We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Does not appear to be very good from the outside, but once you go inside you will find a very unusual hotel. Quite quirky and different. Rooms are large with huge beds and a room safe. Our dinner was excellent cooked by two chefs in the room. Staff were helpful and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trevorhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

When I stayed here recently I came out of the train station and thought: oh dear...!
I was facing a concrete block that looked my old school built in the 1960s. However, I was wrong because inside, once in the tiny lift, the rooms were very good.

Spacious rooms, tastefully decorated, firm beds. Air conditioning. Good rain-style shower, everything very clean, kettle, teabags, nice glass mugs, teaspoons and wine glasses (so you could pop out and get a bottle rather than pay the high prices in the bar). Good size wall mounted flat TV - with BBC1 and 2 so we could catch Wimbledon.

I was a bit apprehensive about being at the front facing the station, but the noise wasn't too bad although bring ear plugs if you are easily disturbed.

Staff very pleasant, restaurant good, great nespresso machine at breakfast. Absolutely no complaints at all about this one. As well as being near the station, it is just two minutes from the metro which whizzes you up to the old town or down to Lake Geneva in no time.

I would definitely recommend this hotel in Lausanne.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunty_Burano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel can be a bit noisy as it's opposite the station. Friendly staff although long wait to check out in the morning. One towel was not clean but they change it swiftly.
Overall a good hotel where I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our third hotel in Switzerland, and I have to say that it was the nicest of the three! It is conveniently located across the street from the train station and not too far from the lake (there is even a Starbucks right next door!). From the outside it doesn't look terribly flashy, but once inside it is nice. The rooms have a/c and the double room had enough space- we were spending our time sight-seeing and not much in the room, so a big room didn't matter to us. Very friendly and helpful staff, and overall the hotel was quiet. The shower was a nice size (a bit bigger than most European hotel showers) and had a good flow.

The two things that were a negative for us were the overly firm bed and the fact that the hot water was not working one morning. We talked to the reception desk about the hot water, and they informed us that maintenance was already working on it (we left that morning, so we were not there to see if it was resolved). The bed, like in most European hotels, was too firm, felt like we were sleeping on a piece of plywood. Other than those two things, we really enjoyed our stay there and would stay there again if we are able to ever go back!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Hotel Continental has a great location next to the train station, you arrive in Lausanne and within 5 minutes you can be in your room.

The service is great, friendly, quick and efficient.

The hotel from the outside looks like a 1970's shopping centre so you wont be staying here for the architectural delights. The reception has been modernised and all that's needed now is for the rooms to receive the same treatment. Essentially the rooms are tired and dated, the Wifi works well but there was no hot water and the movie channel on the TV is a mirage!

I just needed a bed for the night for a quick trip so location wise and service wise The Continental is worth considering.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rooms are VERY small !!! The bed is in the middle of the room if you want to go from one site to the other you have to roll over the bed if you won't begging youre legs. So considering all the above, the rooms were too expensive at more then CHF 200 a night in this place. Great thing is the location, just opposite the main train station and next to the metro station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If not to the rooms size and arrangement, I would have score this hotel much more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romand_g, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
I refer to your recent feedback published in TripAdvisor and thank you for it! Please note that the room you have reserved is quite small as per your remarks and for this reason I would be happy to welcome you back again offering a different type of room much larger which I’m convinced you’ll like!
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally in case you visit Lausanne again!
Yannis Gerassimidis – Gen. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

From the outside the Hotel is one of the shameful results of the 60's architecture and make you brace yourself for a questionable experience. The reception area however makes you relax, at least a bit. The area is bright and friendly and I got greeted by friendly person at the desk. The room, single, was small but new. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom featured two shower heads from which one was a big rain shower one. A continental breakfast was included in my booking and had a value of CHF16,- for 10.- more you can also chose from the hot buffet. As usual totally over priced but the croissants were nice and warm. With the key card to your room you'll also get a travel card for public transport. Take the Metro to Ouchy and enjoy a boat ride on Lac Leman or a drink near the lake!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank MatzeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romand_g, Directeur général at Hotel Continental Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback in TripAdvisor following your recent stay in our Hotel!
Your remarks are helping us to improve our services and make our clients” feel the difference” inside as the outside image is not so nice !
Looking forward to welcome you back soon and in the meanwhile please accept my best regards
Yannis Gerassimidis - Gen. Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: £98 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing