a little small, particularly the shower. As discussed below, they are renovating the hotel, and my room had been upgraded, I assume. They installed a very nice rain shower head. Problem was, you couldn't really enjoy it in the tiny space. Because of the spacing required for such a fancy shower, the flow was just a tad, to close to the door of the shower. A conventional shower head that projected from the wall might have been a better choice in the tiny showers in single rooms like mine.

WiFi

I always give kudos to hotels that realize that WiFi is now an essential hotel service the same as running water, lighting, and television. In plain language, there was no attempt to gouge a premium for WiFi service, and the signal was strong, stable, and fast.

By the way, speaking of television, they have installed a system that allows the identification of channels by language. In over 150 nights in European Hotels, I have longed for such a system, but this was the first time I have ever seen one. It was great.

Construction

You will note from my pictures that the hotel is undergoing renovations. However, for me, the construction was not an issue. I arrived on a Friday and left the following Sunday, so perhaps there was no work underway most of my stay. I will admit that immediately upon my arrival at approximately noon, there was some "drilling" underway in the room above me. If I had been planning to take a nap at the time, we might have had a problem.

Check-out

Check-out was not quite as professional as check-in. My perception was probably primarily a cultural issue, rather than a real one. As mentioned above, a 5.5 CHF city tax was due. Keep in mind, that I am the type of American who charges a loaf of bread--meaning I charge everything. In consideration, Delta Airlines flies me to Europe in business class once a year or so. That adds up to a pretty good rebate on everything that I buy. So I said to put the remaining charge on my credit card. The clerk, with just a hint of French arrogance, said that I could not put the charge on the card I had provided at check-in, I would have to use a different card--"for my protection." What is that you say? Well not worth debating. I just detest cockamamie explanations.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were really looking forward to three days in this hotel at Lausanne. The room we paid for was a 'Classic' room, including full buffet breakfast and free tea and coffee making facilities. The room was comfortable, fairly spacious and with a view over the train station across to the lake. Proximity to the station was really important to us as we planned several train trips using Lausanne as a base. We were unaware that there were renovations to the entry and lobby.

Unfortunately, the communication between the head office and the Lausanne hotel did not show what we had booked and had confirmed to us by email. (The desk told us that this type of booking was no longer being made and that buffet breakfast and free tea/coffee was now an extra to be paid for). Consequently it was only with some difficulty that we got the tea and coffee making facilities and full buffet breakfast that we had already paid in our booking. It took 24 hours to fully resolve this. Other than that, service was good and reception staff were helpful.

I would recommend this hotel if access to the train station is important, but otherwise would look to compare it with other options as we have had similar rooms at a lower cost in other towns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattsrr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There is only one advantage in this hotel - it is their staff. These people are trying hard and doing their best to assist the visitors and to wear off a bad impression of the hotel itself. The rooms are small, but clean (first thank you to the staff), the Reception area is a disaster, watch your steps carefully, but the receptionist are very friendly and polite (second thank you to the staff), the breakfast if awful even if you take a 26 Franks buffet (but the staff in the restaurant are great, they explain everything to the guests and work very quickly, my third thank you to them), the area is good only for those who is planning some daily commuting by train, and dirty and noisy for the rest. All in all the staff is the only asset of this hotel, try some other option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a back view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swallow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was okay, somewhat spacious with a decent size bed. WiFi was practically non-existent. The worst aspects of the hotel were the depressing selection at breakfast - nothing but cereal and croissants, and a strong stench that you experience as you first enter the hallway upstairs. The reception looks like it was under construction so maybe I just got there at a bad time. The one staff member I encountered during my week's stay was friendly. Good location for Lausanne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing