We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Zürich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We came to the Hotel Continental for a weekend trip. The location of the hotel is great, we came by train and it is just opposite the railway station. The old town with lots of shops is within walking distance and the metro station (we got a complimentary ticket from the hotel!) is right next to the hotel.
The hotel room was renovated as well as the bath room. The bed was very comfortable, we slept almost better than at home! The bath room was very modern with special rain shower. The room was very clean and we felt comfortable. The staff at the reception was very friendly and polite, we felt very welcome.
This hotel is a great place to stay, with good value for money at a perfect location in Lausanne.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaF_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    250
    102
    21
    5
See reviews for
46
99
89
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Hotel locates close to railway station and metro and accordingly you may easily reach both the city and lake. Good breakfast is included in the price, rooms are clean and personnel was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Hotel Continental was a complete surprise after the reviews I read. The location across from the train station is so convenient for the Geneva Airport. Don't let the outside appearance (concrete) put you off, the interior floors are very clean and the rooms are being renovated. Ours was a good sized "twin" with 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and updated. We faced the rear so noise was not at all an issue. Breakfast was good and hearty. The staff was helpful. The location is so convenient to the subway up to the old town and down to the lake front, Ouchy, where a very festive and lively carnival was taking place. But it's better to walk around the corner of the hotel and up the cobbled, shop lined street up to the old town. It's an easy distance to the main square which is lovely and has week-end markets. Stop at Maison Financier along the way for incredible pastry and chocolates. Then take the uphill climb along 15th and 16th c. dwellings to the magnificent cathedral. If you're a walker, all of this is possible from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helvetiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Not a bad hotel but the room was quite small and on the front, overlooking the station, which was really noisy. I didn't sleep well because of the noise and the room was very hot. I also had a single bed which is never good. However the breakfast was good and there is a nice coffee shop downstairs.

I would stay there again but would ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creature99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Convenient location opposite the train station and close to some shops and restaurants. Very clean and modern room although a little on the small side and the beds are firm.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

The only complaint was that the room was too warm. I could not find the controls to set the temperature. Recent upgradation of the rooms is a welcome improvement.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights 3/2010. Across the street from Train station so super convenient with direct train to Geneva Airport. Small coffee cafe/bar in front lobby but waiter was total professional in white blazer. PC/printer in lobby if needed, and staff made copies of other biz docs for me. Had to go next door to internet cafe for scanning/faxing. Room was clean, new and bed/pillows were quite comfortable. Mini-bar prices were outrageous so get out, see the city and enjoy. I had room facing train station, and one nite, had locals partying and yelling on the street at 3 AM, so it was noticable. Marginal, small slice of view onto the Lake over the train station though, so maybe room facing train station is worth the small view.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarefootNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
#18 of 46 in Lausanne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mirabeau
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#23 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Lausanne

Property: Hotel Continental Lausanne
Address: place de la Gare 2, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lausanne
#8 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Continental welcomes you in the center of the French speaking part of Switzerland and only few minutes from the beautiful Lac Leman. 116 Spacious rooms offer state of the art comfort finished off with free WIFI in the entire hotel, as well as a free bottle of mineral water upon arrival. NEW ! Free and direct access to the new space of Fitness The hotel's Cafe-restaurant "Le pain Quotidien" is a offering light dishes. Since May 2014 enjoy five brand new meeting rooms, equipped with modern projection technology and designed by an experienced hotel interior designer. Welcome to the center of French speaking Switzerland. Welcome to your 4 star Hotel Continental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Continental Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Swiss q Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing